We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific for events and veterans”
Review of Civil Service Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Civil Service Club
Ranked #147 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Terrific for events and veterans”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have used the Civil Service Club for post parade events for 3 years. The management is extremely flexible, staff always helpful and courteous. Bar food is good and bar prices are very reasonable for central London.

An unhesitating recommendation for those entitled to join.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
16
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First off I will say this is a private club rather than hotel as such but wow what a location, and a nice cheap option for a London club for anyone in the civil service or working for a company that was once civil service! Working in Whitehall, just at the end of the street, want to visit the National Gallary and Trafalgar Square, about 2 min walk around the corner. Coming by train? Charing Cross and Embankment tube at the other end of the street. London Eye, The Mall, Houses of Parliament all within a few minutes.
Rooms fairly standard London budget hotel (thinking Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn Express etc) a bit cheaper but as I say way better location than most of those. Air con in all the rooms which was certainly welcome as London was well into 30s when I was there.
Only ate breakfast there but everything was freshly cooked to order rather the usual London offering of luke warm buffet. Staff very pleasant and helpful and certainly treat you as a member rather than a customer.

Room Tip: The lift only covers 4 of the 5 floors so let them know if you find stairs difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter is a civil servant and booked this hotel for me for my week in London. I was given a large double room. My package included 4 evening meals, which I didn't need, but the helpful receptionist explained that it was still cheaper to take the package than book room only. In the event, I was able to take those prepaid meals at lunchtime. The place is a little dated, but that adds to its charm. An ideal base for sightseeing, within walking distance of a lot of places. The Met horse stables are a couple of doors away, which means that you will often get the chance to see the beautiful horses returning from work. The staff were friendly and helpful and the reasonable bar prices make it a good choice fro lunch. My only minus is that I returned from the Stones concert before midnight, only to find the gate locked- had to ring for the porter to let me in. Otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Only 1 lift, so may be a wait around mealtimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is in a very good position near Trafalgar Square, The Mall, The London Eye (across the river), Charing Cross Station etc. Inside the building is showing signs of its age; there is only one four person lift to the fourth floor, and if you are on the fifth, then you have to climb a narrow staircase. Rooms are a bit on the small side - fine for a couple of nights, but not much longer - a little claustrophobic! Food is fine, no complaints. Service is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful after travel agent muddled booking, also explaining how the Club was organised for Civil Servants

Large and comfortable room (505), super fast free wifi (fast enough to watch iPlayer) and plenty of sachets of tea/coffee. However, the shower temp. control was highly erratic and the lift goes to floor 4 with some quite narrow stairs to 5. I slept very well, no road noise or folks slamming doors.

Good range of beers in the bar, reasonably priced for London; the bar is thankfully old skool with no musak or games machines. Didn't dine in as the restaurant is closed Mondays, however the full English breakfast was good with decent quality bacon and sausage.

Location is just minutes walk from Trafalgar Square, Charing X is nearest tube I reckon.

Paid £95 B&B which I thought good value for money all in all and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The club is right in the centre of London easy access to everywhere. The rooms are very clean but club in general a little tired. Being a bit snobbish if comparing it to a 5 star hotel, but certainly much better than a travel lodge or similar... Good value bar with good prices and god value if basic food. Breakfast is excellent all cooked to order better than nothing 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ji57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wool Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed over the weekend 17/18 November, Rooms are fine though a little small but adequate.
Well placed for central London near to Embankment tube.
Flatscreen TV with Freeview, coffee and tea making facilties.
Evening meal is very reasonable at £16.00 for 3 courses.Well cooked and tasty.
Let down by chaotic breakfast, arrived in the dining room at 0900 sharp finally received breakfast at 09.40.
toast burnt and tea cold.
The waiter and waitress Manuel and Mavis had not a clue what they were doing.
A little training would go a long way it is not exactly a large dining room.
A pleasant place spoiled by bad service at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ColinWoolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#118 of 1,069 in London
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#359 of 1,069 in London
2,700 reviews
Westminster
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
#163 of 1,069 in London
1,266 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civil Service Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civil Service Club

Property: Civil Service Club
Address: 13-15 Great Scotland Yard, London, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Civil Service Club Hotel London
Civil Service Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing