We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere”
Review of Galvin La Chapelle

Galvin La Chapelle
Ranked #280 of 27,952 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $189
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: The third restaurant to be opened by acclaimed chef brothers Chris and Jeff Galvin, La Chapelle has been consistently praised, winning no less than 8 top restaurant awards in its first year, including AA London Restaurant of the Year, and Tatler magazine's Restaurant of the Year. Chef Patron, Jeff Galvin, provides a menu of modern French cuisine, gaining a Michelin star in the 2011 Red Guide, just a year after the restaurant opened. There is also a menu gourmand, prix fixe lunch, early dinner menu, and Sunday Roast lunch menu. The service, under the direction of Alessandro Piombino and his team, effortlessly combines warm, friendly and attentive hospitality with a fine sense of tradition and decorum, in keeping with the grandeur of this Grade II-listed building. The restaurant is one of the few restaurants in London to hold a vertical list of Hermitage La Chapelle wines.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

This place is located in an old church and has been decorated in a style that fits perfect to that. What i like about this place is that its not expected to eat 10-15 dishes but 3 can do. The food is also very high quality.
I loved the foie gras, it was followed by a delicate lam.
This is definitely a place you want to return to.
The service is also high class.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kaaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galvin R, Front Office Manager at Galvin La Chapelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your very kind review which I have shared with the whole team. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 2,902 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Very pleasant to return again and experience the delights. Very professional and well versed staff with excellent knowledge of the food and wines.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galvin R, Front Office Manager at Galvin La Chapelle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your very kind review which I have shared with the whole team. We are delighted you enjoyed another visit and very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

The staff were delightful. The food was excellent. The ambience was warm and friendly. What's not to love?

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jewe48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galvin R, Front Office Manager at Galvin La Chapelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago


Thank you for your very kind review which I have shared with the whole team. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We had lunch at Galvin La Chapelle yesterday and we’re all very impressed. We had a thoroughly lovely time. We chose from the set lunch menu which offered three delicious sounding choices in each course. Indeed the food lived up our expectations. The service was absolutely spot on, we weren’t rushed but nor were we kept waiting for anything, delicious bread and butter was available while we waited for our first course, more was offered. The strawberry tart which three of us chose for dessert was exceptional. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank Barbs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galvin R, Front Office Manager at Galvin La Chapelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your very kind review which I have shared with the whole team. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We were very fortunate to be given a gift of Menu Gormand by our son and daughter in law and what a wonderful evening we had.
The restaurant looks stunning and it was a new experience for us having the taster menu with matching wines. The food was delicious, as were the wines and all the staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable creating a lovely ambience.
A special mention to the general manager Casper Barreto who looked after us so well and gave us a warm welcome.
It really was a night to remember, thank to all at La Chapelle.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank forestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galvin R, Front Office Manager at Galvin La Chapelle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your very kind review which I have shared with the whole team and in particular Casper who was very pleased to have helped you have a lovely experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin La Chapelle also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Galvin La Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing