We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #290 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stunning location. Real luxury and great value for London.
A short walk to Clapham for both overground and underground stations, shops, pubs and restaurants.

Most importantly, the staff were, without exception, absolutely amazing, polite, friendly and incredibly helpful - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    446
    219
    82
    48
See reviews for
157
977
106
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The room was stunning. Decor was beautiful we stayed in the Amazon suite. Bed was extremely comfortable, black out blinds were perfect but the bathroom was the best by far. Waterfall shower with mini jets too. Staff were very helpful with free shuttles to Clapham common & Clapham Junction. We had problems on the London Underground and staff were very helpful in helping us find alternative routes to London. We took advantage of the half price offer in the restaurant and the food was exquisite (hotel staff arranged our meal for us). We used the free spa facilities which were clean and extremely relaxing. Perfect for a romantic mini break!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

PROS
Good free shuttle to and from Clapham Common and Clapham Junction.
Great views depending on what room you get.
Great comfortable beds and even better showers.
Great value for a romantic hotel near to London.
Great staff always willing to help.
Carpark is easy to access and park.
Half price offer in the restaurant for two meals very good.

CONS
Only downside is that the hotel feels like it's trying a little too hard. The reception area is a bit tacky, and the fitting are to a specific taste.
Technology in the rooms is fun to play with, but can become tiresome if you just want to flick through some TV channels.
Carparking is an additional cost, but what can you expect in London?!

NB: this is right next to the helipad, which we loved, watching the helicopters taking off and landing. It didn't wake us at all, but if you're a light sleeper and you want a sleep in on a weekday, you may encounter some disturbance.

Overall, was a great spot to surprise my partner, and we enjoyed the experience, we will come back again when in London on a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Go for a guaranteed river view room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I just recently stayed here on a trip to south London & thought it was worth shouting about. It is quite a unique place... Decor is striking, not to everyone's taste, but they have clearly spent alot of money here and done it well.

The room was AMAZING! I had a second floor suite overlooking the Thames (very nice view) and enough room to hole a banquet in my hotel room had I wished too!

The hotel has a spa (no time to visit unfortunately, but next time) and an Indian come European fusion restaurant on site that was fantastic. I stuck with the Indian food, which far from your average place, was well thought out with amazingly delicate flavours & much enjoyed.

It's also worth mentioning the Battersea Heliport is RIGHT next door, but the hotel was very well soundproofed and there are no night flights there, so it did not disturb.

If you need to be in this part of London, you could do a lot worse than a very nice night at the Raphael.

Room Tip: I had a suite with a Thames view... not all of them have, so well worth asking for when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtyeisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The rooms are fantastic value for London. All the features are of a high standard and the rooms are very spacious. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. I had a very tasty curry with duck to start. The food is contemporary British. I think if you go when the hotel is quieter you can get some really good offers so you can just go and stay for a night even if you live in London and feel like escaping. I Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here overnight and had a lovely time. We phoned the hotel from Clapham Common and the shuttle bus picked us up 15 mins later so prompt, curteous service. However, I think I would suggest the tube to Victoria and then the 170 bus goes straight to the hotel. (and vice versa for getting into town- the hotel is a wee bit far out but that's reflected in the price.) On arrival, (the lobby is a bit strange...what is the sparkly chain thing?), we were given an upgrade to a room with a Thames view which was great. A big room, huge bed, crazy massive shower and floor to ceiling windows. Unfortunately it had taken us quite a time to get to the hotel so we weren't able to relax before we had to be off- I wish we had got there earlier as a stroll by the Thames might have been nice. Anyway, a good nights sleep, no sounds whatsoever from other rooms but a bit of road noise and I think City airport must be quite close as planes could be easily heard. The rooms are dark and that does make applying make up difficult- I ignored the fact that there are appartments and niehbours and kept the blinds up and curtains open just to get light in- sorry neighbours if you had to see me making myself respectable!! The shower cubical also leaked and my discarded jeans got soaking wet, hurray for the hairdryer!! I probably should have told the reception but it was so busy at checkout that I forgot. Breakkie is a buffet and so overindulgence was the order of the day...I would have liked hot milk to be served with coffee but perhaps they would have done this had I asked. (but perhaps for 5 star I shouldnt have to ask..?) So all in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Thames view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaztaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I visited this hotel for the first time on 27/12/2013 and fell in love with the place. I got a good deal and paid £108 for a great room with a semi-view of the Thames. The price included unlimited access of the spa (small steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and resistance pool) for both days we were there and the use of the shuttle service to and from the local train stations. The staff really tried to help us with any queries that we had and we had a very relaxing night away.

The only thing we can fault is the location of the hotel. Despite being aware of the distance from central London before booking, we did not appreciate just how far away the hotel is from restaurants, bars and other entertainment. We had to book the shuttle service, a taxi or walk to the station in order to get anywhere. Despite this inconvenience, I would advise against using the hotel's own restaurant as it is quite expensive and better food can be found only a 5 minute taxi journey away.

To try and make up for the poor location, the hotel could maybe invest in another restaurant or two on-site or offer telephone numbers for local restaurants which deliver. The spa could also be improved; while it is incredibly relaxing, it is a bit small and could be made bigger. A small swimming pool would also greatly improve the spa.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay and have recently stayed here again for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Be careful when looking at the more expensive rooms. Some of them are aimed at families and therefor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing