We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #309 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked through a comparison site. We arrived and parked in their underground car park after some brief confusion. A member if staff assisted with bags etc which was nice. Check in smooth and quick.

We had a large partial river view room. The bathroom was beautiful, the bedroom stylish and well appointed. This is without doubt the most spacious 5 star room you can get in London at that price. Could do with an extra lamp and some better bulbs-as others have said before, the rooms are far too dark.

We slept well, until I was woken by my phone in the early hours- I couldn't get back to sleep as the inbuilt speakers were crackling constantly. Didn't complain as it was so early and my girlfriend was still asleep- not a good time to change rooms!

Ignore what is said about the hotel being too far out-it doesn't claim to be in the west end, and the shuttle car is a nice extra.

Bit of an experience with the small but equipped spa-we left our towels (with room key in the pocket) on the side whilst in the steam room. When we came out, it was all gone! Had to walk out to the reception in my swimming shorts :-/ the resistance pool was closed as seems normal from the other reviews.

Overall, found the hotel to be value for money and worth looking at if you want a bit more for your money just south of the river. I was, however, disappointed that when we checked out and raised the issue of the crackling speakers, I was still charged the £5 levy for the one beer I had from the minibar. Knocking this off the bill would have been a simple way to cheer me up a bit after a few hours lost sleep!

Would consider returning but only for the same or a better deal-would not pay full whack.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wimbo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    452
    222
    82
    52
See reviews for
158
988
106
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at the Rafayel for three nights in one of their Thames rooms. Views from the room are fantastic and the rooms are all well kitted out. bathrooms are large and if you like a good power shower you wont be disappointed. We ate in the restaurant and the food was well priced and delicious with a great menu with a varied selection.
If your staying go in and enjoy the bar. The main barman Manni gives everyone a great welcome and really makes you feel at home. The owner also puts in an appearance and in a nice touch actually thanks you for your custom which is virtually unheard of anywhere else in London where I have stayed.
The hotels gym is well appointed and there is also a nice Jacuzzi in it where one can relax after a hard work out. all in all this is a great hotel great location great staff and fantastic food I would highly recommend trying it of you are in the Chelsea area, I'm going back again with customers in a weeks time as I know they will be impressed with what they see !!

Room Tip: Ask can you get upgraded to a Thames room or better still ask if there's any apartments free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagrid1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. The room was too dark and I dreaded dropping anything as I would struggle to be able to find it. I could not cool the room below 22degrees, and and the windows do not open, so we suffered a bit. I believe that the temperature can be set centrally.
The biggest surprise that each time we asked for a taxi, a driver arrived with his own car: He seemed to have a special arrangement with the hotel. This is slightly dishonest as it is not what was asked for or agreed by the hotel. He charged £7 to drive us to St Mary's church which is less than half a mile away.......
Alarmed by the theft of an iPad, mentioned by one reviewer: I am glad that I left mine at home. That theft alone should put off many visitors: I have never had anything stolen from a UK hotel (yet)!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guywarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Rafayel on at least 6 occasions this year when our business takes us from our home in France to London......and after having spent over two weeks there in October we are going back tomorrow to spend another 4 nights in our favourite junior suite ..room 104.....Brillant... fabulous...The design is simply understated luxury .... the cost is a fraction of what you might pay on the other side of the river and the facilities a whole better than some of the better known hotel chains!!! and the hotel is only 10 minutes away from Chelsea in a minicab..... so very accessible..... making it a perfect choice for a business or pleasure stay in London.
Every one of the staff at the reception desk is ever so friendly and attentive...the waiters and waitresses at the restaurant are also very pleasant and helpful and the chef needs a special mention..very good...
I would not only recommend Rafayel but I would go and add that Rafayel is always our first choice as we really feel at home there......... and if we ever had to stay somewhere else in London....there is only one reason for that ....Rafayel was full.!!!
So well done you guys at Rafayel....keep the good work going
Marie Rosaline

Room Tip: room 104 ....when I am not in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie rosaline e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in a junior suite in September 2013, and my Mum stayed in a regular room. We found the staff to be friendly but slightly clueless - for example when we drove in, to signs of valet parking I was asked about 3 times if we wanted to park the car and they looked very confused by the presence of a car, all I was trying to do was put the car in the car park...we weren't even bothered if they parked it or we did, just that we were no longer in it. I had to get out and go in search of someone to help in the end, which is frustrating after a long drive.

But anyway, the rooms were lovely, good size, though not great lighting, so for anyone applying make up you need to wait from the bathroom steam to clear. We paid an additional sum for a Jacuzzi room, and the jets didn't work properly, we complained but this was not rectified.

Its a lovely location, and I would stay again but it was far from the 5* experience we had hoped for. I think quite a lot could be done with staff training too, not that they aren't friendly, but rather clueless and to be honest, not particularly helpful as a consequence. We also got locked in the spa one evening after going to relax, losing track of time and then finding no one around and no towels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay 2 weeks ago with my family. We stayed in an appartment 1207, two ensuite bedrooms upstairs and large lounge/dining room and kitchen downstairs. Great views over the Thames. Wonderful breakfast. Great location for a days shopping in London.

Room Tip: Our appartment was on the 12th floor, 1207 I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Hotel Rafayel is sleek, sophisticated and luxurious with expansive views on the River Thames and directly on the Thames River walkway. Located in the gentrifying Battersea Park neighborhood in south London, the hotel practices green technology including a central control system for AC/heat and lights via the TV and LED lighting. For a European hotel, the river view rooms are generous in size especially the well appointed state-of-the-art bathrooms including glass tiled showers. City-view rooms are even larger. Fast wi-fi connection is free. The hotel provides free shuttle service to nearby tube, national rail and overground stations – the closest rail/overground (Clapman Junction) is a mere 10 minute walk – making access to anywhere in metro London easy. The full service spa includes a gym for hotel guests. Its restaurant has an eclectic mix of European, Indian and Asian cuisine, superbly prepared and presented and provides a generous discount for guests as well as the same expansive river views. Always a fine feature, the Rafayel is priced significantly below comparable 5 star hotels within the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penandpalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing