We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delicious treat in Soho, London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dean Street Townhouse
Ranked #131 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kington Langley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A delicious treat in Soho, London”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I have been to sister hotel Babington on a number of occasions and we love it. This time we thought we'd celebrate our wedding anniversary at its street-wise city sibling hotel in London and we weren't disappointed. If I were to compare the two I would say that Dean Street Townhouse is smaller and by it's very skimpiness on space you are constantly reminded that you're in London but, I'm comparing a prime Soho location with the rambling grand house set in the middle of the countryside so it's not really fair.

What I will say is the restaurant is wonderful. We loved the ambient lighting, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. We had a roast and definitely weren't disappointed. Servings were substantial. The rooms are nicely decorated - not twee or kitsch but just the right side of upmarket trendy. And they also give you freshly home-cooked biscuits to have with your tea: as we were there at Christmas they were angel-shaped. I love the Cowshed products that they leave you to use and the constantly refreshed bowl of fruit in the lobby was gratefully received. Staff were friendly and I really value the location: we went to Ronnie Scotts and various other places all within walking distance. This boutique hotel is a real treat and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    129
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
288
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent one night in this amazing hotel, a Xmas gift from my daughter which we shared. Staff were so welcoming and we were upgraded from the 'tiny' room to the 'small' room, which was perfectly adequate, size wise and such a delightful room, Classic FM playing, and such attention to detail. Instead of going out we decided to stay in and savour the ambience! Beds were so comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on air. Highly recommended, and for me such a relaxing break after Xmas.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynda950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutim
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We got a last minute rate and given the size of room and facilities it represents great value for money.

Beautiful beds and decoration throughout. Fantastic cowshed products for use. Biscuits and tea in room. Room service breakfast prompt and delish. Love the place..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's all to easy to miss Dean Street Townhouse. The entrance is unmarked, the name is overshadowed by the eponymous restaurant and until recently, the building housed a branch of the unloveable Pitcher And Piano . Yet that might be its charm. Once you're through the door, you're in a genuine boutique hotel in the absolute centre of London. Low lights, overstuffed sofas, shabby chic surfaces and the heady incense of scented candles make a dramatic contrast with the buzzy, erratic Soho streets outside. The rooms are an assured mix of Georgian style and modern amenities: four poster beds and framed etchings meet rainfall showers and radiation-strength broadband. Nick Jones' service ethos runs through the property, which is part of the Soho House empire: broadband is free, laundry takes as little as two hours, the bathrooms are stocked with a pharmacy of Cowshed products, and travel sized amenities. It's probably the only hotel apart from the Four Seasons where you could turn up with nothing but the clothes on your back and leave the following morning clean and refreshed. The mainly eastern European staff are a delight. Rooms start with the accurately named Tiny, which is probably the smallest fully-equipped space for a human outside of the international space program. By the time you've traded up to a medium, you have a four poster bed, a claw foot tub in the bedroom and enough 18th century finery to live like Tristram Shandy in a dressing gown. The hotel is admittedly short on communal facilities, but you have the Dean Street Townhouse open from breakfast to midnight next door, the whole of Soho on your doorstep, and no chance of an orthodontists' conference to harsh your mellow. Pro-tip for fashionistas: the hotel is VERY popular for London fashion week, and if you're lucky enough to be a Soho House member, the discount on the rooms is insanely good value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tiny Rooms are good value and well designed but genuinely tiny: best for solo travelers and overnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calculating_hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed in the Townhouse earlier this summer during the Olympic season and I just can't stop thinking about what a wonderful time I had whenever London is mentioned. So I'm finally here to make a review! The staff were so great. The hotel manager is fabulous and he has such a great reception staff, all the girls behind the desk were fabulous!! And gosh, the biscuits...irresistible today the least.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, and all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelynma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at Dean Street Townhouse probably half a dozen times in as many weeks. Great Location as smack bang in central Soho so great restautants, bars and members clubs on your doorstep. I tend to book the smaller rooms as generally just me and somewhere to lay my head but beds are huge and so comfy. There is a great Nespersso machine by the guest sofas at reception to sip on as you choose a DVD to take to your room. Rooms are clean and cozy and so much nicer than the majority of faceless 5* hotels in London. You never need a washbag as they thoughtfully include everything for 2 from toothbrushes to all Cowshed products. All rooms have retro Roberts DAM radio as well as Bose Soundock for your iPhone. Yet to try breakfast as not an early morning person but will try and get up that little bit earlier next time as by all accounts have been told it's one of London's finest.

Room Tip: On a budget the "Broom Cupboard" is fabulous and actually a split level mezzanine with tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Dean Street Townhouse on three occasions, I would have stayed there more often but on my last two trips to London it was full, and that is just about my only complaint. First impressions are important and the reception staff go out of their way to welcome and make you feel at home. The rooms come in small, medium and large; I have yet to try the large, but for one person the small room is fine, the bathroom is large, very well designed wet room (I took pictures, I am going to copy it at home). The medium room comes with a standalone bath tub in the bedroom (perfect for sharing) and a wet room. The rooms are well decorated, very comfortable and unusually for English hotels, well heated. The hotel is great, but my favourite part of the Dean Street Townhouse is the restaurant and bar. It is just so full of life, so full of interesting, unpretentious people that you can (and I have) happily spend a night there solo and be sure to find engaging conversation and good company. The menu is simple but excellent, plenty of comfort food, whatever you do you must try the Haddock Souffle it is simply one of the best dishes you will find anywhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#140 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#350 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Property: Dean Street Townhouse
Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#167 Family Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dean Street Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing