We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galvin La Chapelle

Galvin La Chapelle
Ranked #306 of 22,374 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $192
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: The third restaurant to be opened by acclaimed chef brothers Chris and Jeff Galvin, La Chapelle has been consistently praised, winning no less than 8 top restaurant awards in its first year, including AA London Restaurant of the Year, and Tatler magazine's Restaurant of the Year. Chef Patron, Jeff Galvin, provides a menu of modern French cuisine, gaining a Michelin star in the 2011 Red Guide, just a year after the restaurant opened. There is also a menu gourmand, prix fixe lunch, early dinner menu, and Sunday Roast lunch menu. The service, under the direction of Alessandro Piombino and his team, effortlessly combines warm, friendly and attentive hospitality with a fine sense of tradition and decorum, in keeping with the grandeur of this Grade II-listed building. The restaurant is one of the few restaurants in London to hold a vertical list of Hermitage La Chapelle wines.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

An excellent restaurant with a beautiful interior. We ate on a Sunday evening and were made very welcome. The service was very good and the food well presented. The set menu was very good value and had a varied selection - there was also an option with this menu to add wine at a reasonable price. Would recommend the tarte tatin for dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    424
    180
    62
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“romantic celebration destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although the reception at the door, on a very cold wintery evening, was cool to say the least, we had a wonderful evening in this East-end outpost of the Galvin family. The decor and design is sophisticated. And despite the interior being vast space, it is not echo-y and one feels very much secluded at one's table. The dining guests were a mixture of 'suits' and couples like ourselves, celebrating. The wine pairing is always a highlight at Galvin, and La Chapelle did not disappoint. The food is well executed, and presentation is of a high standard. The service was less attentive than at Galvin at Windows, and we found ourselves looking for our waiter a few times. Sadly, and it may be a barometer of economic thrift, we weren't entertained with any amuse-bouche. It's a pity as it often showcases a chef's enthusiasm and creativity. Ah well. The evening ended with chocolate truffles in a 'take home box' which opened when bumped and got lost. design is everything people! Don't let these little details distract too much from an overall great evening out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flylittlebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
149 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An excellent venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The web site says it all, great venue, excellent service and lovely food.

This was a busy restaurant without seeming busy, great ambiance and lovely setting, we dined at 19:00 on a Saturday evening, the service was not rushed and food was very good. I was very happy with my own selection of crab followed by duck, washed sown with a good white burgundy followed by a claret. Our bill, including service for 4 of us was £375, not cheap at all but I thought good value for a lovely evening

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alistairbarnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value and quality lunch menu £38 for 3 courses and wine. Food is super, try the tarte tatin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TALENTINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great way to celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went here for my husband's special birthday and were delighted. The food, particularly the crab starter, was wonderful. Excellent champagne and wine and the service very good, friendly and relaxed. A great place for a treat and I was able to book on line. There are other restaurants which come higher on tripadvisor but I thought i would go for this rather than be seduced by the big names (or big mouths!). On arrival, despite the place buzzing, we were shown immediately to our table. Nice gift of truffles as we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin La Chapelle also viewed

 

Been to Galvin La Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing