We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seraphine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Ranked #679 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seraphine”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here and had a family room for three. It was actually quite spacious as the extra bed was in an alcove, a little like a separate room.
Free wifi.
we were on first floor so no problem with stairs.
clean rooms and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We had room for 3 people, it had a separate area, not quite a bedroom, but a good separation when tr...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    179
    93
    38
    36
See reviews for
48
188
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while in London for concerts at the Albert Hall, it was only a ten minute walk to the Albert Hall which is why we picked this hotel but the rooms were tiny!! I think you would be lucky if there was a metre of free space around the beds, there was no room for your luggage and the bathroom was the same very little. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but I would not stay here again just due to the size of rooms.
Continental breakfast was included in the rate, the dining area was very cramped as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cduncan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Seraphine in London overnight. I booked this hotel because it was close to the Victoria theater at which we had tickets to Wicked that night. Its location in London is a bit out of the way but it is very convenient to Notting Hill and lots of shopping, as well as the theater district.
My first impression was the side street it was on. The signage was small but luckily my husband saw it and we got there fine. We opened the door and climbed the stairs. One long flight to the "lobby" and another long flight to our room, not a big deal as we had packed lightly. I think there was a lift somewhere but I didn't see it.
The room was small especially by US standards but it was very clean and we slept well even in a busy part of town. No view to talk about. The bathroom facility was small. I would compare it with a cruise ship. No room for two, unless one of you is standing in the very small shower. We aren't large people so it did not present any issues but if you are large in stature, it may feel too cramped to you.
Breakfast in the morning was probably the highlight. Great selection and yummy. The staff was very polite; especially the sweet housekeeper. Thank you. We enjoyed it with all the little quirks and we would definitely stay there again when we return to London.

Room Tip: If you need more space, the handicapped capable rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationJunky4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent location, clean rooms, helpful staff. What else you expect? Maybe only some more changes with the breakfast, but actually that's a problem only when you are staying longer than a weekend and with extra payment you can order some variations. And the elevator is maybe the slowest I have ever seen...

Room Tip: Have only used rooms on the Kensington Garden's side and they all are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sverige
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bokade en natt på Seraphine Kensington via Londontown. Priset var bra med tanke på den fina service hotellet erbjöd. Trevlig personal i receptionen, fina och renoverade rum (de ser ut som på bilderna!), bra frukost med bland annat gott kaffe och färsk frukt. Vi hade också turen att få ett rum som vätte in mot gården och inte mot gatan som var ganska trafikerad. Det var lätt att hitta dit och läget perfekt med närhet till tunnelbana, restauranger och lite shopping. Toppbetyg till Seraphine!

This hotel is perfect for a vacation in London. This clean and recently refurbished hotel is situated at a fine location with the tube, restaurants, Kensington Park and shopping nearby. The price for a double room was very affordable and included a nice breakfast with good coffee and fresh fruit among other things. The hotel staff was nice, helpful and we can only recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verab745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Unless you're quite wealthy, staying in London becomes a matter of compromise to fit your budget.
We chose to cut on space to keep a central location with great bus and good tube access and a clean facility.
Seraphine Kensington Gardens (SKG) overall met our expectations quite nicely in a very compact room. (about 1m around three sides of the bed is what you get).

In pouring over other SKG reviews, we knew we wanted a high floor room and not 102 because of the noise issues.
We made a request with follow-up a few days before arrival.
After flying all night from Canada, we arrived at the hotel quite early, but were quite tired from not getting my usual sleep on the plane. Planning on dropping luggage and doing an easy touring day 'til we drop, we check in.
"Sir, your room is ready". Great, we can drop the luggage & freshen up, but... it's room 102. Only one available for that night.
They will move us up following day. Rather than blow a fuse, I thought our sleepless flight & jetlag can probably beat any noisy neighbours and we accept that room for the night.
We crash exhausted at 9, but at 330 am I wake up to the noise of a pub at hotel across the street emptying out. Back asleep at a little after 5 AM. My wife did sleep through this racket.
Thus we concur with all others before that the pub noise across the road, and the pub next door is greater than Jetlag. Try to avoid this room even if you think you're a heavy sleeper with no ear plugs.

Next night we're up in room 405 facing the back of the building. The Silence is wonderful. Room is a few mm larger than previous room, very clean as well and well maintained.Also this bathroom is "slightly" bigger also. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.If you're on the fourth floor, make sure to utilize the elevator provided.It is for all even though it appears as if it's a handicap elevator. Quite likely as the elevator (installed 2009) is retrofitted into the building built many years earlier.

Breakfasts here had a good selection of cereals, juices, yogurts, pastries, hard boiled eggs, Nespresso machine and pkg's of Marmite for those who wish to try this British stuff on their toast (keep the layer very very thin).

Water pressure from the showers in nothing short of incredible. (I've never said that about a hotel before!)

If/When we return to London we will definitely stay here again. Cleanliness and speed you can get to places with about 6 bus routes running just across the street and the tube about 3 blocks west makes it a great home base.

If it wasn't for the initial issue of reservations, I'd have given 5 roundels instead of 4.

Other tips:

Getting to SKG skip the expensive fast trains from Heathrow, as you will still need to drag your bags to the regular tube/bus to get to your destination.
On your way to the tube at Heathrow, buy your Oyster card at the entrance to the tube station (don't pre-order by mail) within the air terminal. To get there without dragging your bags up and down multiple stairs to get different tube lines follow these directions and you only have one set of steps to contend with. Get on Picadilly (blue line) Line at Heathrow, when you arrive at Hammersmith Station, exit train and walk across the island platform and get on first district line (green line) train. Exit train at Earls Court station. Wait at the same spot until you see a District(green) or Circle(yellow) line pulling in that says either High St Kensington, or Edgware Rd. Ride up one stop and you're at Kensington High Street Station. Exit and walk up the 31 steps and you're at street level.Travel time is 45-50 minutes.
Upon exiting the pass gates/turnstyles if you're hungry from your flight, to your immediate left is popular Soup/Sandwich shop and a Coffee shop.
As you walk through the station/retail area toward street, on the Right side just before you reach the street is a cellular store where you can pick up a SIM for your phone if it's unlocked. At time of writing it was best deal in UK with unlimited data for 30 days for 15 pounds.(making data based voice/video easy to keep in touch with family/friends).
Turn Right and walk for about 3-4 minutes until you see the Spaghetti House sign and you're at your almost hidden entrance way. IF you need luggage assistance, press the button as you walk in door so staff can carry bags up first flight to elevator level for you.Enjoy your stay.

If you need a quick bite to eat right by hotel, on one side is Giraffe for breakfast or lunch (skip supper at this place). Other side is Spaghetti House for lunch or supper (our fav was Salmon Pasta dish). Walking towards tube station Fouberts has good deserts, pass on all other food items there. Best two restaurants we tried in the area was walking a block towards tube station, there's a little cobblestone alley way you walk down to the left. On One side is Cote, and other side is Prezzo. Both are very good with Cote winning by a nose.

An unlocked smart phone is Golden allowing London Transport and other map apps to get your around and TopTable to help you save time and $ & book dinner reservations at good prices. If your phone isn't unlocked, you can still utilize wifi in London however I'd suggest a VPN connection to protect your privacy from hackers.

Take advantage of London 2-for-1 offers, make sure you have a correct paper Travelcard you need to benefit.
We used the Oyster card to go in/out of Heathrow and TravelCard for all travel in zones 1&2 on tube/bus. We purchased our TravelCard at Victoria station where there is a big Rail Ticket office with lots of real people to help. A little internet searching will make it easier for you to build your own London Toolkit. When you arrive at Heathrow for your departure, you can return your Oyster card for full credit of what you've not used.

Room Tip: High floor, Most quiet at back, but better views towards street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OccasionalTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for its location as we like this area, the room was a good size, we've stayed in alot smaller rooms and in a more expensive hotel in Kensington.. Bed was comfy and very clean.. We are 37-38 and was there for the hyde park Event and a show.. Its perfect for people who are there for a weekend break, the decor is very modern, unfortunately I couldn't take the curtains, lamp shades or lighting as souvenirs as they wouldn't fit in my hand luggage haha. The bathroom was very clean with a great shower.. Your only sleeping and washing there so you will definately get a clean comfy bed to sleep on here.. The entrance to the hotel is hidden a little, and be warned there are steep steps up, not a problem for us but could be for some people.. We will definately be stopping here again on our next London trip..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mand-keef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#731 of 1,069 in London
92 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#94 of 1,069 in London
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,069 in London
985 reviews
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#299 of 1,069 in London
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seraphine London Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seraphine London Kensington Gardens

Property: Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Address: 9 Kensington High Street | Bourne End, London W8 5NP, England (Formerly Best Western Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#322 Business Hotel in London
#376 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seraphine London Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, intimate, chic hotel is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. The Seraphine, KENSINGTON GARDENS is conveniently located near the stylish High Street Kensington shops, Holland Park, major tourist attractions, tour buses and tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seraphine London Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing