We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Location, Miserable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Ranked #708 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and first up I have to say the location couldn't have been more convenient, the bit of breakfast each morning was quite nice, the place was clean and we had no issues with noise. That being said, there were three massive down sides to the place. First, if you have a large load of luggage as we did, the 20 or so stairs that went up a very narrow staircase were nearly impossible to manage and trying to turn the narrow hallway corners with a wheeled suitcase became a feat of logic and determination. Second, the staff seemed mildly disinterested in life in general and certainly to us as customers. Third, and most significantly the room was so shockingly small that there was literally no more than a foot on all three exposed sides of the bed to walk around. Had there been room under the bed to slide our luggage or a storage place where the luggage could have been kept it would have been better but as it was, one of us would have to climb on the bed to allow the other to pass by or to move around one of the suitcases that had no place to put them other than right in the center of the limited floor space. I read reviews on Trip Advisor to expect small rooms but no one mentioned small as to the point of absurd. One afternoon we had an especially large lunch and couldn't help but wonder if returning to our hotel room we would no longer be able to squeeze into it. All we could do was laugh at the situation...along with noting that we wouldn't be staying there again at any time in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 458 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel with great location on Kensington High Street, tube station is 2 minutes walk from a hotel. My stay was reasonably priced, staff was very friendly and hepfull, the breakfast was good. Yes, the room was little but nice, fresh and clean. Exactly what I need. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seraphinegm, Manager at Seraphine London Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us and we are looking forward to serve you again in future.

Thank you.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Overnight stay to see the Charlatans in Earls Court. Staff very friendly, courteous and polite. Room surprisingly well equipped, roomy and very nice. Bed comfortable, plenty of toiletries inc toothbrush & shaving kit (always a bonus!) and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast buffet was included in the hotel foyer and was delightful. Eat until you burst with a wide range of choices (no full English).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheepinWolfClothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

While this hotel is undoubtedly well located and fairly reasonably priced, I am not sure I would return due to a few issues experienced during my stay. Firstly the room, while clean, was minute in size, like a large cupboard. Secondly, I asked for a wake up call the next morning from the disinterested man at reception upon check in but it never arrived - luckily I woke up 15 minutes after the call should have arrived otherwise I would have missed my appointment. Thirdly, I asked for directions upon check out and was sent totally the wrong way! None of these things are major but overall, for the price I paid, I really expected better.

Room Tip: Are there good rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very well located hotel that isn't too expensive - right on Kensington High Street so great for central London. The room was a little on the small side - but well decorated and plenty of space for sleeping/luggage etc.. Bathroom nice - shower was hot and powerful, just what is needed.
Breakfast was good and included - if you want gluten free then let the hotel know when you book. You can also request a full English for a little extra if you let them know in advance.

Only reason I didn't give 5 stars - 2 really - 1) the room was a little grubby. Sheets and shower/toilet clean but some splashes on the mirror and smears round the sink. 2) the guy on reception was helpful, but on the phone throughout both my checkin and check-out process - not great customer service!! Having said that - he was smiley and keen to help with breakfast requests, bag carrying and free wifi.

All in all - I would recommend, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Seraphine is in a great location. The entrance is a narrow staircase which is difficult to access with a suitcase, Our first stay our room was comfy and had enough room. Breakfast was fine including gluten free. Our second stay the room was exceptionally small and difficult to find somewhere to put the suitcase but otherwise satisfactory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

and renovated is this hotel 150 m from U Kensington High Street at the south west corner of Hyde Park - therefor good for a touristy trip. The rooms are tiny ! I think, you can't fall off the bed - and the bathroom is really small as well - renovated in modern style which is nice. Breakfast is o.k. the english one cost 5,99 GBP extra which is a shame. On the positive side is the free WiFi and a PC in the Lobby. Lobby, Reception, Breakfast room Bar - all in one - The personal was friendly and helpful. Alltogether to pricey for a night (135 GBP) for a single (really single !) room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bockylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#447 of 1,077 in London
821 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#93 of 1,077 in London
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#630 of 1,077 in London
1,333 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#491 of 1,077 in London
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seraphine London Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seraphine London Kensington Gardens

Address: 9 Kensington High Street | Bourne End, London W8 5NP, England (Formerly Best Western Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#321 Business Hotel in London
#386 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $102 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seraphine London Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, intimate, chic hotel is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. The Seraphine, KENSINGTON GARDENS is conveniently located near the stylish High Street Kensington shops, Holland Park, major tourist attractions, tour buses and tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Seraphine London Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing