We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitchen Italia - CLOSED

Kitchen Italia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

First problem, an Italian restaurant that has run out of pizzas and lasagna! Then all other dishes, salads and pasta were very poor; salads had very little other than the lettuce and pasta dishes had hardly any meat - you really had to search! Service was polite but on almost every occasion something was missing.
This restaurant really is a joke!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    23
    28
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frustratingly slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited this restaurant as part of a Shrek dinner and theatre deal we got through last minute.com. On the way to the restaurant we thought we would check out the reviews on Trip Advisor. After reading the review, I can't say that weren't holding out much hope! Unfortunately our experience lived up to the negative reviews! We were sat on a table allocated to those who were also visiting as part of the lastminute.com deal, which was fine. However what we found disappointing was the fact that people were turning up after us, yet receiving their meals much sooner than us! One group who had turned up after us were on dessert before we had even received our starter! I did end up saying something to the waitress, who then went off and got our starters, but from the impression on her face, it had appeared they had us. As for the food... It was pretty mediocre but we were not expecting great things for the price we paid.

Overall, I would not go back to this restaurant based on the slow service and only average food quality. If you do go to this restaurant as part of a theatre and dinner deal, make sure you leave loads of time and be prepared to have to ask where your food is..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this restaurant as it said it was a good place for a meal before the theatre with quick service. We arrived promptly just before 1.00pm and ordered as soon as we could and were still waiting for our food by 1.50 even though the restaurant was almost empty. The food when it came was OK, but we were due at the theatre for a 2.30 performance so ate it a bit of a rush.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go if you can't book something else.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked for a works evening out and we struggled to find somewhere on a Friday evening leading up to Xmas. It has a wagamama's feel to it with the bench type seating. It was very hard to hear each other in the restaurant as there were a number of large parties there before us, once they left it got better. The choice was ok although they didn't have a pizza menu. I went for crispy ravioli to start which was very tasty and a pasta dish i cant remember for main. It was a bit too spicy for me, although a couple others had it and enjoyed. They were fairly reasonable at bringing the food out although one of our parties starter was forgotten. They were good at bringing more wine out which made the experience more enjoyable!! There was a bit of an issue with one of the teams meal having an ingredient that was not stated on the menu, then the waiter arguing rather than admitting they were wrong. As i write this i'm remembering more things that were bad....there was probably a reason that this had not been fully booked. The food is ok, it is the service and atmosphere that let the place down. I would just like to apologise to the team now and perhaps we should have gone to the Moroccan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevemardlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Oh my god why?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Firstly this place is hard to find, secondly it is not friendly for buggies or those who cannot go up and down stairs easily. The tables are like large canteen refectories with beaches, not easy together in and out of. There were too few staff and they were harassed, especially as this was a per theatre booking. The food was poor, the martini was powerful, the mango crush was purple and we could not taste any mango.the turkey saltimbucca was dry, the chilli penne boring. The best thing was the garlic bread and cheese mac with bacon. I have eaten many per theatre dinners this had to be one of the worst, remember if I like it I come back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatepacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Italia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing