We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Place With Quality food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangalore Express - CLOSED

Bangalore Express
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Spanish, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Waterloo tube station.
London, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Quirky Place With Quality food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived as a couple, totally unannounced at approx 5.30pm on a busy and very hot Saturday afternoon. We were met at the door and welcomed and we chose to sit in one of the rather unique upstairs tables. Unique in the respect that you actually have to climb a ladder to access it, just like a bunk bed from my childhood. (Warning, if it's a hot day, it's the hottest part of the restaurant too.)

Orders taken, drinks arrived quickly and starters soon afterward. It's a very interesting variance on the usual fare you would see on an Indian Restaurant. Mains later.

All in all very enjoyable. Staff were okay and pleasant. But it is odd speaking to a waitress who pops up at the side of your table! I'm allowing for that in my review.

Try it. See for yourself. I think you'll enjoy it. It's just between Evan's Cycles and the 24hr Sainsbury's Local on Waterloo Road. Right outside the Station.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liam_kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    68
    37
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bustle and Spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Across from Waterloo tube station, Bangalore is a bustling restaurant offering very tasty Indian food. Service is prompt and courteous. Food is excellent. The restaurant has the speed of a fast food restaurant and the sit-down experience of a regular restaurant - best of both worlds!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After stale popadums which we left, I had to send back my lamb and lentil main course as the lentils were not cooked, main came back but the lamb so dry and chewy I left it all. Another of the party ordered chicken with garlic, chilli and pepper....but had to ask for some chilli and pepper for on it because she couldn't taste any. They wouldn't even deduct the popadums from the bill and automatically added in service. The third meal in the party was ok. From the sounds of it, this place isn't what it was a few years ago. Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRebekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had the miss pleasure of eating there last night. The staff were extremely rude and service charge automatically added. The menu was poor and the food average. There are better places to eat in the area. Toilets disgustingly dirty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on Saturday evening, it was quiet, the staff were very friendly.

The food was served quite quickly, and the quality was excellent, a great choice of menu, lots of unusual things.

We will definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevecentlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangalore Express also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing