We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely French Cooking at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Petite Maison

La Petite Maison
Ranked #317 of 22,374 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $77 - $102
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: It has been around for over 2 years and is rated amongst London's top 20. Zagat rate it London's top Mediterranean restaurant 2009
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Homely French Cooking at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

La peitie maison was a lovely surprise this week. We were invited by friends to celebrate a birthday. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. The custom of sharing all courses ensures that everyone has broad culinary experience. The sign of a great restaurant is one where new tastes and textures are enjoyed. La petite maison did not disappoint. The best mozzarella I have ever tasted, plus lentil salad, courgette flowers and snails are all worthy of mention. The main courses were equally enjoyable: spatchcock chicken, tiger prawns, lamb cutlets and turbot. The oversized desserts, especially the creme brulee were a fantastic finish. Good value for this quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    158
    46
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food Noisy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went for dinner a group of four, the food was excellent a delicious French food without the heavy sauces, we ordered a number of dishes which we shared among ourselves they were all excellent specially the fish. Desserts were excellent and relatively speaking light. The only negative point it was noisy so it was difficult to carry a conversation without having to speak loud and increase the noisiness atmosphere. The last negative point in my opinion you cannot decide to go there in the same day or the next you need to book few days in advance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty French food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I like la petite Maison because the food is excellent, and compared to many other French places in London it's not a fancy pretentious restaurant. The recipes are basic (gratin dauphinois, sauce bearnaise- this is no fusion food) but excellent, almost perfect. The waiters are friendly. The sommelier recommended a great wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Every thing we ate and drink tasted amazing! So many of our friends have kept telling us to go and we finally decided to go and try it out! Will definitely go again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grandmaster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
634 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Next time I will go there for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have been here twice for lunch - and the atmosphere with people rushing around and on a sunday lunch - kids roaming around screaming - is not the best for enjoying the very good food that is served here. The restaurant is a bit to filled with tables - a bit difficult to walk around in.
But the main thing. Food. Delicious.
Started with a burrata with cherytomatoes. Delicious!! Next vealchop with a potatogratin. So very very good. Figs for dessert.
Service is good but staff are really really stressed. I do think the restaurant could win on having a few tables less so the staff doesnt have to run around sweating

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Maison also viewed

 

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing