We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dean Street Townhouse
Ranked #138 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice hotel in the center of Soho! We got upgraded from a tiny to a beautiful room with a free standing tub in it. Nice romantic stay. The bathroom and shower was great, specially the abundance of Cowshed products. Close walk to many tourist areas and great restaurants. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    128
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
58
286
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in the Dean Street Townhouse & won't be our last. Have been looking for that intimate boutique accommodation in the heart of London - we have found it! From the time of making our reservation to time of check out, the staff could not have been more helpful. We booked a small room & that's what we got! However very comfortable bed, beautiful sheets & pillows, tea/coffee & cookies available & as for the shower! Best & biggest ever! A special mention for the Cowshed bathroom products! We had six different shower gels, shampoos & conditioners! You should make a reservation just to take a shower. We had lunch sitting outside on the first day, excellent food & service. Breakfast - food was ok, however service was below average. This was the only blip during our stay. A special mention for the Nespresso machine & cookies in the reception area. A really nice touch. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have now stayed at The Dean Street Townhouse, slap bang in the middle of Soho, on several occasions and never once been dissatisfied. The service from check-in and porterage to the decor and the rooms themselves is exemplary. Whilst you wait for the porter to take your cases to the room you can sit in the foyer and enjoy freshly machine made coffees or teas, even cold water or milk from the foyer fridge, to add to the bowls of fresh fruit available.

In the rooms the kitting out is excellent - tea, coffee, sugars and even cookies. Then add to that the tubs of porridge, the masses of drinks - beers and wines - are all available at hand if you wish to use them in your room (but at a charge). The teapot, cups and saucers, glasses and tumblers are a good touch.

The range of toiletries and extras, such as mouthwash, eyepads, earplugs, toothpaste, hand creams, toners, lip balm, nail files and buffers, cotton buds etc etc etc, is more than needed. The Cowshed products range of soaps, shampoos and gels for use in the overhead showers is very impressive.

The bedding and linen is perfect and white, so welcoming and fresh.

The CD player for videos, the free wi-fi connection, the satellite television, even the DAB radio switched on to Classic FM quietly playing in the background as you enter the room - extra touches that are very noticeable and positively add to the enjoyment of your stay.

The complimentary papers in the morning before you pop next door into the Dean Street Restaurant (all part of the same complex) for your breakfast (or other meals).

This Hotel is a real pleasure to enjoy and one not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for our anniversary. We booked a medium room and was upgraded to a bigger room which was amazing!!! The room had everything you needed including hair straighteners! The cowshed products were so lovely I am hooked on them!! We didn't have to use any of our own toiletries as everything was supplied.
There were lovely homemade fresh cookies and a refreshing change to have fresh milk for tea and coffee!
There is also great free coffee in the lobby and a relaxing area to drink it. We had breakfast included which was great, and a large variety to choose from.
The hotel was very well situated for shopping and restaurants.The staff were also very helpful and I felt I could have requested anything and they would have got it for us!!
Would highly recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nugenthorne_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset england
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have an all expenses paid trip to this hotel, and didn't know what to expect as we didn't book it....OMG it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in in London, usually you are greeted by staff that look down their nose at you and are so unapproachable when you ask questions regarding where things are in the hotel... At Dean Street we were greeted so warmly like long lost friends, handed a bottle of cold water while we checked in, made to feel so welcome and shown to our bedroom and asked if we wanted him to talk through the bedroom which we dismissed....how hard can it be to know what's in your room???? My advice to you is don't dismiss this oration as there is so much in the room and a talk through would have been very welcome it took us ages to find all the doody things in the room and had we known before we left home could have not packed half the stuff we did.... Our room was a small room and was cosy the bed was huge and the shower was huge, underfloor heating in the bathroom nice touch on a tiled floor, the towels were so soft and again huge, they he'd everything you would ever need in the box of goodies in the bathroom far too many to mention...... The sheets on the bed were the finest Egyptian cotton and smooth as anything I have slept in and believe me I always buy the dearest bedding can't stand hard or bobbly sheets, air con, a DAB radio, a TV with Sky a Bose sound system, a book that told you all about the Soho group and had some great recipes in, up to date glossy magazines, a very well stocked mini bar and a drinks tray with cafetiere and ground coffee plus tea.... All this in the room and on top of this a choice of 4 different shower gels and so many Cowshed products around the room to help yourself to.... Plus in the reception area there was tea and coffee again plus a fruit bowl to help yourself too... Every time you came in or went out the staff greetings were so friendly and everyone was interested to know what you were doing, was your room ok, did you need anything...
I have to say that when we go abroad this is the service that you get ....but in England I haven't found this comfortable level of quiet efficiency for years... Obviously if travelling back to London for another weekend stay I will make sure that I save for a little longer to get the excellent experience that we were afforded at the Dean Street Townhouse... Thank you to all the staff we met.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lakeside71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We loved the Dean Street Townhouse. The rooms were lovely with wonderfully comfortable beds, pillows and amenities. The bathtub was perfect as was the rain shower. The biscuits and tea in the room were also just what the doctor ordered after a long day of sightseeing. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekkeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed there for a 4 night stint lastfall. The hotel is very cozy and the service was extremely good. They know your name on check in and were very accomodating. Our room was relatively large and the bathroom shower was an interesting walk-in style. I think the best part about the hotel are 1) Soho location, 2) service, 3) the restaurant next door to the lobby has good food and a good bar. They also have complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning which I've found to be rare in London. The downside is that it's a boutique-style hotel with no gym and it's a bit far from the park so not great for joggers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#160 of 1,088 in London
603 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,088 in London
1,589 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
1,406 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Property: Dean Street Townhouse
Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#167 Family Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dean Street Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing