We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel, value for money”
Review of Phoenix Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Hostel
Ranked #138 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely brilliant hostel. Our first night in London we booked a private room at a different location and then second and third night's spent here in a 6 bed dorm. Met some absolutely amazing people and the staff are incredibly friendly! Scott checked us in and told us where were the best places to go for the nightlife and Sam the night porter was super friendly, having a chat with us at 2am on the second night :) Victoria the cleaner was fab too, friendly and did an amazing job. The hostel is super cheap, you have to pay for lockers but we left our things on our beds instead and it seems safe enough (nothing's missing at least!). Most of the people who come here and awesome but obviously there are some not so great but that's the same where ever you stay. Excellent location, 5-10mins walk from several tube stations and maybe half hour walk from oxford street. We walked back from Leicester square at night in around an hour (we went the super long way. I 100% recommend this hostel and will be going back next time I go to London. Only negative thing I can say is the showers aren't all that powerful but hey, they're warm and good enough. Oh and only one plug in our room worked but there are plenty downstairs in the social area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well where to begin... this hostel is the most boring hostel ive ever stayed at! The Rooms are extremely small and crammed! The bathroom showers were horrible the worst ive ever seen! the sheets dont get changed.... The bar downstairs is like a cafe and everyone is quiet! My girlfriends and i were the only ones going out at night! Overall I would not recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to have a good time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 84travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I reciebed a bad tract from an old man with white hair, it represents that's an hostel for young people not for 60 years old people. But there are good people in it like Jonatan and Ellena. The rooms are clean and correct. The bathrooms are a little bit dirty and very little like the showers (doesn't work correctly). Some places of the hostel smells bad. The security is not bad. The locattion is very good. The internet... It's like don't have connection because fall down every minute. If i have to live in london again before I search another place for don't see again this old and annoying man.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YamiGhor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Small rooms and a bit old but if all you need is a bed to sleep in then here is a good cheap hostel. The staff were very friendly and I loved the bar downstairs (cheap drinks). I had a good sleep even with many people sharing the room with me. Lovely friendly people about. I'd say not a bad find.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fantastic place, really good staff and clean compared to other places in London.great location easy to get around london there is 3 tube stations in a 5 min walk from the hostel(district, backerloo,circle and hamersmith) the zoo was only a 10 min walk so that was nice to go to on a nice lonvely day

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

When i first arrived at the hostel i was greeted with a free welcome drink, where else do you get that. One of the staff at the bar then proceeded to give me a map and a wealth of information about the hostel facilties and the local attractions. It was clean and spacious in the rooms upstair i would definetly return there again in the future!

Room Tip: room 9 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hostel was located near the tube and shops so it was easy to get around. Moreover, it was so close to Oxford Street, within walking distance! I really enjoyed my stay here: the staff were very nice and always helpful. I also liked the high security and the superb breakfast (which was so reasonable and such good value). I will definitely stay here again when I visit London in the future. Fantastic hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryann187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 948 in London
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 948 in London
2,191 reviews
Marylebone
PubLove at The Green Man
PubLove at The Green Man
#165 of 948 in London
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hostel

Address: 6 Daventry Street, London NW1 5NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $19 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phoenix Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Phoenix Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel London
Phoenix Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing