We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“‘No Spettacolo!!!”
Review of Taverna Trastevere

Taverna Trastevere
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 9/24
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #5,431 of 28,485 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $75
Description: Taverna Trastevere brings to London the real taste of Trastevere, where home cooking is the way of living.
Restaurant details
Description: Taverna Trastevere brings to London the real taste of Trastevere, where home cooking is the way of living.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It was a lovely Sunday 18th of August. Me and my girlfriend went there for her birthday because I am from Rome and wanted to let her experience some of the amazing food that my hometown can offer.
Well, as a Roman native I was a bit skeptical since it is always a roulette when we talk about Italian food... Roman cuisine is even more specific.

Luigi and the other member of staff simply amazed us. Super nice people, joyful and available for any kind of requests (they even offered us some towels when we walked in the door since it was heavily raining and we were completely wet!!!)

Foodwise, we had a cacio e pepe to share ( ‘o so che nun se fa ) and then Abbacchio allo scottadito and Saltimbocca alla Romana (tocca dije all’owner che se chiameno SaRti ‘Mbocca, ma capisco la difficolta di pronuncia per gli inglesi quindi siete perdonati). Pointless to say that everything was amazing. Proper Roman Chef and proper Roman food!!!

We definitely gonna come back so wait for us cause we need to try if also the carbonara and the spaghetti co le vongole are properly made!
Stay tuned for further reviews on their food or, even better, try it yourself!

Thanks a lot guys! See you soon!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Kishar92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

Great little Italian with great pasta dishes and pizza to die for. Service is normally very good but can seem slow at the weekends when the place is packed. Always loads of Italians in here so must be a good sign

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Uknozking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

We had a wonderful evening with our family of eight. Friendly staff, pizzas beautifully thin crisp, my saltimbocca a la romana was delicious. Fantastic steaks and the pasta with lobster fabulous! A taste of Rome in London, this place is on our list of favourites.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MicaMelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

On first visit to this restaurant , the impression is very Italian , the buzz, the atmosphere is all very Rome .
I thoroughly enjoyed the grilled baby chicken , the potatoes , the whole thing , the service was attentive and the wine flowed and the rapport with the staff excellent.

Returned a couple of weeks later and it had faded a bit but still very good indeed.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulesSWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

This place has now become our regular, we’re so glad that we discovered this gem. Typical Roman dishes are spot on - cacio e Pepe & amatraciana are amazing. The pizza’s are perfect, thin, crispy and well cooked. You have to try the melanzane for starters and also highly recommend the octopus carpaccio. Great food, good service and all round great restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ZaraP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Trastevere also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Taverna Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing