We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE OF THE FINEST HOTELS & APARTMENTS IN LONDON”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ONE OF THE FINEST HOTELS & APARTMENTS IN LONDON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My Daughter treated me at a weekend stay at this truly superb hotel - Absolutely spotless, clean, 5 minutes from the underground of Bethnal Green. The Staff were all wonderful. Huge apartment room, lovely bathroom, kitchen with a selection of different teas, coffee, milk and water already supplied. Helpful cleaning staff who showed me how to work the TV. Love the chocolate sweets they leave in your room before bedtime every night. Such comfortable beds and quiet peaceful rooms where you don't hear the traffic or outside noise, not like in the west end. Everything you need and have at home is in your own apartment. Stunning building that has so much history, know the area of Bethnal Green, as my Daughter used to live around there, she says it's not as bad as everyone makes out and it reminds me of the village in NYC in the 1960's, very electric and artistic people in the area, very trendy these days.
You must go to the in-house restaurant Viajante, we had a 6-course meal, more like 8-course so much food to try, all delicious and the talented chef Nuno Mendes came to greet us, lovely guy, as was the lovely Irish waiter Aaron who served us. All friendly and attentive. The cocktail bar is also very nice. Would idealy love to stay here again, such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHEILSLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you enojyed your stay with us and could not agree more with your daughter choice. I am glad to know that you really liked the hotel, its features, fittings and appliances and the size of the apartment as well. I really appreciated your feedback highlighting all those nice extras the Town Hall Hotel offers to its guests. I am happy that you enjoyed the Viajante restaurant testing menu, from our Patron Chef Nuno Mendes and that you wish to come back soon too. It is always very encouraging to receive such a positive feedback and I have passed all your feedback on to our department heads. Should you decide to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    242
    79
    32
    33
See reviews for
295
501
80
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Very helpful staff, upgraded me to studio, super room, funky, spotless.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always very encouraging to receive such a positive feedback and I have passed all of your feedback on to our department heads. Should you be looking to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have.
Many thanks Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a very good hotel which is located about a 5 minute walk from Bethnal Green underground station. The Central Line will take you into the West End in around 20 minutes and to the City of London in around half that. Also nearby (2 stops and 5 minutes further out of town along the Central Line) is Stratford with the Olympic Stadium and the massive Westfield shopping centre which opened a few weeks ago.

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in September 2011 and found it to be clean and fairly comfortable. I was given a twin room on the lower ground floor. I suspect that this wasn’t their best room but I had booked on Hotwire and got the room at just over £100 per night so I can’t complain too much! The décor may not be to everyone’s taste with lots of marble flooring softened with the odd sheepskin rug. There were two single beds in my room and they were comfortable enough but a single bed is a single bed and not ideal. The room had something of a dark, clinical feel to it which might be explained by the fact that a photograph on the wall suggested that it used to be a gents toilet! As you might expect, everything is immaculate and the bathroom was spotless with a powerful, if strangely complicated (3 unmarked levers), shower. The indoor pool is a nice touch and was never busy when I was there. Staff delivered chocolates to the room every evening too.

I didn’t sample the food at the hotel but if you like Asian food, Brick Lane – famous for its curries – is a 20-25 minute stroll away or 5 minutes in a taxi. Younger kids might enjoy the Museum of Childhood which is just around the corner from the hotel on the way to the tube station. All in all, this is a very good hotel but for some reason I can’t find it in me to give it 5 stars like many. For me, the ambiance in my room was a little cool and clinical but perhaps that’s just my taste and the other rooms might be better. If you don’t mind being a little out of town, or plan to visit the Olympic Stadium or Westfield then this hotel would be a good choice. As noted previously, it represents very good value especially when booked through a discount site.

Room Tip: Avoid a twin room on the lower ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R8SKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find it convenient to travel to the West End, City of London and the Stratford Olympic park from the hotel. Thank you for mentioning all the little touches we offer to our guests in such detailed way as you did and that our rates a very good value for money. I am sorry to hear that you did not really get a very warm feeling from the apartment and that the style of the apartment was not entirely to your liking. The Town Hall Hotel, is a very sophisticated design and we are conscious to the fact that it may not be every one’s taste. I am please though to know that you liked the many other features of the hotel and that you though our facilities are well kept and spotless. It is unfortunate that you did not have the chance to taste the Viajante or Corner Room menus but perhaps there will be other occasion in the future. I appreciate your last suggestions on the proximity of the hotel that can be visited. I confirm that your feedback has been shared with all the department here. Should you decide to return to the hotel in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife, planning a secret birthday party for me in Dalston, booked us in for the Saturday night. This is a stunning place, full of heritage and art, comfortable and stylish..Staff were delightful and really helpful and the apartment upgrade we had was vast and interesting whilst being really comfortable, quiet and . Just as well, since 88 people turned up for the party! The area is great - Broadway market, the canal, Geffrye museum and Columbia flower market on Sunday are really close and Viajante in the hotel building produced a stunning Sunday lunch with their 6 course tasting menu. Excellent place to stay in a great part of London.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at the Town Hall Hotel & apartments. I am pleased to read that you thought the hotel is full of heritage and art, comfortable
and yet stylish. I am glad to hear that our staff extended their friendliness and professionalism to you, your family and friends and that your birthday party was a success. Also, Thank you for describing the local area places of interest, which will be very useful to all our guest staying at the Town Hall Hotel. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed Sunday lunch at the Viajante restaurant with its tasting menu. Thank you for choosing the THH for your stay and it was a honoured to have been selected for this special day of yours. Should you decide to return to the hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am a frequent traveller, and this hotel has surprised me with all its qualities. I highly recommend as its rooms, service and restaurants satisfied me and my colleagues a lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atillaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you and your colleagues have enjoyed all your stays with us and you think that the level of product and service as of high standards. It is always very encouraging to receive such a positive feedback and I have passed all of your feedback on to our department heads. Should you be looking to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have.
Many thank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am a fan of East london and this is the best hotel in the area. Highly recommended if you want a "design hotel" experience with all the comforts and services. The area (Bethnal green) might look a bit dodgy at night, but I lived around there for years and in my experience it's a safe area. The central line metro is so close that it's easier to reach the center compared to other close locations (e.g. hoxton square). And on top of all this, we booked a double room and got a free upgrade to an executive apartment!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your encouragement on the Bethnal Green area. I do agree with your comment that travelling from the hotel to central London or the trendiest areas in the East End is easy. We are very proud to be the pioneering company of such hotel in this area, despite all the prejudices. I appreciate your last note on the complimentary upgrade. I confirm that your feedback has been shared with all the department here. Should you decide to return to the hotel in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally.
Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had been warned not to stay in this area but found it very safe, never felt uneasy even coming back from one of the local pubs or the Underground late at night. We were given a room upgrade on arrival which was lovely. Apartment was spacious, exceptionally clean and very quiet but we were in the lower ground floor which is flooded with light from outside even with curtains closed. This is an amazing place and i can only highly recommend it and would stay again if coming back to London. Negatives? The washer/dryer takes absolutely forever to get clothes dry and there was no ironing board but iron was suplied in room! Trouble with internet that staff couldn't fix but my husband travells lots so had cable to plug in directly to wall-small stuff really. So yes stay in Bethnal Green.

Room Tip: If you are light sensitive for sleeping then don't book a room on Lower Ground floor but it is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director in Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that despite the advice to not visit the East End of London, you decided to go ahead and realise that this area is in no way different from other areas in London. I am glad that you appreciated our complimentary upgrade although the apartment was in our lower ground floor. I am sorry to hear that there was too much light coming thorough the curtains and I can confirm that this has been passed on to our housekeeper to look at improvement. I apologise for the inconvenience with the internet when you arrived at the hotel but I am glad this was simply sorted out by your husband carrying a cable. It is always very encouraging to receive such a positive feedback and I have passed all of your feedback on to our department heads. Should you be looking to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist with any enquiry you may have. Many thank and Kind regards Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#112 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The RE London Shoreditch
#549 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing