We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goldsmid House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in London
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Marne Hotel(London)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
9
10
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria stationroom facingfew minutes walkwifitube
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 28 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very good value when staying in city centre. I was traveling on my own and wasn't looking for anything other than a place to sleep and keep my stuff. Pay laundry and 24 hr security were a plus, friendly front desk. Rooms could have been more spotless, but I considered them clean and in good condition. Bed had a cheap mattress but didn't matter. The only downside was delivery truck noise in early morning- I don't think the dorms were full so they should book inside rooms first for more quiet (these look out onto a quieter courtyard). All in all great value.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Goldsmid House are dorm rooms for University College London, that are opened up in the summer for visitors (not just students -- people of all ages). It's basically a single en-suite room, 8 rooms per floor, with a shared kitchen. The room decor is very basic, and I ended up buying my own big pillows nearby at Argos for £14 as the one in the room was pretty tiny. I stayed about a month, and the price was only £43 a night which is incredible for this part of London.

Even the horrifying easyhotel down the street, much worse room & tinier than this dorm room, is £65, and basic hotels in the area are typically three times the price. The security was very good too e.g. 24-hr staffed desk, gated/swipe key entry etc. And being so central is great, i.e. 100m from Victoria Station, there's a Sainsbury's and plenty of restaurants nearby, nice walks down Vauxhall Bridge Road to whichever Thames riverside walk you want to do etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed here in June 2010 for a long weekend. Check in was easy and staff very friendly. Secure but not cumbersome entry. Rooms were basic but clean and spacious; couldn't expect more considering the price. Good location as it's only a few mins walk from Victoria station and shops/restaurants.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed here for a few days and found the room good value for the price. Clean and quiet. However, because of the tall buildings around/location, my cell phone had no signal in my room. No in-room tel. either so isolated in case of emergency. Security is poor. My room was broken into and suitcase rifled through when I stepped out for dinner. At night theres nobody around and reception is unmanned. So you are pretty much on your own with no tel in the room if you need it. I wanted to call the police but with no cell signal, no telephone, reception anyway closed all night, was in a difficult situation. Fortunately the thieves didnt return though spent a sleepless night wondering if they would. Unless there is better security I would avoid this place even though the price is good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accommodationucl, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Goldsmid House, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Dear Sir, Madam,
The entrance at Goldsmid House has two doors that can only be opened by FOB’s (key access). In addition to this each bedroom has a unique key and we recommend never to leave your door unlocked even if you are just fetching something from the kitchen. It is possible that someone from your own corridor noticed you were in the kitchen and went in your room while you were having dinner.
In case of emergency, there is a duty mobile. If you feel an intruder is in the building you should call the duty mobile or if needs be you can call 999. There is normally network in the bedrooms at Goldsmid House and I apologise that you didn't have any in your bedroom.
Nothing has been reported the following day to the office staff unfortunately.
I apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced while staying at Goldsmid House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

The room was big enough, the ensuite shower and toilet were excellent, the location couldn't be bettered. Double glazing made it very quiet at night. No television but who needs it?

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accommodationucl, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Goldsmid House, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Many thanks for your fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews