We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phoenix Hostel
Ranked #152 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The phoenix hostel is one of the best places for backpackers to stay it is close to everything there is 3 tube stations in a 2 min walk. The 2 best parks in London are not far to walk to ( Hyde park and regants park). Staff are also great they are quite noligable of the city

Room Tip: 6 bed dorm are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    45
    26
    29
See reviews for
6
21
111
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I booked Pheonix last minute and showed very late at night to a welcoming, smiling and helpful face. I was so happy to see Sam behind the counter (it was about 2am!!) who made my life so much easier by taking care of everything for me.

The hostel has a bar which had an awesome atmosphere! The drinks are cheap and the people are cool.

The rooms and bathrooms aren't 100% beautiful but are beyond my expectation for £8 a night! You need to manage your expectations if you aren't happy with the facilities.

Wifi is excellent - this is super important as you all know!!

Overall good value and super helpful staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pariss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Make sure you are not paying more than £10 per night for the dorm. There was a couple in my 6-bed dorm that booked 3months in advance and they ended up paying 7 times the price, for the same room. Yes, 700% extra for booking in advance!

The staff working there were really helpful. The shower and toilets are really small,I have uploaded a couple of pics to show the size of one of the showers. Breakfast is 1.50 which, I guess, is ok for tesco branded instant coffee and cereal. If you are a pub person, this is for you.

Overall, a good place for the price. Because the rooms are small, you keep bumping into people and you can not talk to them ;) Met a bunch of people from around the world during my 3-day stay, which kind of makes me feel better about the place.

I wish they change the bulbs in the reception/common-room/pub. The colour of the light is not at all good, and gives a really bad first impression for someone walking in at night.

Room Tip: Room 2, the 6-bed dorm is right next to the biggest shower/toilet in the whole building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HishMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here on 23rd of December for a night.Very good price, just 7 pound for a hotel that is a short walk from Paddington, Edgware Road and Oxford St.Locker is available for 2 pound.Breakfast is available for 1.50 pound which is a very good deal, since you will have cereal, toast and fruits. Coffee and tea available free throughout the day.Staff team is very friendly and helpful.wifi connection is available and desktop is made available for everybody.The cleanliness is average but I think you cant ask more for this low price.I have tried some of the cheap hostel around London but this is the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Fantastic hostel that has everything you need for your stay. In my experience the staff (Scott, Sam, Jonathan, Tina) is second to none - always making you feel welcome and always there to help out.

The Wifi always works, reasonably priced rooms and beer, and the rooms are always clean. Location is very central and close to Tube stations and bus stops, with plenty of amenities around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloMura82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

There is a lot going for this hostel.
It's nice and quiet, but located near Marble Arch and Baker Street so there was always plenty to do, and quite a quick travel time to anywhere in the center. The Winter Wonderland on at Hyde park is amazing! The staff were polite, friendly, and very accomodating. Sam especially so.
The room I was in was a six bed dorm, while a little cramped was very clean and served it's purpose as a nice place to crash. It helped I had quiet roommates too.
The layout of the showers and that was a bit weird, but not unegotiable once you got used to it.
I'd say the only other thing is that the building is showing its age, and could use an upgrade.
I'd definitely recommend it for a stay in London and will stay again.

Room Tip: Six bed dorm was nice, room 2 was nice, situated by the biggest shower/bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siegfried H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was visiting London with a few friends back in March 2012 when they chose to go home but I wanted to stay longer. Bunk beds were a bit claustrophobic... it was impossible to get in or out of the bed without crawling. But the place seemed very safe, people were friendly, and the "bar" area was a good place to just hang out during the day to meet other travelers. The free computer was fantastic for me since I had a lot of flight booking to do and didn't have a laptop with me, and being a walking distance to the underground was a life saver. Possibly my favorite day while I was there was grabbing a map and walking to the palace to see the changing of the guard. It wasn't a particularly short walk, but it was manageable.

So basically, good location, good people, acceptable amenities (like the continental breakfast, which was mostly cereal and toast, but greatly appreciated in any case.) Furthermore, I was usually very tired when I returned to the hostel so NOTHING kept me awake even for five minutes despite being in a room with 10 other people who turned the lights on at odd times. If I even briefly mentioned that I was trying to sleep, the people were really respectful and did their best not to be disruptive. Finally, everything was SUPER clean despite the fact that they were doing renovations while I was there. Well done, Phoenix!

The one negative: The bathrooms were so incredibly TINY! I am a relatively thin girl, but after taking a shower, there was hardly any room to put clothing back on. I actually had to stand in the shower to get dressed because the floor space outside of the shower was almost entirely taken up by a small sink coming from the wall. It was uncomfortable, but for what I was paying, I expected worse.

As for comments that this in a sketchy area, I guess I come from a relatively large city (small compared to London, but still large) so this neighborhood didn't strike me as even a little bit out of the norm. Just like any other place, I wouldn't suggest walking alone at night, but I never once felt unsafe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apis183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Horse & Stables Hostel
#117 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#68 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Paddington / Maida Vale
Equity Point London Hotel
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hostel

Property: Phoenix Hostel
Address: 6 Daventry Street, London NW1 5NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phoenix Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Phoenix Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel London
Phoenix Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing