We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb modern 5 star hotel with an excellent location”
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #21 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Arch London for just one night but I wish it was many more. A modern hotel set in the centre of london and just out of the chaos of Oxford Street, it proved to live up to its 5 star rating.

Made up of several Georgian town houses The Arch achieves a personal feel that is amplified by the helpful and attentive staff. The mix between old exterior and modern interior works seamlessly with the stylish and sophisticated rooms (we stayed in deluxe room 515 after a complementary upgrade) make it feel like a home rather than a sterile hotel room. All mod cons are included such as Air-con, Sky + HD, TV in the bath, Wi-Fi etc... but the 5 star touches remain such as a choice between 4 different pillow types and quality toiletry products all with in the outer shell of a Georgian town house. The highlight appart from the impecable service, beautifully clean rooms, and complementary soft drinks had to be the bed. Simply one of the best night sleeps I have ever had.

Personally I could not have been happier with the choice of hotel and I hope to return in the future. If you are looking for a modern yet sophisticated place to stay that is right bang in the heart of London, look no further than The Arch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100moody100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such an honest review. We hope to see you back at The Arch London in the very near future.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I recently spent five wonderful nights at The Arch London. This hotel is chic and smart. We had a great room with lovely amenities. The "dressing area" is a small hall that includes the closet, extra shelving and mini bar. It creates a passage between the main bedroom and the fantastic bathroom and one has the sense that it is a small apartment rather than a hotel room. The decor is very modern and up to the moment--and everything was sparkling clean.

The staff was top drawer, couldn't have been more helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we ate there on two occasions. We are definitely going back!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and so quiet (even with windows open) that we couldn't bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to read your review and share it with my team.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here after recommendations from a couple of friends - nice well furnished room, extremely helpful staff. Two things that are really important for me in a hotel - a good bed and a good shower - both boxes ticked. Free wifi, free soft drinks, gym, nespresso machine in the room. Really a very nice place to stay. Impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Guest

It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay but that we were also recommended by your friends.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is just at the heart of London. You can reach everywhere easily. Yes it's very expensive however it deserves every little bit of it. Rooms are luxurious and I ate the best Egg Benedict ever here.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest

What a joy to read, thank you for such a glowing review of the hotel.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a pleasant surprise this stay has been! Because of the Olympics, I was unable to get in my usual haunt (The Dorchester), was really apprehensive but needed a room & SLH hotels usually are good! Stayed in a junior suite, be comfortable all new & sparkly interior too - slightly small but everything you need - housekeeping world class. Restaurant lovely too but room service was so quick & good (unlike larger hotels) so opted for that! Nothing is too much trouble & perfect for a stay in this great city!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FozzWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, i hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is our second stay at this boutique hotel, having last stayed here in November 2010. At that time we were upgraded to a next category of room. We made a reservation for a standard room with a request for a room on a higher floor away from the lift. We were given a room on the fifth floor facing the back of the hotel. The room is small compared to other hotels which we have stayed. It has only a queen sized bed.However it was beautifully furnished with a Nespresso coffee machine, satellite TV with over 100 channels as well as internet radio. There is complimentary soft drinks in the refrigerator. Our room does not have a bath tub but a shower stall with rain shower. The only complaint about the shower is that it is difficult top adjust the temperature of the water. There is a nightly turn down service. There is also a full set of Malin & Goetz toiletries.

It was good to know that a staff from housekeeping came to enquire about their service and whether there were any complaints. Staff at reception are courteous and polite. Request for late checkout was given.

It is only a short stroll, less than 5 minutes to March Arch tube station which is on Oxford Street. The hotel is also a short taxi ride to Paddington Station where one could catch 'Heathrow Express' to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I love the chance to meet our regulars so I hope to meet you in the near future.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at The Arch. We were traveling with children and my mother, so we got two rooms (one suite and one standard) and asked to have them adjoining. We were pleased to find that they were the only two rooms at the end of a hallway, so we could actually shut the door leading down the hallway (and lock it) thereby creating sort of a mini-wing for us. This was great as it allowed us to keep our wet shoes and umbrellas in the hall rather than in the room. The rooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The windows were large and actually opened, which was great except that we had a toddler and one window did not have a lock on it. The refrigerators with complimentary soft drinks were a nice touch as was the in-room coffee and espresso maker. My sons loved the large bath tub with flat screen tv for viewing from the tub. The rooms were really well done and quite large.

On about our third day, we ran into a bit of a problem as the refrigerator in the suite started leaking quite a bit of water on to the carpeting. Unfortunately, we had just come back to the hotel midday to put the baby down for a nap when this happened. We soon had several employees in our room and was told we would need to move to another room. When we said we would endure the workers in order to stay put (we had just come from ten days in France and did not want to pack and unpack again, or ruin our adjoining room set-up) we were told that we would be compensated for our inconvenience, by several employees. All told, it took about 3-4 hours to fix the leak. We were thanked again for our flexibility and told again that we would receive something for our inconvenience. Okay fine. So all else went well for the most part.
I have to say that the study is lovely - don't miss it. It is easy to miss. For the first few days there I thought they were just talking about the bar in the restaurant, but no, it is a separate area and is a lovely spot to relax. The restaurant employees were extremely friendly. They did not, however, have a single green olive when my husband ordered a martini. We were told that this was unusual.

Day before departure, we got a small box of candy in our room. Fine. We left early the next morning without viewing our bill. We had racked up quite a lot of charges in our time there. When I got home to the US and asked for a copy of the bill, I was a little surprised to see that they had not credited us for so much as a breakfast for the plumbing issue. I mentioned it to them, only because we had been told by at least three employees that something was to be done for our bill. They responded that we had received some candy. Well, after a couple more emails they did agree (grudgingly) to remove one day's breakfast for two. I was sad to have this little exchange because I truly enjoyed the hotel and would return. The neighborhood is quiet, near Hyde Park and Marble Arch tube station. The restaurant around the corner, The Grazing Goat, is nice for a drink and a meal. Overall a lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for a detailed review and I agree we could have provided better service during your stay.

It is the small things that make the bigger difference and my team have been briefed on providing better service. On your future stay I will ensure a smoother experience. I do though appreciate you ranking us still so highly.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#51 of 1,076 in London
2,902 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,076 in London
423 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#13 of 1,076 in London
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $326 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch, Marylebone and the West End. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing