We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not good”
Review of Cattivo

Cattivo
Ranked #15,813 of 28,485 Restaurants in London
Description: Located on Brixton's bustling Ferndale Road, this charming cocktail bar and restaurant is a hidden gem amongst the area's many bars. Cattivo sits just opposite its sister bar, Canova Hall, and provides the same brilliant bottomless brunch experience at weekends with the added bonus of DJs from 1pm every Saturday. The party carries on into the early hours with a late night license till 2am at weekends. At street level and below ground in the cocktail club, there are lot of different size spaces for parties and private hire. Cattivo can cater for parties up to 200 people in the cocktail club and the whole venue is available for private hire. Food is all homemade and rooted in Italy. The bar also boasts a decadent array of cocktails, perfect for sipping on. They also run gin blending and gin cocktail masterclasses, using the small batch gin that they make on site from Victor, their still. There's more to this Brixton bar than meets the eye.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on Brixton's bustling Ferndale Road, this charming cocktail bar and restaurant is a hidden gem amongst the area's many bars. Cattivo sits just opposite its sister bar, Canova Hall, and provides the same brilliant bottomless brunch experience at weekends with the added bonus of DJs from 1pm every Saturday. The party carries on into the early hours with a late night license till 2am at weekends. At street level and below ground in the cocktail club, there are lot of different size spaces for parties and private hire. Cattivo can cater for parties up to 200 people in the cocktail club and the whole venue is available for private hire. Food is all homemade and rooted in Italy. The bar also boasts a decadent array of cocktails, perfect for sipping on. They also run gin blending and gin cocktail masterclasses, using the small batch gin that they make on site from Victor, their still. There's more to this Brixton bar than meets the eye.
Reviewed June 20, 2019 via mobile

Came here for brunch, the bottomless part of it was excellent as they were generous with the drinks. Unfortunately the food was bad. The vegan gnocchi tasted like flour and water, not a hint of beetroot beyond the colour. The truffle Gorgonzola pasta was so dry, thankfully there was a lot of Prosecco to wash it down. The nduja Arancini were pretty good, but that was all I would order again from the food menu

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Izzysaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren R, Operations Director at Cattivo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2019

Hi Izzysaunders,
I'm really pleased to hear that the drinks were free flowing however certainly disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. I do hope that you managed to speak to one of us during your visit? If not please do get in contact, I'd love to try and make up for your disappointment Darren@albionandeast.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2019

Brinton is the best barman!!! We had such a great experience here. We stumbled across £10 bottles of Prosecco and the Wednesday quiz night and it made our week. Will certainly return; especially as Prosecco on a Wednesday is £10 and we’d love to see Brinton again

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren R, Owner at Cattivo, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Brinton fan club we salute you..... Prosecco we salute you... Jennifer B we thank you.... and salute you.... if you like being saluted at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Just had a fabulous evening drinking bubbles and playing bingo, loads of fun on a Wednesday night. Food was absolutely delicious, Daniel the manager was a dream boat, service was excellent, we will be back!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Fran_M156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren R, Owner at Cattivo, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Fran thanks so much for this and for taking the time to review us... whats not to love... bubbles... bingo... see you next time.

Daniel gets enough praise so just ease up a little, he gets carried away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

The food was so delicious. I had the truffle scrambled eggs on toast and it was amazing. My sister had the fried chicken and loved hat too, the presentation was great, the watermelon with the chicken was a nice touch.
Loved the rum cocktail and the extra fruit and rose petals with the prosecco was a treat too.
Only downfall was that the music is too loud as you have to almost shout but the dj was really good and by the end youre drunk and its fun.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren R, Manager at Cattivo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Hi Gemma G
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback from our bottomless brunch- so glad to enjoyed the food and drinks also!
Sorry the DJ was a little on the loud side, we'd have happily turned it down as they can sometimes get carried away. Sounds like you had a fab time though!
Next time you're in ask a member of the team to grab you a members keyring- it gets bottomless meatbalss every day of the week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

This is a new local establishment which we wanted to visit and we were not disappointed.
Staff were attentive, but not intrusive. Ambience and atmosphere were nice.
Brixton is definitely the place to be, so take a trip.....soon.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank debsmillen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren R, Manager at Cattivo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Hey Debs

Thank you so much for the feedback. So happy to hear you found the staff attentive and you enjoyed the atmosphere. Hopefully we'll see you again soon and if you are ever up East you should visit our original sister venue Martello Hall

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattivo also viewed

 

Been to Cattivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing