We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #145 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Spent 3 nights in June. We were in room 222. Superb accomodation with separate lounge area. Great historic building that has been fully modernised. Comfortable bed, large bathroom, fridge/microwave/coffee maker etc.
Service was first class and very professional
The Hotel bar is fantastic. They make their own Gins. Rums and other spirits.
Did not eat there, but menu looked very good.
OK it is a little out of the way, but worth the trek.
I would have no hesitation to return

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest, it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us. We are mostly glad that you enjoyed the refurbishment of our building and the you found the appliances that come within our suites useful to give that extra comfort. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our newly refurbished bar Peg & Patriot, with its unique in-house made gin and rum. I look forward to seeing back at the hotel and hope there will be a chance for you to try our restaurants. Many thanks and kind regards Sandro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    237
    76
    31
    33
See reviews for
292
496
77
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent five nights at the hotel in late May. It is an old converted government building but the transformation is amazing in detail and quality. Great public spaces and giant suites by London standards. As with designer hotels function is sometimes pushed aside by esthetics as is evident in the bathrooms of the suite but the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Having a kitchen is great as is the washer dryer. Beds are comfortable and linens nice as are bathroom products. The lobby bar is nice with good service with friendly bartenders but the science experiment bar tending they are practicing is a bit dated as sometimes you just want a stiff drink. Staff everywhere were great and helpful at all times. Only drawback is its location. Although close to the subway it is still a bit of a trek to thee center of London and this May be a drawback to some. Neighborhood has some great places the Well and Bucket and Satan's Whiskers across the street come to mind for good food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigGNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Direictor of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest, l am glad to hear that you were intrigued and you appreciated the historic features, design and the attributes that come with the building. I am pleased to hear that our staff provided good service, as usual. As for our location, it is true it is not the West End, where the general tourists track is, but we do believe that London has much more to offer and we are proud of being the pioneering in doing this. I must add that many of our guests are equally happy to be in an area that is changing fast, but it still has lot of trendy places to go and see. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice decor,great job to convert an old building into nice modern rooms.spent a lot of time in the pool with my boy when my husband is having seminar in the East London area.close to tube station,but still need about half an hour to the centre.nice option if you are simply relax yourself not doing a lot of sightseeing. We will come back for some quite season again.love the sweet turndown service n delicious room service too

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and made good use of our swimming pool and that you like the refurbishement of the hotel. It is great to know that you will be soon coming back for another relaxing stay with us. Many thanks kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the Town Hall hotel for 2 nights in May. The hotel is beautiful with fantastic design furniture and a great restaurant.
Our room was stylish and we had a fantastic stay.
Best of everything was the service which is the best we have received in any hotel so far.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest, it a great pleasure to know that you liked the hotel and its style and that you though we have great restaurants. Thank you also for the nice compliment on the service received and I am glad to know that all teams gave their best to provide the excellent service you deserved. I look forward to welcome you back at the hotel soon and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require my assistance. Many thanks an kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent 18 days at Town Hall one week ago .The hotel and the staff are excellent . Its location is and advantage to be in a middle point between the East End and the West end . It is two blocks from Bethnalgreen station and the next station is Liverpool street , so you are in the center of the best part of London

Room Tip: The suites rooms are very confortable and very well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review note left on our TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you like the hotel and that you though our staff provided you with an excellent service. It is great to read that you found the hotel conveniently located and it is nice to know that you found our suites to be comfortable with appliances and amenities of highest standard. It has been our honour to have you staying with for over two weeks and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon to stay with us. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I don't like writing a comment on trip advisor because the town hall is my favorite place and I don't like sharing it but they are so nice that I have to tell it. I always have a nice and big room there and for a great price compare to the rest of London. The staff is great but I have to say Ignacio is the best and makes the Town Hall like I am at home. Having some gréât staff is the best an hotel can have and they are lucky to have him. Great location next to some of London's best restaurant and best spots but I will keep them for me ad they are not to be shared... I feel like Town Hall is almost my home now and hope it will stay like that for quite a long time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeleconiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operation at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest, I understand why you do not really wish to talk about the hotel and I do respect you wish. Allow me to inform you that Ignacio has been congratulated for all his service to make you feel at home. I hope to see you soon at the hotel. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was very nice & had great amenities but the location was horrible. If you are adventurous & willing to navigate the Underground then this hotel could work for you. It is very far from all the major landmarks the only consolation is that the hotel is near a subway underground.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and it is great to know that you like the hotel. It is a petty that you did not enjoy the area but I understand that it may not be for everyone. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#113 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#325 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing