We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London

“Chicken and Sides”
Review of Kuku Riku

Kuku Riku
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 2/28
8:00 PM
Ranked #3,355 of 26,737 Restaurants in London
Description: The centrepiece of our new rotisserie restaurant is our amazing Josper oven. The Josper concept is generally considered the best method of chargrilling and roasting throughout the world. Building this concept into a rotisserie oven takes the method to new heights of flavour! Through a combination of intense heat of up to 500˚ generated in the base of the oven, together with burning charcoal, our roasted chickens are given a unique flavour. Each and every day our chickens are basted and roasted in our unique marinade, then finished with garlic and lemon butter. This makes for an incredibly flavoursome and juicy eating experience.
Restaurant details
Description: The centrepiece of our new rotisserie restaurant is our amazing Josper oven. The Josper concept is generally considered the best method of chargrilling and roasting throughout the world. Building this concept into a rotisserie oven takes the method to new heights of flavour! Through a combination of intense heat of up to 500˚ generated in the base of the oven, together with burning charcoal, our roasted chickens are given a unique flavour. Each and every day our chickens are basted and roasted in our unique marinade, then finished with garlic and lemon butter. This makes for an incredibly flavoursome and juicy eating experience.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We were in the Camden market looking for a restaurant to sit down and eat. Came by this place which specialises in rotisserie chicken. Inside is actually quite spacious and it looks like they separate the place into bar and restaurant (presumably the slightly elevated section). We were seated in the bar area so we went up and ordered food and then had to pick up the food when it was ready. Think they people in the restaurant section had table service but I'm not sure.
The food was decently portioned and tasty. The charcoal roasted chicken was quite nice and was quite moist. It came with salad and chips. I really like fried foods so the onion rings and boneless chicken wings went down well. They did have a selection of sauces as well as cutlery and plates by the pick up counter. It was a nice place to sit and enjoy lunch.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Acineto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020

There are multiple things wrong with this place. I would not eat here again and I'd recommend others to avoid.

1. Food - the food is average at best. It is greasy and flavourless. The 1/4 buttermilk chicken was inedible and most of it we left. The chips were very average and undercooked from the freezer. Onion rings were quite good actually which was a surprise.

2. Service - slow service where you order up at the bar. Food takes a long time to come, we waited 30 minutes or so for a burger, chips and chicken. You collect your own food when it comes out. Despite all essentially self service there is a 12.5% service charge added when you pay up at the ordering counter/bar. If eating here I'd ask for this to be removed when you order as there is no service involved in your meal here.

3. Plastic cups - we had a soft drink from a can, they offered us a glass and ice to drink from. We were given a plastic cup with ice. Seemed a bit excessive considering they served alcoholic drinks in glassware.

Overall this place clearly relies on single time tourist custom and like all restaurants like this worldwide should be avoided. There's loads of other options close by to enjoy.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jb50065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Lovely place! Food and drinks amazing! The staff are so welcoming and friendly! Lovely chilled environment! Will definitely be returning!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank lily14102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

The slices of beef were melt in the mouth perfect. We went at lunchtime and it was order at the bar but that was fine. The staff are very good. Nice cocktails and just a lovely fun bar with properly special quality food.. Their special chicken was yummy too but the paper that went under the chicken wasn't needed and got in the way. And that ladies and gentlemen is the only thing that wasn't fantastic!!! Really enjoyed it. Thanks Kuko Riku.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr-Reliable-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

I just came for a drink but at the end I ordered food and didn't expect it to be that nice. 100% come back again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Tour577277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuku Riku also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Kuku Riku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing