We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Tour Guide!!!”

Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours
Ranked #316 of 743 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ray Ruddick has been welcoming visitors from all over the world for 25 years. Private groups of families or friends (up to 8 passengers) can experience the best that London and the UK has to offer whilst being driven and guided by their own personal driver-guide. To guarantee Ray's availability you can check out his diary online and can now book the trip of a lifetime up to December 2014! See Ray's website for a wide choice of day tours, away tours and lots of London activity ideas, a comprehensive list of Free activities in London, the best places for kids, a full up-to-date events guide by month and many other UK travel tips.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We did 2 tours with Ray in early July 2011. The 1st day we stayed near London and saw all the sights there. We are from America and he found out they were unveiling a statue of Ronald Reagan so we immediately went to see part of the ceremony. My mom was with us and she has a problem with her knee which made it difficult for her to walk too quickly. Ray was so accommodating with regards to that. He was able to drop us off close to things and pick us up so she had less walking.
The 2nd day we went to see Stonehenge and Bath. We stopped and had a wonderful lunch at a little place along the way. Ray was so pleasant and fun to be with. He knows so much about the area! We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide!
We had such a wonderful time that we now consider Ray and his wife friends!! We have even invited them to visit us in the states sometime soon and we hope they take us up on that offer.

I would recommend Ray as a tour guide to anyone! Can't say enough good things about him..

Caitlin and Anne
Caitlin11@aol.com

3  Thank Caitlin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

25 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

I have to agree with the excellent reviews already posted regarding Ray Ruddick. We were in London for a couple of weeks and booked 4 of his tours based on the excellent reviews noted on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
Ray will structure the tour based on what you would be interested in seeing and is most flexible. For example, we had a very late change of plans and booked Ray with short notice. We asked him to arrange 4 days seeing some of the sights of southern and western England, as we figured to see London on our own. We had asked Ray to also focus a bit on the life of Winston Churchill. The days were just outstanding. The number of places we saw is really too long to list, but included all the "high points" that we had requested and more. We spent 2 nights in bed and breakfast inns as suggested by Ray to save some driving time. Both choices were outstanding and very reasonably priced.
A quick review of just the highlights. On day one we saw Churchill's London home, Hampton Court, Runnymede, Windsor Castle and the Avebury Stone Circle. We stayed at Rudloe Hall and the next day saw Bath, the Cotswolds, Blenheim Palace and Oxford. Spent the night in London at our apartment and on day three saw Chartwell, Scotney Castle and Bodiam Castle. That night we stayed at Claverton House in Battle. Our last day with Ray, we saw Hastings/Battle, Dover and the Castle, Canterbury and the Cathedral and finished at Leed's Castle.
You should check out the web site that Ray has set up. It is very good. Not only will it give you great ideas regarding a potential tour, but it is very educational as well.
I cannot recommend Ray Ruddick highly enough. We have done many tours and are well traveled, and this ranks near the top.
Charlie McKay

3  Thank TnTraveler508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I can only reiterate what most reviewers have already written.
Mr. Ruddick took us on the Windsor/Oxford/Blenheim Castle tour on June 13, 2011. He arrived 45 minutes early with snacks and a big smile on his face. We took off, and within a few seconds he was filling our heads with interesting facts. He seemed to be able to take our measure quickly, and concentrated on the things we were most interested in.
We were unable to go into Windsor on the day of our tour due to the queen being in residence, so Mr. Ruddick informed us that because we would be ahead of our time, he would be happy to also take us on a short hike in the Cotswolds. The hike turned out to be the highlight of the tour! I can't describe how pretty the Cotswolds were. Not so much dramatic as a sweet beauty. I'm so glad he added this to our day.
Oxford was impressive, and the Christ Church dining hall was great for the kids since the Hogwarts dining hall is a replica.
Blenheim was also nice--very impressive grounds.
But Ray Ruddick is an absolute gem. We have booked private tours in England, France, Germany, in the past--but he was the best. Just a pleasure from beginning to end.

3  Thank floridatraveldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We were so pleased with our experience. We were able to arrange a custom trip with him via emails, which he was quick to respond to and always provided detailed information, options and ideas. During our trip he was cheerful and pleasant to be with, informative and never made us feel rushed or pressured. He made adjustments to the tour along the way to fit our interests and had purchased our Cheltenham race tickets for us since we had trouble booking them online from the USA. He was also pleasant to everyone he met along the way, which is a testament to his character. He even sent us photos and additional information on events we had asked about after we had returned to the USA. When we return to the UK we will definitely use his services again. Tillers from Las Vegas, Nevada

1  Thank dregkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Ray did a wonderful job of getting us to everything we wanted to see. He had the whole day planned on what we really wanted to see and showed us even more. His knowledge of the city and history made it even better for our kids. Can't wait to get back and book another tour with him.

3  Thank Dhteplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing