We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lavender Guest House
Ranked #36 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location was very convenient to all modes of public transportation, shopping and all manner of restaurants. Our rooms were spacious, exceptionally clean with comfortable beds. They were welcoming and helpful and provided an excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Lavender Guest House - We had booked three rooms for the six of us (all adults) for five nights. The location was very convenient to all modes of public transportation, shopping and all manner of restaurants. Our rooms were spacious, exceptionally clean with comfortable beds. We possibly had the best poached eggs ever - than you Beatrice. We certainly made use of the kitchen and garden area. Tony, John and his wife Alice were charming, helpful and very informative and great fun to talk to - their hospitalilty is outstanding. On our next trip to London we would not stay anywhere else but The Lavender Guest House and highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to London. Thank you for a wonderful stay,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The most considerate Manager and staff went out of their way to accomodate me at very short notice. They were welcoming and helpful and provided an excellent service. The guest house is exceptionally clean and tidy in all respects. It is situated on a quiet and respectable street but has very close access to very good shops, cafes and public transport. You can travel widely from the nearby overground train. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you are looking for a nice place to stay, very clean and cosy then go for it!

I usually stay in 4/5 stars hotels, but this time I wanted to try something different so, after having read a couple of positive comments here on Tripadvisor, I booked a room, possibly, in the best guest house you'll ever find in London!

The place is run by a greek family (John, Alice and their son Tony) who'll make you feel at home straight away:) Those people are amazing...and me and my mum miss them already!

The rooms are spotless, spacious and very cosy.
Breakfast and Wi-Fi internet connection are included, plus there is a beautiful backgarden where you can cook your food and relax!

As I said, you won't need anything else:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Easy to reach, being just a five-minute walk from London's busiest railway station, bus stops and the Underground, there is only one place my wife and I shall be staying from now on.

Breakfast is filling, the coffee livening, the toast comes whenever you need.

The room was very tidy, the bed comfortable, and the washing facilities always properly cleaned. The toilet in our room was situated in a very surprising place! I won't spoil the surprise by telling you... If there is one criticism, it would be the separate hot and cold taps.

Apart from that, there is nothing more to say except anyone wishing to be looked after by someone born to be a hotel owner, who takes great pride in making his guests feel at ease, here is where you should come.

Room Tip: Take room 1 and discover the Tardis in the left corner! [Say no more ;-) ]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and I felt like I was at home. With a little kitchen for commom use in the garden, I could take some meals very comfortable, and breakfast was very good too. The owners were very nice, always ready for a chat.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRUIVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Lavender Guest House is always welcoming - arrived late in evening to find Mr Houss waiting for us. Our room, shower rooms etc all sparkling and great service from the staff - we had friends visit from Southampton and Mr Houss was able to provide a day parking permit for them - so much appreciated. Breakfast awaits each day and all questions answered too! We will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
Clapham Guest House
Clapham Guest House
#143 of 572 in London
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Alma Hotel
The Alma Hotel
#26 of 572 in London
338 reviews
The Lilac Door
#11 of 572 in London
200 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 572 in London
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Guest House

Address: 18 Lavender Sweep | Battersea, London SW11 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $73 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lavender Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on having a very clean and comfortable accommodation. As a family-run business, we have a reputation for our hospitality, which has brought back the same guest year after year. We are in the heart of Clapham Junction (Battersea),Central London is only a 10 minute train ride away, making us the ideal choice for your stay.We are recommended by the English Tourism Council and have been awarded with three stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lavender Guest House Hotel London
The Lavender Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing