We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property, location and owner!”
Street View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street View
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Street View
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bedroom1
Bathroom 1
2nd Bedroom
Patio Garden
3rd Bedroom
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tocquevil...
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great property, location and owner!”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Everything with these flat accommodations worked out great! The reviews previously posted, upon which I had relied, proved to be consistent and right on the mark. The high expectations that were set were all met. As such, there’s no need to repeat all the details here from earlier posting reviews.

Fred provides a great product and high customer service. He is prompt in all his communications, reasonable and flexible in confirming reservations, and more than fair in settling the financial arrangements. We alerted him in advance that our travel arrangements would not allow us to arrive in London and reach the flat until nearly 11:30pm. He accommodated our schedule to welcome us and go through the flat logistics upon our arrival. We are a family of two adults and three boys ages 10 to 15 and stayed for 9 nights.

We selected the area due the convenience through Paddington with multiple Tube lines and trains to Heathrow and Windsor and the walking distance to Hyde Park and other neighborhoods. We found the walk to the front of Paddington Station on Praed Street for direct access to trains and the Tube is only about 8 minutes and even shorter to the backside of the station. Other than the several steps from the flat front door to street level, there were no obstacles to roll our luggage to Paddington Station. Other trains we took in and out of Marylebone and St. Pancras were also conveniently just a few Tube stops away. We also jumped on buses near the street corner outside the flat front door and noticed taxis regularly passing by.

Two neighborhood restaurants particularly stood out. Bizzarro on Praed Street between the flat and Paddington Station had wonderful Italian food. Mandarin Kitchen by the Queensway Tube Station had terrific Chinese cuisine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property in great condition and the extra amenities made the stay more convenient.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray T
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised...... looks like you can trust reviews!”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a terrific trip to London, and with all this being new to me, Fred and Iris made it as painless of a process as possible. The flat is large, clean and very comfortable. Fred met us at the Paddington station and guided us to the flat. That helped tremendously, as over the next few days that was the jumping off point for most of our excursions. He also showed us the neighborhood, and various places to shop and eat.. The street is not busy at night, and the neighborhood is safe. Bus stops are literally around the corner and the underground is about 5 minutes. Hyde Park is 10 minutes. Would certainly return for another stay. I would caution that the stairs down to the flat are a bit steep and narrow and could be a problem for some. Al the little extras mentioned by other were true to form. Thanx again Fred and Iris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, size and price
Liked least: pidgeons in the garden
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123mag21
York, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family vacation in the UK.”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 6 adults (4 in early 20s) had the pleasure of staying in a wonderful apartment owed by Fred McLeod. The accommodations were more than what we expected. Beds very comfortable. The apartment was spotless. Fred made sure to anticipate our needs and answered all our questions. We enjoyed many nights sitting together in the living room and discussing our days in London.
Suggestions for nearby restaurants were excellent, especially the Italian family restaurant Bizzaro. Reasonably priced and delicious food. The apartment is very close to Paddington Station, so getting around London was very easy. Fred's focus on the little details helped tremendously, from hair dryers in rooms, electric converters, television with access to American sports. Our sons watched the NE Patriots play one day at 1:30AM (8:30PM New England time.) We recommend this accommodation to all without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment layout and comfort
Liked least: Cannot think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara31...
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this flat!”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This gorgeous flat made me want to move to London permanently as long as I could live here! It was perfect for our t families each with a grown child. There were 2 double bedrooms a cozy single room and a nice bed set up in the huge lounge. There were 2 modern bathrooms each with a shower and one with a tub. The flat had a beautiful garden with lots of potted flowers and all the bedrooms overlooked it. The kitchen was modern and well equipped and we really appreciated the staples there on our arrival. The book the owners prepared told us everything we needed to know about the flat and neighborhood and we enjoyed two of the recommended restaurants.

We have rented a number of flats around the world and this stood out in all respects. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to list - the flat itself with the interior garden, the gorgeous kitchen, the location.
Liked least: The stairs down to the flat are steep - we were forewarned.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Help with many little extras”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The flat was spacious and well located, but we knew that upon booking. What we did not know were the little extras that Fred and Iris provide to make a visit more comfortable. Oyster cards, umbrellas, electrical adapters, as well as, fresh milk and cereal! Small things all, but things that save extra trips and distraction such that you can simply enjoy London. (we visited Paris after leaving London and had to buy toilet paper for that flat!). Also, worth a mention is we had all kinds of airport problems that resulted in our arrival several hours after planned. Fred waited and still met us at Paddington. A huge relief and an owner going beyond what is normally required.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barb_ken
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect location and space for a family visit to London.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The pictures available on the website are totally accurate. The flat is extremely well equipped. We really appreciated the breakfast supplies and extras that were generously provided. It is easy walking to a number of places including the tube and several restaurants. Being a flat that is below street level, it is still very bright and has lots of room. After travelling continuously for several days, it was wonderful for the 4 adults and one child to unpack and spread out. We only ate breakfast in as we were gone all day, but is was well worth having the space. Fred always responded quickly to any emails when we were planning. Don't be deterred by the exterior run down look of the building as those that have been repainted are very posh looking and the interior of this one is very up to date. The only negative are the steep steps down to the flat mean you have to be capable of carrying your bags down and up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space to unpack and spreadout for 4 adults and 1 child. Excellent location
Liked least: stairwell access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW...I was blown away.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The moment you arrive in front of the building, you know you are staying someplace special. Fred met us out front of the flat and when we got inside, I could not believe how spacious and awesome this apartment was. The lounge was comfortable and just as the picture displayed. The kitchen was gorgeous and had everything we needed and more. Fred had taken the time to stock the fridge with milk, juice, bread and butter which was fantastic. There are two nice bathrooms, fully stocked with all the amenities one needs on a trip. The bedrooms were very spacious, two with full sized beds and one with a single. An abundant supply of linens awaits you as well and the convenience of a washer and dryer with powders and softeners. In the back, there was a quaint little sitting area where you could go have a glass of wine and relax. Fred has provided a book of notes, recommendations and a few oyster cards you can use. You can just top his off and leave it when you are done instead of spending 5 pounds extra to purchase a card. There is also an ample supply of DVD's and a huge flat screen TV if you have folks that might want to watch. The flat is very close to Paddington station and to bus stops. We were able to navigate our way about town with ease. There is also a great selection of eateries and a market right across from Paddington (a Starbucks too) if you need essentials. You can go in two other different directions from the flat and find even more restaurants so we were never hungry. We absolutely just loved this place!! If I were you, I wouldn't look any further than here. After a long day of sightseeing, it was nice to come home to a place that felt like home and had super comfortable beds. Thanks Fred..we loved our vacation spot and hope to come back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous apartment and close proximity to underground and restaurants
Liked least: Nothing but stairs to the flat could be tricky for some.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing