We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    La Reserve(London)
    View Hotel
    • Breakfast included
    • Restaurant
    Brewers Inn(London)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (2,149)
    Filter reviews
    2,149 results
    Traveler rating
    1,221
    499
    258
    93
    78
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,221
    499
    258
    93
    78
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsclapham junctionshuttle servicebanyan restaurantfree shuttlenile suiteclapham commonamazon roomiqbal latifthames viewjacuzzi bathbattersea parkfloor to ceiling windowsroof terracehuge bathroomkings roadhotel gueststhe hotel offers
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1,968 - 1,973 of 2,149 reviews
    Reviewed May 4, 2010

    Great hotel with definite 5 star amenities. The staff go out their way to please you. It was my birthday and i got complimentary card and flowers from hotel. would definitely visit again and good value for money. Dont forget to see the roof top terrace - view is amazing.

    Came back and could not stop talking about it!

    • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Parveen2012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 3, 2010

    My family (wife & 3 yr old) just spent 9 days in the Rafayel hotel during the last week in April. Overall I was very impressed. A few things still need ironing out but overall this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We had an Amazon suite with a city view (room 206 overlooking Lombard Rd, Battersea and in the distance you could see Battersea power station). We got the intro rates of 165 a night which was a great deal - I'm not sure i'd spend full rack rate though. Some general comments I have are:

    Location - Right on the Thames river at the Battersea heliport overlooking the Thames & Chelsea. We loved the location but we are very familiar with Battersea and specifically looked to stay in the area away from the tourists. Bus 170 stops right out side the hotel with will take you into Victoria station. Clapham Junction is only 10 mins away too.
    Restaurant - Very chic with an asian/indian fusion type menu. Typically priced as most business hotels are for dinner. We didn't eat dinner hear however my daughter & I had breakfast here a number of times and really enjoyed watching the helicopters land and the view of the Thames/Chelsea. 10 quid for a continential breakfast - about as expected for a business or high end hotel.
    Room - ours was huge for England/Europe. 500+ sqft with a huge bathroom. Nice bath with a TV + shower as well. The sleeping/work area was very spacious and very comfortable. the space was worth losing a river view for because our daugther had lots of room to play in. Great blinds in the room - they overlap so all light is blocked out which lets you sleep when you want to. Very quiet too - only a bit of noise through the door as at most hotels. I saw the smaller rooms too and they were quite spacious for London/Euro rooms although a bit small for North American standards.
    Gym/Spa - didn't use the facilities so can't comment although there appears to be a lot of equipment in the gym.
    Staff - were exceptional. Always very friendly and helpful. Anything i asked for was dealt with promptly. The front desk staff was especially great to my little "princess" who loved the attention. The one knock I'd have was the cleaning staff did a little too good a job. They would put things away on you like clothes left out and toiletries. Not a big deal but a little over the top.

    All in all i'd stay here again in a minute. Loved everything but the "extra" packing the cleaning staff did for us. If you are adventurous at all or want to be out of the tourist crowds don't be afraid of the location. Get an oyster card & take the bus or walk the 30 minutes to Sloan Square & take a tube.

    • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank vpfreedude
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 3, 2010

    we went to this hotel after looking on the net and thinking it looked great!
    but the hotel it's self is only the first 3 floors of the building the rest is private dwellings. the roos are loveley but we were on the ground floor and everyone walking past could see into the room unless we drew the blinds which made it dark!
    Also the shower tray filled up after a 3 min shower.
    The hotel only has one resturant and bar which are together. the resturant had a limted choice of about 6 main dishesof indian food only, Which was nice but not the 5 star it was made out to be!!
    and in my opinion not worth the price charged.
    Lastly its right next door to londons heliport so we didn't sleep very well.
    All in all i would say that the hotel is one of the cleanest and nicest styled hotels i have stayed in but it's location and lack of choice ruined it for me.
    this is the first reveiw i have ever done and i hope this will help poeple as the website makes it look a lot nicer than it really is.

    • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank stace993
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 2, 2010

    Stayed at Rafayel in April after finding on Trip Advisor. Brand new and excellent value right next to Thames. We stayed in Thames Side room after River View room we booked was not available. We were originally put in Urban View room which are nice rooms, but the view is 'very urban' and with full size windows feels a bit exposed. Staff are charming and the place is immaculate. Restaurant was also excellent, right by river with superb cocktails. Location is strength or weakness depending on what you want. To be on the river is great and Kings Road is pleasant 20 minute walk along river side path. BUT not at night or in rain and West End is harder to get too, unless you like using buses or overland train from Clapham Junction. As a hotel experience it is super and you would expect to pay a lot more for that quality, so it all depends on whether the location is what you want. One quirky feature is the technology, which is superb but sometimes too much. For example, lighting and climate control are brilliant but hard to figure out and working the shower defeated us - we had to get a porter to turn it on for us. He managed it but got very wet in the process!!

    • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lorcano
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 30, 2010

    There is so much to say about this hotel...everything is just perfect! The staff are extremely efficient and friendly. They welcome you as you enter and throughout our stay were happy to help us in anyway possible. The communication in booking this hotel was A+++. Fantastic!

    The room itself is a dream...television, cable, movies, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar fridge, absolutely perfect bathroom, bed...comfort fantastic!
    The view of the Thames River was lovely and relaxing.

    They have a restuarant/room service 24hrs. Meals were lovely and reasonably priced. Room service very quick. Most impressive!

    Location...it is not in the centre of London but just in outskirts (not too far from the centre. )The transporting to all shops and tourist sites is not a problem at all! We used Black taxis, local taxis, train and buses...the bus is outside the door and runs every 6 mins to Victoria Station. It only takes...less than 10 minutes. Very quick. No problem getting home either. We came home very late one night after a show and caught a cab to the door...price ok.
    The location is lovely as you get away from the noise of the centre of London. We found this most relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. It was a joy to come back and something we all looked forward to.
    The area of Battersea is very nice as well, a family area.

    The hotel has very fast wi fi and if you do not have a computer, they will loan you a laptop. (Deposit taken)

    They also have pre-paid Oyster cards for public transport.

    There are spa, massage facilities etc as well...a much added bonus!

    They also have a library, little florist and cake store in the foyer of the hotel.

    Price is PERFECT! The only problem is that we booked this hotel with an introductory deal and I am presuming the price may go up, so by the time we get back to London we may not be able to afford it...who knows, they may keep some rooms at a good price for all to enjoy.

    This is a beautiful new hotel and I think if I was a resident of the U.K, I would be making an effort to have little spoiling stays here regularly! We can not speak highly enough of this place. We have toured all through Europe and this hotel tops everywhere we have stayed in all apsects - staff, food, room, cleaniness, bed, bathroom, location and price!

    This hotel has thought of everything!

    We highly recommend this hotel to all!
    Thank you to everyone at the Rafayel on the Left Bank!

    • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Austravelblogger123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews