We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #174 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the lower ground apartment this weekend. Brilliant service, great location and can't wait to go back again!

Loved the hand made macaroons - they were a great surprise in the evening!

Definetely recommend having a cocktail in the bar too!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCancer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest, How good it is to read nice reviews like to one you left on Tripadvisor. Thank you for that. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to coming back. I am also glad to read your thoughtful feedback about the lower ground room. Those are the most spacious and quite rooms in the hotel! We cannot wait to have you back as well to your “home away from home”. Many Thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
There are newer reviews for Town Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Ok, the locator is off the main track but this is the best hotel in London. Amazing rooms and good gym and pool in the basement. Real quality all round, you will not want to stay in another place in London after this. Close to tube and close to Victoria park for runs and near canal for riding.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokeynorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review left on Tripadvisor. It is nice to read that you have found your “home away from home” in London and I am glad to read that all what the Hotel offers added to your stay and made it enjoyable. Looking forward to welcome you back at the THH in the near future. Many Thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It is great to see this 1930s building being put to such good use. On the lower floor reception/ bar and public spaces they have kept the art deco feel, but the corridors, bedrooms and apartments just ooze class, with a stylish mix of ultra modern and art deco. Breakfast can be a bit chaotic, with a shortage of chairs at busy times, and one morning they actually ran out of most of the food! However, all the plus points well outweigh this shortcoming. The staff are some of the friendliest I have come across anywhere in the world. From the cleaners to management they were very helpful and attentive, and always smiling. The hotel is 5 mins walk to Bethnal Green tube station. 20 mins walk to Victoria Park and 20 mins walk to Broadway market. Convenient for stansted airport as National Express coach runs to the tube station, or approx £45 in a taxi. Our apartment had a fully equipped kitchen, coffee machine, fridge with milk and bottled water. Roomy, modern bathroom with a glass wall looking into the bedroom. (pull curtain available). A Great place to stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words left on Tripadvisor. It is nice to read that you appreciated our refurbishment work, the building character and the rooms. I am glad to see that you appreciated our customer care and our willingness to make your stay a nice experience and the hotel a place where to long to come back. I am pleased to read about the practical advices you gave which can be used to plan a stay by other guests. As per the breakfast, you stayed in one of the busiest days of the summer and that is why it was so chaotic. Please accept my apologies if this somehow affected your full experience. Rest assure we are looking into the matter very carefully in order to make your next stay even better if possible. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel itself is a wonderful example of design -- reinventing the former Bethnal Green town hall into a sleek, modern hotel; while maintaining distinct features of the original building. Compared to the tiny closet available for a room in most West End hotels, the Town Hall rooms are quite spacious. We had booked an executive suite and did not realize that it included a kitchenette and washer-dryer. This would be ideal for a family who wanted to stay a bit longer and spend time dining in room. We preferred to explore the vibrant, diverse neighborhoods around the hotel (outdoor cafe society around Victoria Park, shopping on Brick Lane, galleries around Whitechapel) and had a truly memorable lunch at Viajante. Michelin stars completely earned. The staff was helpful, professional and truly concerned with ensuring we had a pleasant stay. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If traveling as a family or a business traveler who needs to hold a meeting, go for a fully-equipped...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest, I was really glad to read your feedback on TripAdvisor, thank you for your kind words of encouragement. It is a daily challenge to give the very best to our lovely guests, to make their stay memorable and in the same time to make sure that our high standards are met and respected. This involves a lot of passion, training and care for the details. With your words you summarized all these points in a nice formula: “ A treat from the beginning to the end”. I am delighted to read that our staff went the extra mile and helped you to discover this area so dear to our heart, that the room exceeded your expectations and that the building remains one of the most loved features of the Town Hall Hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you soon and pamper you again and again! Many Thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed there for a week on business and I have to say, that this place is amazing. The prize is ok for London standards and the location in Bethnal Green is good, if you need to go to the city center. East End, the coolest city quarter on earth is just 20 min walk away.

The apartment was hugh, clean and had great wifi. I especially liked the bed and the free standing bathtub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELALOT1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your very nice review, very descriptive, left on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that not only families, tourist, travellers but also business people find our hotel very enjoyable. We really want all our guests to feel at home, it does not matter if the stay is for leisure of business. Rest assure we will keep up with our standards and will deliver a unique service you experienced every time you will return. Many Thanks and kind regards Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had booked a 2 bed apartment, in order to attend a Birthday party, originally,but the date was changed and there were none left for our new date. We were offered a double room with breakfast instead, which was very welcome as it states clearly that bookings can't be changed.
Everything about this hotel was superb. ALL staff were friendly,courteous and helpful, at all times.
The room was fantastic (104) and so clean it shone. The shower was strong and hot, the bed very comfortable and large, toiletries first rate and the television, with multiple channels, big enough to view from anywhere in the room.
We had a walk in Victoria Park and visited the V&A Museum of Childhood which are 5mins away.
Following a late night we were delighted to have until 10:30 to eat breakfast and it was excellent. A huge buffet was available and hot dishes £4 extra - worth every penny in my book!
You really wouldn't expect this kind of experience outside the city, so try it, you won't be disappointed I promise.
Didn't have time for the pool sadly, but can only imagine it would be as brilliant as the rest of this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Room 104 - fabulous!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiley2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest, What a pleasure to read your kind words left on TripAdvisor, thank you for that. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was “superb”. I am particularly happy to read that you enjoyed one of our featured room, 104, with its particular design, fireplace and cosy bed. I am pleased to hear that you were guided around to discover the neighbourhood by our Front of the House team and you enjoyed it to the full. It is good also to read about how much you liked our breakfast, so carefully and lovingly prepared for our dear guests. We cannot wait to have you back, to your “gem in Bethnal Green”. Many Thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was smaller than expected but was perfect size for one night. Staff were really friendly and helpful.
Macaroons for turndown service was a really nice touch and good toiletries,
My only complaint was the coffee maker took a lot of effort for a substandard brew.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grindyrodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful words left on TripAdvisor. I is always nice to know that you had a good experience at Town Hall Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had some trouble in operating the coffee machine. Our 24 hrs guest relation at reception would have been more than happy to assist you in showing how to operate it. I am glad though that despite this you enjoyed your stay here with us. I look forward to welcome you back at the THH in the near future and shouId you require any further assistance from us please feel free to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#368 of 1,072 in London
1,041 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#144 of 1,072 in London
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#251 of 1,072 in London
1,550 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,072 in London
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $196 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing