We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel but a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #317 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab hotel but a little out of the way”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a romantic break. The hotel itself is fab and very trendy and modern, rooms are huge, shower amazing etc but the location itself does leave a little to be desired. Yes there is the Thames on one side but they don't mention the surrounding area with a Jewson builders merchants next door and a big yellow storage opposite. In my opinion, they have built a lovely hotel in an area that hasn't caught up yet. The transport links by train are time consuming, you have either a 10 min walk to Clapham junction (or wait for the courtesy bus) and then get the overland to West Brompton and change for the District line to get onto the tube network or alternatively a taxi ride over the river into Chelsea (about £15 each way). I guess this is why the prices are a little lower but taxi fares add £30 a day so take that into consideration. We found an Oyster card a very essential addition to travel! We enjoyed our stay and found the hotel very comfortable but would probably stay somewhere a little more convenient next time.

Room Tip: Avoid anything with an 'urban view'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmer137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    458
    234
    84
    53
See reviews for
162
1,016
107
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very high tech clean hotel. Staff very friendly. It's a little out of the way but that's what I wanted! Great view of the helipad and also soundproofed. Even has a library! The suites are huge with separate dining area and hot tub. Very good for the price.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yggdrasil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I went here for my birthday and stayed the night. This hotel is great!! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

The room-the room was clean, tidy and immaculate condition. First of all there was huge space and the layout of the room was great. Me and my girlfriend stayed in the top room and it was worth every penny. This place made my birthday! The bed was comfy and the surround sound for music was brilliant. I can't express how good this place is.

The bathroom- our en-suite was perfect. We opted for the jacuzzi bath which I could of spent all day in. Again very clean and very good space. Very modern with high tech equipment in the room. The surround sound in the bathroom again was great.

The bar-the bar was ideal for a quiet drink with my partner and a few mates. Bartender was good and friendly! Also we had the choice of what music we wanted to listen to which was ideal for the type of night we was having.

The food-I cannot express how good the food was, I had the steak and it was cooked to perfection! Again fast and prompt service aswell.

I would recommend this place to everyone and anyone. The outside view of the river was another plus side to this hotel and the service was excellent. They catered to everything we needed and was fast on service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel's website was slightly misleading- the shuttle service was excellent but needed to be booked in advance and only runs from Clapham Junction/Clapham Common at quarter past the hour and quarter to the hour. I was quite grumpy to be told we would have to wait 25 minutes expecially because it would be very diifcult to book in advance if, like us, you were travelling on the underground with no reception so we got a taxi. We booked the shuttle in advance the other times we used it and were otherwise pleased with the service.

Our room was very pleasant, and the shower was particularly good. The bed was comfortable although I thought the sheets were a little bit rough. we slept very well until 8.30am on Sunday when one of the other guests allowed the hotel to demonstrate how efficiently their fire alarms operate- no smoking means no smoking!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 473HJM473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from London after staying at Rafayel on the left bank. What a brilliant Hotel we arrived at 11.30am and wanted to see if we could drop of our bags at the hotel so that we could get around London without any luggage to to carry around, The receptionists were very welcoming and checked to see if our room was ready to check into there and then and it was.

The room was lovely and quiet and very spacious with excellent views over the Thames. The bed was very very comfortable. We had free access to the spa and gym facilities and made the most of this. The only negative points were that the steam room was out of order and that would of been nice to use.. but all in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

For those that complained about it being too far out I would disagree as there are complimentary transfers to Clapham junction and why not enjoy the scenery and have a leisurely walk by the Thames its a lovely short walk and you can get to see the sights in Chelsea with its brilliant bars and eateries.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Really good price for a five-star hotel in London;
Location is fine, however, it should be noted there is no sub station nearby, you can only take the bus, or the hotel free transfer service to the sub station (every half hour);

Room was nice, although it was a bit annoying at the first as we were assigned to a service apartment in the connected building, which they called an upgrade. However, when you expect a proper and cosy hotel room, I don't think to stay in a home-like apartment for one or two nights sounds too attractive. (and it is probably even cheaper to stay in their service apartment).

btw, the SPA service in the hotel is quite cheap (all guests have 50% discount) but a pre-booking is recommended as they availability is rather limited.


Almost forgot, they have a 'very strick non-smoking' policy, which is fine to me. However, when there is ANY OTHER guest who dare to smoke in the hotel, the fire alarm would run, no matter what time it is: for my case, I heard the alarm at 6am, for about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,812 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a great value for money 5 stars hotel. It is a new hotel, a bit difficult to find, but brand new, modern and with good style, but there is something that is missing, could be character, the oddity of the reception, service is a bit hot and miss.
SO good potential, but a few points to improve

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#407 of 1,067 in London
9,146 reviews
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#344 of 1,067 in London
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#230 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing