We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Soho venue for Sunday lunch...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dean Street Townhouse
Ranked #231 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location and atmosphere. Very well looked after by the staff both at the bar and when dining. We had a two course Sunday lunch, just could not manage a third course. My wife has dairy allergies but this was not a problem. All food was prepared to suit her where possible. The artichoke soup was excellent and with no cream. The roast beef course was a great traditional English roast with wonderful Yorkshire puddings and all the trimmings. Excellent food, service, value and experience. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 704 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have been many times to have a drink in the Bar......!
Today I went with a friend to have Sunday Lunch.
It was Delicious very good value, & lots of it. A very buzzy atmosphere, & staff were very pleasant & helpful.
I will definitely be returning.
Sandi Corbett

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I met my husband to be here. We came back for our 1 year anniversary which is where he proposed. Lush. Best night of my life!

Have stayed in the hotel too which was superb. Can vaguely remember drowning in champagne and bath oil in the bath (next to our bed)!

Can’t sing this hotel/bar/restaurants praises enough.

Superb. We'll be coming back on our anniversary every year :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelylass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have stayed here several times in different rooms, always good. Excellent supply of toiletries, you can get away without packing anything but some make up for the girls.
This time stayed in the "broomcupboard" tiny as the name implies but great all the same, spiral staircase to bathroom, all nicely done. Fine for two for an overnight stay but wouldn't book for a longer stay.
Bar excellent and in a fantastic spot in the middle of Soho.
Only one complaint, asked reception to call us a cab when leaving to go back to the train station, to save us having to drag our luggage. Have done this in many London hotels and have always got e reliable ever present black London cab.This time however got an odd, obviously privately owned car, no meter and were totally fleeced. Did not say anything at the time to the reception staff as needed to catch our train but think in a hotel of this standard tbis is completely unacceptable.
Otherwise a very good stay but would advise guests to be aware!

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy but you're in the middle of Soho what do you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a lovely breakfast this morning at Dean Street. The hock ham hash was delicious. The staff were charming. informal and helpful. Our dogs Molly and Archie loved their sausages. Managed to eat on their front terrace with excellent heaters.Great value too,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank MollieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is right in the heart of Soho, so perfect for getting out and about. The rooms are small but absolute quality. They are very generous with the Cow Shed products, which is a nice touch.

Only down side our room was over a restaurant and London was actually warm during our stay :) so when we opened the window there were quite strong food smells.

Breakfast in the morning is a must, we were there on a Friday and it was great being amongst all the cool media people having breakfast meetings, very buzzy!

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the restaurant if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Dean Street townhouse is located in an historic building on a busy and animated Soho street. We had booked a "tiny room" for two nights and the room (which was very small indeed) was very well furnished with all what you may need (except for a wardrobe), and all necessary amenities (including tooth paste, ear plugs, deodorant, etc... ). Amazingly (given the location) the room was very quiet and we did not hear a noise during the night.
The hotel is in generally good condition and the small reception-lobby area is decorated with taste. A few other areas feel a little more oldish though, like some corridors suffering from really ragged carpets.
The restaurant is separated from the hotel (two doors down the street) but we have not tried it (breakfast not included).
I think the weakest point of this place is the service. The staff, which is quite pretentious, is a little too "cool" to be helpful. And practically, our room was not serviced before 4 pm.
Overall the place is okay and perfectly located, but for the price I would consider other options in the area (in Charlotte Street for example).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Kwaku78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#539 of 1,081 in London
217 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#182 of 1,081 in London
674 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#43 of 1,081 in London
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#15 of 1,081 in London
1,541 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#53 of 1,081 in London
999 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#370 of 1,081 in London
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dean Street Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing