We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #21 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great base in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I've been using this hotel as a base for business in London for the last six months or so, and have been consistently been impressed. The rooms are well appointed, well maintained and clean. Service, from the front desk to housekeeping and through to the restaurant, is without fault. The restaurant is actually also quite good. Finally, there is a well appointed gym that, unlike many other small hotel gyms, is actually a pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to read your comments and they have been shared with my team. I hope to welcome you back to The Arch in the very near future.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    227
    53
    7
    8
See reviews for
239
706
99
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Massive upgrade in room, impeccable service, good grub and really accomodating when late breakfast lurched into lunch. If I win the lottery I wouldnt dream of buying a flat in London, I would just make a permanent reservation at the Arch- a London home from home for a country bumpkin!!

Room Tip: Both I have stayed in were great- keep you posted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marran25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest

So pleased to read that you felt our service was impeccable.

I look forward to meeting you on your 3rd stay, please email me directly so I can take care of your reservation personally.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Very cosy Hotel well situated close to Marble Arch and the Oxford street shopping area. The room was a bit small but very comfortable, Sober decoration but very nice. Bathroom with TV and well equiped. Air conditionning quite silent. Breakfast buffet and additional hot dishes were perfect. All employees were helpful. The bed was excellent. Free Wifi, complimentary water bottle and Nespresso machine in the room

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardanbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest

We were grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Arch London. Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was our second stay at The Arch, having come here last year for a romantic weekend in London. As always location cannot be faulted, right in the heart of London and literally around the corner from Edgware Road and its plethora of good food joints. However, the service and the standards of the hotel were very different to what we experienced the first time around. This time we plumped for a room on the higher floors and were given a nice room at one end of the hotel. Sadly, the mattress for the bed was larger than the actual bed stead! Hanging off by a few inches. How ridiculous. Also the hot water was intermittently hot and cold in the shower and would deliver a chilling shock when you least expected it. On the plus side when I mentioned these issues on check out I was told they would be looked into and I did get a fairly prompt reply via email with an apology. Overall, although we love the location and the level of luxury this hotel offers, the slipping standards of service mean that we may look elsewhere for our next trip to London.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest

We were disappointed to read that your stay was not to our normal high standards. Thank you for commenting that we dealt with your concerns promptly. I hope that you will return to our hotel in the future as I can assure you your issues raised have been rectified

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here last Dec and couldn't be more happy with its excellent location. Its walking distance to Oxford/Regent/Bond street for shopping and Hyde Park. The staff couldn't be more helpful and so eager to help with your needs. We were also very pleased with the nice room with its big modern bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkprincessParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest

It’s great to read your comments and thank you for highlighting our service. Our staff at the hotel are always on hand to assist our guests with their needs.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We do not stay in hotels like this often, but didn't feel out of place as the staff were amazing, friendly, discreet and prefessional. We were upgraded to a junior suite and got a free bottle of verve cliquot! Let them know if it's your honeymoon. The room was luxurious and funky. The room service was great. We ate in the restaurant which was lovely, the food was delicious and the service fantastic. In summary, a funky, small, friendly place to stay. A luxurious treat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We were pleased to know that you appreciated your upgrade as it’s not often that one get’s married. Be sure to visit us again when you are next in London.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had not visited London in a number of years, so the search for the right place to stay was important. We were looking for location, comfortable room, cleanliness and friendly staff.
The Arch Hotel was perfect. From the moment we arrived until we checked out the Arch Hotel met all our needs. We choose the plan that allowed us to stay for 3 nights and pay for 2 nights, including a full breakfast. This was a good value when you consider that hotels in this class were charging $500.00 upwards per night without breakfast. We stayed in room 214 which faced the front of the hotel on Great Cumberland Road, the room was so insulated we did not hear any noise at all. Speaking of noise, we never heard any door slamming in the hallway or people talking as they passing by. Everything in the room felt as if the hotel had just opened, from the very comfortable bed to the sparkling fresh bathroom with great selection of toiletries and large bath towels. Finally a hotel that lets you get a very good nights sleep. The full breakfast had a large selection of cold items in a buffet area, as well as hot items that you could order off the menu. We had dinner one evening there as well, and that was excellent. The location for us was wonderful: easy walk to shops, restaurants and local sights. If you are planning a trip to London, this is definitely the hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Room 214 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlersfrom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest

We do have a great location at the hotel being so close to the main shopping and touristic areas. Thank you for commenting on the friendliness of our staff.

Wishing you all the best and we hope to see you soon.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Property: The Arch London
Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch, Marylebone and the West End. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing