We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic new restaurant on NFA”
Review of Patri Northfields

Patri Northfields
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 5/24
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #3,386 of 27,677 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $44
Description: New restaurant PATRI opening in Ealing at the end of November evokes the tastes and aromas of foods found on some of India's most iconic rail journeys. From rail side snacks cooked on the platform and handed to travelers through the windows of passing trains, to dishes cooked and served on board, Patri's menu centers around India's historic railway stations and their distinct culinary journeys.
Restaurant details
Description: New restaurant PATRI opening in Ealing at the end of November evokes the tastes and aromas of foods found on some of India's most iconic rail journeys. From rail side snacks cooked on the platform and handed to travelers through the windows of passing trains, to dishes cooked and served on board, Patri's menu centers around India's historic railway stations and their distinct culinary journeys.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

I had heard a lot about this place and so a group of us went on Saturday night. It is small, yet beautifully formed!! Lovely vibe, stylish interior, amazing loo and fantastic food and drink. The service was friendly and informative and the barman was a delight. If you live in west London then go you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ELOM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

Visited here today for the first time, on our wedding anniversary with our 21 month old.
This was simply some of the best Indian food we’ve had.

We are both of Indian heritage, being spoiled with our parents Gujarati/Punjabi cooking and enjoying the local Indian restaurants around Harrow and Hounslow growing up (including travelling around India).

We shared the veg ‘Platform mix grill’ which was presented beautifully, with the chef coming out to explain each item.
Every single item in the selection was at least good and most were great.
Authentic flavours, not watered down for a western palate and with some nice twists you wouldn’t find in your average Indian restaurant.

The manager was very friendly and the staff were polite and attentive.
Prices may seem on the high side for your run of the mill Indian but this is far from that.

A casual atmosphere, nothing pretentious about the cozy premises. So glad to have this as a local but would be happy to travel to get to it if it was further.

Also have to say the unisex toilet was great!

We’ll definitely be back. Hope nothing changes!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank BRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

The quality of the chicken was absolutely dreadful, really boney and gristly. the curry itself was tasteless. Was a very poor experience exacerbated by the very high cost - the whole table had a main in the £13-15 range naans poppadoms and two pints and it came in at £50 a head! Would definitely advise people to stay away there are plenty of other places in Ealing (and indeed on Northfields ave) that offer much better quality food for less price.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam120955422357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puneetwadhwani, Owner at Patri Northfields, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear Sam,

We are very disheartened to read your review. This is the first complaint of this type and for me to fully investigate can you please email the following to puneet@patri.co.uk.

• The date and approximate time of your meal.

• The number of people at your table.

• The dishes you ordered or a copy of your bill.

I would also like to briefly respond to the other points :

1. Quality of Chicken: The only chicken on the bone is our Butter Chicken and this is a highly applauded dish in the restaurant where execution is perfect every day.

2. Price: To get to £ 50 a head a lot of food and drink needs to be consumed, our average with 2 pints is around £ 30 per head. Starters vary from £5.50 to 7.50 and the generous portions can be shared easily by 2 people. The average meal per person is around £ 25 with a drink. Lunch would vary from £ 12- 15 per person for a starter, mains and soft drink when shared between two.

If you think that is overpriced for dining in arguably the best-designed restaurant in Northfields
with classically trained, award-winning chef's with sophisticated kitchen cooking backed by friendly service then we simply aren't the restaurant for you.

We serve some of the best Indian food in London but without the formality or prices associated with the capital’s top-end establishments in the bustling neighbourhood where locals love what we do. We are a small family business and operate to pay our staff fairly, support local charities and aim to deliver a profit for our backers despite difficult trading times.

I will be happy to invite you to our kitchen to witness how our quality of meats are checked and show the way we temper our spices and how curries cooked from scratch so you can see the effort that the chef's put in to get the flavours to be spot on.

We do appreciate feedback from our guests both positive and negative as it helps us in our continued efforts to provide an unmatched dining experience and your comments are carefully addressed with our team to ensure we continue to maintain the high level of service that we are known in a very short space of time at Patri.

Finally, was there a particular reason why you did not ask to speak to the manager if the food was so dreadful?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanking You
Puneet Wadhwani
Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

It was my very first visit to this restaurant and I fell in love with everything. We were served ‘girlfriend chaat’ and thaali for starters and in the main course we ordered palak paneer, butter chicken, pulao, rara gosht and chilli nan. Top class Indian food and staff was welcoming.Portions are generous and speedily served. It is highly recommend, since it is an authentic cuisine at reasonable price. I brought the left overs home and my son thought it’s the best butter chicken he has ever tasted. 5/5 to you!
Wishing Puneet and rest of the staff all the best in the coming days

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank samiya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019

The majority of Indian restaurants have very boring, tasteless decor. Patri is a clear exception bringing fun and interest to your eating experience - great concept. The food too had a different feel to it, the menu looking quite different from the others.
Now I don't want to put a dampener on it and I hope this will be taken as constructive criticism.
First of all the menu is limited. There are about 10 main courses to choose between - not enough. Secondly, all the courses are hottish to hot. You need to add some milder, creamy dishes. The chicken dishes were primarily on the bone. Too fiddly with bits of sharp splintered bone to contend with. Not enough vegetable side dishes - no okra, no aubergine - that's crazy. The nans were very boring. And to cap it all, no poppodums and no pickle!!!!!!! Now I know I started by saying "The food too had a different feel to it, the menu looking quite different from the others" but some things have to be there - no?
Finally I know wew went in February, but it was uncomfortably cold in there - that can also be sorted.
So in conclusion - I enjoyed something different which it was, It has great potential....but would I go again soon? - probably not.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1962Healey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puneetwadhwani, Owner at Patri Northfields, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2019

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks for your positive feedback on our design and concept and I would like to take this opportunity to comment on the other points:

Limited Menu: The menu is limited for a reason, it's fresh, tasty and expertly cooked. We have a unique offering of
a small menu with big flavors. This is a hallmark of a true Indian restaurant, each curry is made to showcase it's it's own personality and Chefs finesse.

Hot Dishes: We have mild dishes on the menu including a mild starter- murgh malai tikka, Mohan Mass and our Monk Fish which is sweet and creamy. The menu is divided into two regions Delhi, where all meats are on the bone staying true to the city's culture and all meats on the Rajasthan menu, are boneless so it's a 50/50 split.

Indian food tastes absolutely amazing when eaten with hands and this is what we recommend in our restaurant and the majority of the diners appreciate our way of cooking and serving and educating.

No Side Dishes: 70 % of the menu is vegetarian, we have a regional concept based on two cities at a time where
localization and seasonality play a huge part.

We are in New Delhi and Jodhpur until Spring, okra will feature when we move to Uttar Pradesh, Bihar or West Bengal. Aubergine will be featured in Andhra, Punjab, Gujarat, and Orissa.

In India, Okra it is grown is summer months and during the rainy season it is highly sensitive to frost
and seeds don't fully germinate. Similarly, Aubergine plant requires lots of natural sunlight to thrive and the season starts from April onwards.

We are surprised to hear our naans are boring as 98 % of our customers find them soft and fluffy and we do have a homemade pickle and perfectly cooked poppadums. This makes us wonder if you read the menu prior to your visit or in the restaurant? Our Thali would have covered all mild dishes and included the above.


Cold: The restaurant is operating at its maximum heating capacity already with doors with curtain heaters, center with automatic, toilets with super warm air flow etc.

The concept is based on the railways of India with tight seating spaces and we are not a traditional curry house
with 100 + items of mediocre dishes cooked to the customer's spice levels. We stay true to each city's culture and heritage and we are disappointed you will probably not be returning which is a shame especially after we removed near empty plates from your table.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly and if there is anything we can do to help remedy your experience and change your mind.

Thanks
Puneet Wadhwani
Founder and Creative Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patri Northfields also viewed

 

Been to Patri Northfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing