We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a boutique hotel”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #177 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Definitely not a boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A beautiful and well kept building, but way off center,in an area that has nothing to offer.

The hotel is too big to be called a boutique hotel. The design is inconsistent at best, with stuffed animals, old dentist chairs and some other bizarre decoration choices, which have nothing in common.

The one bedroom apartment was very spacious, although we've encountered some major maintenance issues and technical failures.

The staff is generally friendly, especially at the concierge post, but the front desk clerks and Viajante bartenders are definitely not.

The non-inclusive breakfast is less than minimal, with not even a whole-wheat bread or a low-fat yogurt. For the price they charge for it, I'd definitely expected more.

To sum it all up - not a "Design Hotel" and not a boutique one. At best, an adequate place to stay at, if you need to be in that area, although The nearby Boundary should offer a more pleasant atmosphere.

A late addition: the sleep quality rating is low mostly due to the peculiar glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom, resulting in a well-lit bedroom whenever someone attends the bathroom/toilet in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: if you decide to stay there after all, at least go for a spacious apartment (at least 30 sqm), this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest
I regret to hear that we missed a great opportunity to create a positive experience for you on this occasion. It is unfortunate that you did not appreciate the hotel design and that you though the hotel to be too big to belong to the Design Hotel. I am sorry to hear that some of my colleagues did not extend their usual customer service quality level at and the selection of food on the buffet during breakfast was not quite what you were expecting. I am also sorry for all the other inconveniences outlined on your feedback and I am absolutely mortified to know that we did not live up to the expected level in this occasion. I can assure you that all your comments have been taken on board by the management and have been shared with all the team here and I hope one day you would give us a second chance. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and I hope this incidents will not deter your from visiting us again in the future. Should you require any further assistance from us please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    252
    82
    33
    35
See reviews for
300
517
81
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

loved everything about this hotel in east london. the design just fits so well to the building and it's history. also the area is vibrant and not so touristy. still you're in central london quite quickly. rooms have a lot of space and everything is clean. gym is fine for a short stay and also the pool is convenient and nice. the restaurants are great. had breakfast at the corner room and a tasting menu at viajante. was my second time and I enjoyed it again. will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickSchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you loved the hotel and you though the restoration and design really compliment the building and its rich history. It is interesting to know that you found the hotel surrounding areas, although not a fully tourist destination yet, vibrant with quick access to the West End. I am glad to hear that you appreciated our specious and well cleaned apartment and that you enjoyed our in-house facilities of Gym and swimming pool. It is always great to know that you remained more than satisfied with your second visit to our Starred Viajante Restaurant, as well as the breakfast from the Corner Room. Thank you for choosing the Town Hall Hotel for your stay in London and for your generous feedback. It is an honour to know that you are looking forward for another excellent experience with us and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Should you decide to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great renovation of an old town hall. Beautiful and spacious rooms, interesting design. Staff really friendly and helpful. We rented a conference room for business - lunch etc was also delicious. Useful location for getting to West End and also to City Airport (30 mins by taxi).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay and that your conference was a success. I am pleased to hear that you liked our specious apartments and its design. It is always great news to know that our service was good and that you enjoyed our in-house food. Thank you for mentioning how easy it is to travel from the hotel to the City of London and the West End. Thank you for choosing the Town Hall Hotel for your conference and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Should you decide to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is an extraordinary hotel. The beautifully restored/converted town hall in a rough part of London's East End is completely unexpected. Rooms, corridors, marble staircases, public areas are elegant, art deco, furnished with minimalist (but not minimal) taste. Particularly good if you want to self cater but with an excellent, imaginative, 'Corner Room' restaurant" not to mention its Michelin starred restaurant Viajante. The service from bright, young student types is both warm and impeccable. A sensible food pricing policy enables discerning but not highly paid youngsters to eat here. I combined a week working in the City (12 minutes by taxi) with a few days celebrating Valentine's day with my wife. It worked brilliantly for both purposes and we managed an afternoon tea party for the grand-kids in our beautifully laid out and equipped double room. A definite must for the future. Coincidentally I discovered at the end of my stay that the Town Hall is owned by the same company in Singapore (home for me) that has opened in the last few years my favourite two quirky hotels, the Wanderlust (try the Rusty Typewriter bedroom) and the New Majestic; their style and taste shine through.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singasOng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director or Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is nice to hear your comments sharing your appreciation on restoration/conversion of the hotel. Even nicer is to know that you noticed the fantastic features the hotel still retains from its rich history the artefacts well distributed around our public area. It is indeed quite surprising to see a magnificent building of this calibre in this part of London, but then again, the East End has changed and still changing fast. I am pleased to hear that you were also impressed with the design of the rooms with its open plan concept and fully fitted kitchenettes to make our guests' stay even more comfortable. I am pleased to hear that you loved the atmosphere at the Corner Room and in our Starred Viajante Restaurants and that you thought the food is fairly priced. It is great to know that you know our sister properties grouped under the Unlisted Collection, a fresh and dynamic group of unconventional boutique hotels. Thank you also for your comment on how close THH is to the City of London and great to know that the combination of work and quality family life was easily achieved, during your stay with us. Thank you so much for your generous and detailed feedback, which I am sure will be useful for other travellers looking to visit London. It is nice to know that enjoyed your stay and I have passed on all your comments to our team here. Should you be looking to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The owners clearly did not just have business in mind, but great hotellery, in great style! Mixing the flavour of old and modern together as Scarpa would have done. Brilliant! Will come again, surely and not just for the beauty for also for the service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is great honour to know that you really loved the restoration of the hotel, moulding together those different styles from the previous century with a modern hint in all of it. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service levels my colleagues offered during your stay. It is nice to know that you will be coming back sometime in the future for another memorable experience. Perhaps on your next visit, I can offer you a show round of the hotel artefact, from local artists, distributed around our public areas. Thank you so much for your kind feedback, which I have shared my colleagues here. I hope to be able to welcome you back at the THH and should you decide to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having travelled around London for 2 days this hotel was just what I needed.
The room was lovely, an apartment with sliding door to uncover a full kitchen with even a washing machine! larger than my friends studio apartment!
What impressed me the most was the staff....the barman made the most fantastic cocktails and the corner room restaurant was small but what a lovely atmosphere! All in all I can't wait to go back!
Oh and they even offer an early morning shuttle service to the City which means you don't have to lug your bags onto the tube and find your way around - perfect for us northerners who only visit when we have to!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is always great to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and it is nice to hear that following your busy days around London, you just felt like coming back to your own home. I am glad to hear that you loved the apartment with its fitted kitchenette, wash machine and all the other appliances included in it. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed you visit at out Viajante Bar with its fantastic cocktail and the atmosphere in the Corner Room Restaurant. It is a pleasure to know that our staff did their best to make you feel comfortable during your stay. Thank you for mentioning our shuttle service to Bank and Liverpool Street Stations which I am sure will be very useful to other potential visitors. It is nice to receive your very generous feedback, which I shared with all my colleagues at the THH. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and should your require my further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our 2 visits to the Town Hall Hotel at each end of our visit to the UK were a complete pleasure. The staff were unobtrusive, but could not do enough to help when asked.
The 2 magnificent rooms we used were quirky in a modern design sense and were maintained at the highest standard. The food in both the impressive front restaurant and in the casual 'Corner Room' was equally impressive and the service was again beyond any fault. The staff in the bar were particularly helpful and congenial.
When can I go back?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneObsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear both visit were a success and you thoroughly enjoyed your stays with us. I am glad to hear that our staff was always eager to offer their assistance with a courteous and friendly manner. I appreciate your comment on the THH refurbishment style and the way we maintain this wonderful palace. It is also great to hear that you were impressed with the food we provide in our in-house restaurants, from our patron chef Nuno Mendes. It is very nice and encouraging to receive such a positive feedback and I have shared your comments with all the team here. Should you be looking to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#354 of 1,069 in London
1,023 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,069 in London
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#39 of 1,069 in London
1,009 reviews
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#109 of 1,069 in London
4,615 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#139 of 1,069 in London
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing