We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love this hotel for its friendly, convenient, affordable luxury!”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I just love this hotel for its friendly, convenient, affordable luxury!”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is my second stay at The Town Hall Hotel and it most certainly won't be the last.
Everything about it is wonderful, from the friendly welcoming staff to the beautiful, spacious well equipped rooms. We stayed in an executive studio this time and it was fabulous. I have stayed in many hotels in London and this has to be my favourite. The bathroom had a huge tub and lovely complimentary toiletries, robes and decent sized towels. The coffee machine was super with real milk in the fridge rather than those horrible little UHT pods one usually gets.
My only gripe was that I emailed a day before to book a table at the restaurant but did not get a response and on arrival found it was fully booked. I understand that the restaurant is very popular so i suspect the chances of reserving a table a day before were slim but never-the-less a response would have been nice. Next time i shall book the restaurant well in advance.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a luxurious, friendly hotel close to the city centre. Its just a short walk from Bethnal Green underground. Car parking wasn't a problem as i found a website which advertises safe car parking spaces at peoples houses so I parked just a 2 minute walk from the hotel at less than £10 for the day! Affordable, convenient luxury - bliss!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple-amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It is superb to hear that you have stayed with us twice and enjoyed your stay both times; we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon and would be happy to assist in making the arrangements directly. I am sorry to hear that you didn't receive a response to your email about booking in Viajante and will highlight this to the Viajante team; please note that the direct email of our restaurant is via-reservations@townhallhotel.com or telephone number 020 7871 0461. Should we be able to assist in any other way, please let us know. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    252
    82
    33
    35
See reviews for
300
518
81
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We loved this hotel. We are lucky in that we knew the location well so knew where to go. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic - all of them. We've stayed in top hotels all over the world but it was a lovely break. We'd been due to fly to NY for Christmas but the snow cancelled that and it was therefore a last minute booking - my husband and I and 3 of my girls (14,16,19). It is so stylish but still retains the charm and grandeur and the apartment/hotels worked brilliantly. The only slight thing to let it down was the breakfast - the food was superb but it was help yourself, and at £20 a head too expensive to be deemed worth it. However, we understand this may be changed after Christmas so perhaps worth a try. Unfortunately the restaurant was booked/closed during our stay (which we extended it was so good) but we will definitely go back. If the cocktails were anything to go by, the food will be wonderful. Swimming pool, toiletries, and relatively close proximity to Shoreditch, Hoxton, Brick Lane, etc makes it an ideal place to explore the trendy parts of East London without being somewhere you'll be disturbed by late night noise. Fabulous and well done, and just for any sceptics - we have nothing to do with the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerensarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following on from your recent stay with us. It was great to hear the positive title and comments in your review; these will all be shared with the team here. I noticed your comments also about breakfast and wanted to let you know that both breakfast has now moved to a new room and that your feedback on the offering has been highlighted to our General Manager and Food & Beverage Manager. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Town Hall soon and if you require any assistance in arranging a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Arrrived New Years Eve to the gorgeous building and received a very warm welcome. They explained about the hotel facilities and how to get to them. We wandered to our room and were blown away by the facilities and layout of the wonderful room. We had booked via Last Minute.com and paid £160 for a £300+ room. It had full kitchen, utensils, complemenary bottled water, milk, stunning coffee machine and everything we might have wanted. The bathroom was huge, totally clean and beautiful. The Bedroom was raised from the main floor, accessible by stairs. Great bed, TV and lots of storage space. An Ipod dock and alarm clock too. In the main room was a large flat screen TV, sofa, writing desk, more storage, iron, tables and various brochures filled with useful information.

We unpacked, put the champagne in the fridge and went for a swim in the hotel pool. The gym was next to the pool, totally state of the art equipment and plenty off it. The pool was lovely, if a little cold for my wifes tastes, but I am not a fan of overly warm pools, so I was happy.

Later we hit the cocktail bar and enjoyed a couple (well, 6) of great bespoke cocktails. The bar was too dark and the music too loud, but some people like that, so I would not count it as a negative. We didn't eat there, as we had plans, but the restaurant looked very smart.

We had a great nights sleep, the room was lovely and warm, but had temp controls, so we could have changed it easily enough if required. We checked out quite early due to plans, which took a second and the staff were charming through out.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Try and get a deal online, because it is new, some deals are there to be had. It was a stunning deal for the money and I would have loved to stay another night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest, Just a quick line to say a big thank you for sharing your feedback with us via Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and all of your comments will be shared with the team at Town Hall. If we can assist you in making a repeat booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to assist. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We came for a two night stay in november 2010 during the tube strikes! We were very pleased with the room in which we stayed ( executive 1 bedroom apartment) and found the room lacked nothing! The restaurant was divine and nuno mendes(the Chef) was simply brilliant!
We can only fault two things and they are the shower curtain should be controlled in the bathroom not bedroom and that the tv in the bedroom could have been bigger (32 inches maybe)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwetherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to read a review starting with "Simply the best..."! I have shared your feedback and suggestions with the team at Town Hall and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Should you wish to request a different style of bathroom, please do let us know at the time of booking and we will be happy to assist.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Booked this hotel via Hotwire.com and have returned four times since. This is a very nice hotel and would recommend it for everyone. Since I travel alone I was very pleased to find the rooms with kitchen, washer, and many nice amenities. I could accually invite friends for dinner at my room !

The fitness center was very nice. I loved the free Wifi internet - in other hotels you are charged lots of mony for this service and. Only downside was the duvet on the bed was a little to warm to my taste. But others might like it warm.

I will return to this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It's superb to hear that we're your favourite hotel in London and look forward tow elcoming yu back in the near future. If you would like us to arrange a lighter duvet for your next visit, please let us know directly and we will be happy to make the arangements. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed here for a romantic weekend and were rather impressed. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The one bedroom flat was roomy and well-designed.
Bathroom very good even if not allowing for great privacy. L'Occitane amenities.

Breakfast messy and we didn't manage to get a table.

Staff seemed confused at times, maybe because the hotel opened recently (6 months ago apparently)

There is something missing in the hotel decor, since it feels a bit empty, having been a town hall building the corridors and stairways feel cold.

Bar was nice - and the free house cocktail very nice. We did not try the restaurant.

Overall, however, we will be coming to this hotel some time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share feedback with us following on from your stay with us at Town Hall. It is great to hear that you found us a great surprise and will be planning a return visit soon. Should you need any help in arranging this, pleae do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to assist. I noticed that you mentioned about our breakfast service and wanted to advise you that this is actually being relocated from it's current location to a larger room from early in 2011 - hopefully therefore you will see the an enhancement to this within you rnext visit. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed her for two nights on business trip. One station away from Liverpool Station and meetings in City. A bit odd location, but ok. Just 5 min walk to tube station. Got a small appartment for the price of a small room downtown. Very nice breakfeast. I was attracted by the gym and swimming pool. Quite adequate for morning laps. Nobody using it while I was there. Absolutely good value for money. And the two guys in the bar are tremendous. Ask them for advice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgm_oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and have to admit that I also think the bar staff are great!! We hope to welcome you back to Town Hall soon, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you have any queries. Mnay thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#353 of 1,069 in London
1,024 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#132 of 1,069 in London
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#38 of 1,069 in London
1,011 reviews
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#107 of 1,069 in London
4,618 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#147 of 1,069 in London
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#137 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing