We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly pretentious, but who cares?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dean Street Townhouse
Ranked #132 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slightly pretentious, but who cares?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Laid back Soho House luxury with classy decor, the Cowshed treatment and an incredibly comfy if not a bit short bed. Had room 2 on first floor overlooking Dean St which thought would be noisy but wasn't. Had messed up our dinner booking at eponymous restaurant but quickly sorted it out. Made up with a very tasty steak!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimijangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    128
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
58
286
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my second stay at the Dean Street Townhouse. And it won't be my last. This little hotel has a lot of charm, great service, a wonderful restaurant and one of the best locations in London. I'm sure there are fancier places but I find the Dean Street combination of low-key style and service hard to overcome.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Dean Street may have some views, but they can be a tad noisy. I prefer the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I always enjoy staying here! My wife and I have children and live in Paris. Whenever we get the opportunity we sneak away for a night here. My wife then sneaks off to The Cow Shed round the corner whilst I sit and read the paper and have a beer, simple pleasures!

Dark and broody, big rooms (if you choose the right one), room 12 is great at the back of the hotel and a perfect location in the middle of everything. We have stayed and few times and hopefully will get the chance to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of the hotel off the road, room 12 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, outstanding food to the room, comfy beds and luxury pillows, fast free WIFI, a plentiful array of toiletries more than I've witnessed in a lot of other more expensive hotels, Sky plus in all rooms which is amazing if your having a night in. I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and would highly recommend it. The only reason it doesn't get five stars from me is because of the staff on reception. They can be a little cold and unwelcoming, there's an air of smugness about them. Who cares though, you only see them when checking in, after that you can enjoy the amazing restaurant and top class in room facilities.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmcg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just taken a friend for a birthday treat and we were all blown away with this funky hotel. It is right in the middle of Soho and is surrounded by London life and its colourful array of visitors and locals. Definitely stay her again soon. The hotel is small, but the rooms have everything you need including a vast range of Cowshed beauty products and bathroom smellies. We had a small room and our guests large room, and ours was certainly cosy but very comfortable. The large room was lovely but our friends said the bed was incredible and they want one along with the pillows.

Reception staff were so helpful especially Joshua, he couldn't do enough for us. They arranged cars to deliver things for me and showed a genuine interest in our trip and wether we were happy.

I parked my car in Panton Street just minutes away in a safe car park regularly used when in the area. Chinatown is minutes walk away. Free coffee machine in reception. Wonderful breakfast menu, really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Be nice to Joshua and the team and you may get what you wish for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wai Man C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

we went for dinner based on the menu and one of the group liking quite traditional food !
It was a fab meal with slick , friendly unobtrusive service from a delightful Liverpudlian waiter :)
The food was exemplary and enjoyed by us all, we all had cocktails which were spot on .
It is a well set out restaurant and we had a great evening .
I thought the meal was well priced for London and was even happier the service charge is divided between all staff and not into the deep pockets of the company.
We all agreed that although we live in London if we had a late night theatre trip we would want to stay in the hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is just a wonderful, wonderful place to stay in London.

We were on the top floor, in a "Master" bedroom. Complete with an exceptionally comfortable, huge bed - and every amenity you'd expect.

The service was terrific, and the staff very helpful. Their restaurant was great - both for breakfast and cocktails - and seemed to be a "place to be," as it was always teaming with cool people.

The location is one of the best features, too. Easily walking distance to lots of sites and great neighborhoods and fantastic restaurants.

While it's expensive, it was worth it.

Room Tip: We splurged for the "Master" - and it was really worth it. Very comfortable and very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brettrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#160 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#346 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Property: Dean Street Townhouse
Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#167 Family Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dean Street Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing