We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, I will be staying here next time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lavender Guest House
Ranked #29 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place, I will be staying here next time”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Location excellent for travel into central London, while still out of the rush. Accomodation very clean and comfortable at a great price. The host John was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast choice was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrissy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    59
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
76
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for a family vacation. It was wonderful - clean, convenient location, and a wonderful staff. A great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We arrived at the Lavender Guest House and were greeted by the very friendly and engaging manager John. We stayed in Room 8 which is on the top floor and had it's own ensuite shower and toilet. The room and facilities were very clean and serviceable and the staff were all lovely and very helpful. The location was ideal; a short walk from Clapham Junction for easy access tomakes The Lavender Guest House a perfect place to stay. We have already booked to stay again in a few weeks. This place is a gem and is excellent value for money, so make sure that you book well in advance.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared bathrooms, some have toilets but shared showers/baths and some have ensuite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birkett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this home for five nights. This guest house has average size rooms for the price however facilities are clean, breakfast choices excellent, and host John Houss and wife are friendly and attentive. This guest house also has a separate glassed-in porch area with garden view which contains a refrigerator, etc. This is available for relaxation or eating food brought in. The location, within 5-10 minutes walk of Clapham Junction Rail Station, is very convenient. We would definitely stay here again if travelling to London.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogoyago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Lavender B&B is within the two zone transport area. Buses are at end of street and rail station 5 minute walk. We purchased a 7 day unlimited travel pass before leaving Sydney and this worked out very well as we initially stayed for 7 nights. The B&B is clean and the breakfast sets you up for the day. Wi-fi is available but not in every room but work is on the way to resolve this. Staff very obliging and allowed us a one night reservation on our return to London enroute to Brussels. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Lowered number rooms if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurobears2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The owner is very welcoming, the rooms comfortable, clean and airy. There is communal use of a conservetory with microwave, fridge etc as well as a well kept garden and summer house. Double room with breakfast for £70 when visiting London, come on, you'd be daft not to stay here - £6.20 pp will purchase you unlimited rail/tube travel for the day, so don't worry about travel costs when weighing value accomodation against very expensive city centre hotels.

The Common is only at the end of the street, for those evening strolls.

Within minutes, you will be at Clapham Junction and its easy access back to to Victoria Station, trains literally every five minutes.

If arriving into Kings Cross, take the Victoria Tube to Victoria, then the British Rail line to Clapham Junction. A journey of 20-30 minutes total. Don't be tempted to take the Northern Line to Clapham Common or Clapham High street, as this will involve quite a walk across the Common or a taxi.

When in London next, we will return to The Lavender Guest House

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very welcoming and a very pleasant stay. My room had a lovely en-suite and the service was excellent from both the owner and his team. I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#592 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#671 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#90 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Clapham / Battersea 
Clapham Guest House
Clapham Guest House
#145 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
PubLove at The Crown
PubLove at The Crown
#174 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Guest House

Property: The Lavender Guest House
Address: 18 Lavender Sweep | Battersea, London SW11 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lavender Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on having a very clean and comfortable accommodation. As a family-run business, we have a reputation for our hospitality, which has brought back the same guest year after year. We are in the heart of Clapham Junction (Battersea),Central London is only a 10 minute train ride away, making us the ideal choice for your stay.We are recommended by the English Tourism Council and have been awarded with three stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lavender Guest House Hotel London
The Lavender Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing