We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but very functional and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #19 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small rooms but very functional and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

stayed here for a night just for testing the hotel during a London trip.
Member of SLH and should have been greeted but got a small room and some misunderstanding between the hotel and SLH had occured and check out took very long time due that they charged me for breakfast though it is always free as a member of SLH, from loved and up. That was the only bad thing aside of the size of the room.
Clean small room, poor air condition, electricty went down in half the room, with coffee and tea + TV and radio out of function, they managed to fix everything with two visits to the room except the minibar.
Free softdrinks, clean and good stuff. Very functional and modern room, of course it is a design hotel and they are proud of the cool stuff.
Really good breakfast, handcutted fresh fruit salad and for UK really welltasting bread, (I am not a toastguy) Had afternoon tea, richly and really good scones and clotted cream and all marmalades seemed to be homecooked. 28 Pounds each + service. Lovely if you appreciate Afternoon tea of course. Good open kitchen. HUNTer486, serving from breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Small and cosy and if liking this kind of a hotel it is a very good hotel, seems to be good security.

Room Tip: Book a superior or bigger and bed is only 1,40 so you have to be loving couple if two sleeps. choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveloholicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to apologise for the misunderstanding with you SLH membership. This has been noted on your profile and will not happen in the future. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the rest of your stay. Our food and beverage team were pleased to know that your culinary journey in Hunter486 Brassiere was an excellent one.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    224
    52
    7
    7
See reviews for
230
696
98
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Best hotel we've stayed in London. Close to Marylebone High Street, Selfridges and Bond Street tube. We stayed in a deluxe room which felt spacious compared to other hotels in London.Wifi, bottled water, inroom bar with soft drinks/juice included free of charge. Beds were very comfortable. Would stay here again. Loved the tv in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the upper floor away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMastermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Brilliant news, thanks for saying that we are the best hotel you have stayed in whilst in London. Be sure to contact me upon your return so I can personally take care of your reservation.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I travel over 50 days a year and wanted something special for my birthday trip with my wife. We booked The Arch, mainly because of the reviews online.

And although the hotel is nice, for us, it did not live up to it's reputation online.
What we found great:
- the location: away from the tourist areas but close enough to visit all the sites
- the design: fantastic interiour architecture, renovated 2 years ago
- the concierge: great help to book resaurants

Here's what we did not like. I'm fully aware that each item on the list does not impact your holiday much, but if you add them all up, you go home disappointed.
- Check-in takes a very long time. We had to wait 10 minutes and it took another 10 minutes to do all the paperwork.
- We had a girl who took us to a room. I felt sorry for her and took over my bags because the stairs (no lift!) to our room was very steep.
- The rooms in the basement feel like prison, with bars in front of the window.
- The gym is poorly equiped. The weigths are for women only. Impossible to do any lifting above your head if you are 1.80 m or above because you hit the ceiling.
- Very poor choice of breakfast items if you go for the buffet formula. (Single items are much better value)

So, if you can strike a cheap deal (they offer a free night on some occasions) and love design, go for it. If not, think twice before booking. There are quite a few hotels out there that will do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeroen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

We strive to achieve high standards so that our guests have a perfect stay, sadly on this occasion we have not meet with your expectations. Should any of our clients not be happy with their choice of room, we are only too pleased to find a suitable one to make your stay comfortable.
Our state of the art gym is fully equipped and features power plates and the latest Kinesis technology machines that would rival most hotel gyms. I would hope that you would choose to return so that we can show our commitment to superior customer service.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

The room was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matildarmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Being self-employed means no time for holidays so when I can grab a couple of days I tend to spoil myself. I hadn't stayed here before but it was well recommended. Our 'Junior Suite' was very pleasant. Superb Vi-Spring bed and all the trimmings. Excellent bathroom. Quiet and very comfortable but a tad over-priced for the size

The service overall could not have been better and I've stayed at a few five-stars in my time.All of the staff from the Concierge to the breakfast waitress were some of the best I've come across.

We had dinner there the second night and the food was first rate and not over priced. The wine list was bit limited but plenty of choice for all that.

It's well worth a visi, I very much doubt you'll be disappointed

Room Tip: Room 118 was Junior Suite, overlooking the road but very quiet and comfortable. Great mattress and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting on our service, it’s always a pleasure to know that our guests have had a pleasurable experience.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, Surrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here a month or so ago, really as an alternative to getting a cab back to Surrey! I was smitten when I got to lie in the bath and watch TV..... thats me sold! The breakfast was very good and exactly what you need when recovering from the night before! Unfortunatley we didnt get to spend as long as I would have liked in the bar but... it looked very very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treacle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Come back when you have the time for a short break. We have many relaxing spaces that you sadly missed due to your short stay over. Good to know you felt we were glorious and your breakfast was to your liking.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

On our 5 day trip to London (the last leg of our 6 week tour of Europe), we had the pleasure of staying at this property for 4 nights. The first night we couldn't stay here as the hotel was fully booked so we stayed at the nearby Marylebone and then moved into the Arch on our second night. While the Arch is priced slightly higher, it is on a completely different level in terms of design, location, service excellence. This hotel significantly contributed to making our trip to London a very memorable experience. Attention to detail is a priority to this hotel and this is reflected in the every aspect of the hotel. The charming townhouse facade opens into a modern and chic design lobby, filled with carefully curated art pieces which exudes an inviting yet stylishly cool appeal. This concept is extended to the design of the rooms, the restaurant and bar, its "study room" and even the fashion styles of the hotel staff.

Upon check in we were upgraded to a superior room, complete with a complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon. We were personally shown to our room which features a very chic design and a large marble bathroom (with (MALIN+GOETZ) amenities, a god send to my dehydrated hair). The nespresso machines and the complimentary soft drinks were nice touches to the already enjoyable experience.

The location of this hotel is excellent. Located on Great Cumberland Place, the hotel is surrounded by charming townhouses in some of the desirable areas of London. Cabs are readily available from the hotel and the marble arch tube station is only 5 minutes away. Selfridges and the rest of Oxford Street is just 10 minutes walk away.

Room service was efficient and the desserts we ordered were absolutely divine!

Lastly, the service of the hotel staff was impeccable. They were friendly, extremely helpful and incredible professional.

I cannot lavish enough praise on this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

What a joy to read, you have made my day along with my teams. We love to know that our clients have had a wonderful time. We have that extra spring in our step today, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Property: The Arch London
Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing