We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel in the East End”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in the East End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Town Hall Hotel is quite something. Maybe I got lucky and got the best room in the place but it is well worth going a little out of the way to find. I'd happily stay there for a month.

First off, an amazing job has been done converting the old town hall and restoring it as a hotel, keeping some architectural features but using modern design to make it interesting. The rooms are fantastic, mine had a kitchen and living room, tastefully furnished.

It feels private and quiet, yet it's in a busy part of London. The location is off the beaten track in Bethnal Green but it's close to the tube and overground rail so easy to get to and from.

I can't think of a single thing that could have improved this hotel, it's well run and an antidote to bland anonymous hotels everywhere. Even the room service continental breakfast was a cut above most other hotels.

Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morebalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to begin this reply with a thank you for your nice words left on Tripadvisor. You really got the essence of the Town Hall Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our wonderful building and appreciated the restoration made and that you loved, as we do, the neighborhood . I am also glad to read your final words, rest assured that we will keep on raising the bar to give you many more wonderful stays.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    242
    79
    32
    33
See reviews for
295
501
80
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a very very good experience stayed at your hotel!! It the first time I and my husband came to London for our honeymoon. We also got very sweet upgrade for staying 5 nights. That's fantastic!! All staffs are very nice and helpful. Thank you Town hall hotel. We had a good time there. It's very good location,easy to get there from undergound station for 5 minutes walking, nice breadfast.

Room Tip: Even on ground room, still quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review written on Tripadvisor. I am really pleased to read that we made your honeymoon even more special and your experience was, like you said, "fantastic". It is nice to read about your satisfaction since we try really hard to make everyone feel welcomed and taken care of. We love what we do and comments like yours highlight exactly this. Rest assured we will keep up with our job to make every of your visit special and memorable.
I cannot wait to welcome you back!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A good stay at a hotel with style and class. Large apartment that satisfy what I expect with regards to cleanliness, amneties and comfort. Their Wifi network is unstable and should be replaced. Breakfast has a lot of character too, but too slow service is a big minus given the stiff price. Minus for not having twin bed available, and for offering us to put in a extra bed for 75£ or something in that region. Other hotels would do that as an extra service for free. Good stay, could be better, and could add an extra element of surprise to reach 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgjedrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words left on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to read that we have not fallen short your expectations in regards to room spaciousness , cleanness and amenities. I could not help anyway to notice a slight disappointment in regards to the wi-fi and the extra bed. I have taken on board your insightful notes and spoke with the relevant heads of departments involved. Rest assured that you will see improvement in these areas next time you will visit us.
I would be very glad to assist you to plan it and to welcome you again shortly.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just beautiful. Nice, clean and modern rooms. Glass wall separating bathroom and bedroom. Lovely little touches to make you feel at home....especially liked the home made macarons and the rubber duck in the bathroom :) Tube not far away so great connections into the city.Great looking pool but did not stay long as a little on the cold side. Quiet and comfy beds so you get a great night sleep too. Staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cereza1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest, what a nice words left on Tripadvisor! Thank you for that. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the room with its design and the little touches we provide for our beloved guests. I am also happy to read that you found our location very convenient and that our staff did not fall short your expectations. I am particularly pleased to see your final words..I take you on these and wait for you next visit.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stay here! Very reasonably priced for London, 4 of us shared an apartment for £50 each for a night. Amazing apartment, HUGE, artsy and clean. Close to the tube. The best thing about this place is the staff, they can't do enough for you and it's done with such genuine kindness. I was bowled over by them.
Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your nice review left on Tripadvisor.
It is always nice to read about a nice experience had at the Town Hall Hotel and it is also nice to note that once again our staff, the company signature, went the extra mile to assure you a wonderful stay.
We hope to see you soon at your "fantastic hotel"!
Many Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful apartments furnished with design classics.
Super comfy beds. Very open plan bathrooms (glass wall between loo/shower and bed!)
Lovely pool though a bit on the cool side.
Overall a great place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank your for your nice review left on Tripadvisor. I like to hear about the guests' satisfaction and to read comments on point such as yours. I enjoyed your journalist cut which, by the use of well chosen words, gives us the full essence of your stay: a very nice one!
I am taking you on your last words and wait for your next visit.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thank goodness some far sighted hotelier decided to convert the disused Bethnal Green Town Hall into a hotel and a good one at that. The location might not strike everyone as ideal but we found no difficulty getting around. The Central Line tube, just down the road, takes you directly into the centre of London and Bethnal Green itself is a lively, cosmopolitan area full of interest. The hotel conversion has, on the whole, been done well, retaining the buildings best features while adding all that you would expect from an hotel of this standard. We had a couple of minor gripes - for some reason the wall between the bathroom and the bedroom is made of clear glass! Although there is a curtain which can be pulled across, at night anyone going to loo floods the bedroom with light thus disturbing the person still asleep. There is a fridge and tea making facilities in the room but they appear to have just been dumped in a corner and completely spoil the otherwise well designed room. The hotel also has two much lauded restaurants, the least expensive and most accessible is the Corner Room (where you also have breakfast). There was no menu displayed outside so the food came as a bit of a shock - we didn't recognise much of the food described and had to ask a waiter for translations. When it arrive it was in very small portions and my wife had to eat her way through a bowl of flowers before finding anything really edible underneath. Come on, there is a difference between stylish and pretentious!
The staff, however, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for you very nice review left on Tripadvisor. It is very nice to read about a nice stay spent here with us and it is also very nice to read about how much you liked the whole building with is complex conversion and with its strong character. I enjoyed to read your thorough description of the room which conveyed the idea of a sum of little discoveries who enhanced your experience here at the Town Hall Hotel. I could not help to notice your slight disappointment about the food, I am sorry to hear that. We followed up your comment with the relevant department and the menu was revised. Rest assured we will take seriously all the notes left by our guests!
We cannot wait to have you back for another nice experience.
Many Thanks and kind regards
Sandro Desole
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#112 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The RE London Shoreditch
#549 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing