We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice apartment - but with some limitations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #80 of 895 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location was fine and still accessible to the city and tube rail system. Beds were very comfortable and apartment well appointed. Although we booked for twin beds, this didn't come through in the appointed apartment and one child had to sleep on a sofa bed. This just made the living area a little cramped but worked anyway. Front desk staff were very helpful with assisting with the collection of a parcel and tried to help with what we asked.

Washing machine was terrible and we had trouble getting it to work properly. Airconditioning should be considered for the times when it does get hot.

Room Tip: avoid side of building overlooking building site as it is noisy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Marlin Apartments Aldgate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 500 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a couple of days on business in London and extended it into the weekend so my wife could join me. An apartment worked out really well with lads of space, much more than a hotel room. It also gave s the flexibility of having snacks, drinks in the apartment and not reliant on a hotel mini bar or restaurant. Marlin were very clean, really well equipped and excellent views across the London rooftops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location as its a 2 minute walk to the tube station. We were upgraded free of charge to a 2 bedroom apartment with stunning views over the city. Spotless apartment with all mod cons and very comfortable and would definitely return. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived at the apartments after a fairly convoluted journey. There should be a map that comes with your booking as Commercial Road has two directions from the Aldgate East Station.....and we took the wrong direction as the two parts of the road do not join! This is frustrating when you have just come from the airport from an international flight !
The staff on hand were helpful enough except that the map we had received from them did not have the apartments on it. As a result, we were completely flummoxed when our map did not appear to be correct!
There were advertisements in our apartment, on the front desk, and on a sandwich board outside the building advertising the apartments for £69 per night when we had paid £180 per night for 5 nights. When we asked if there could be any meeting with management to discuss this major discrepancy (we had booked only the week before) there was no response from them at all. Nor was there any attempt to contact us during that 5 day period.
So! While the apartment was spacious and had a washing machine/drier the lack of input from management means we would probably not stay there again ....they need to get their customer service sorted as it is non-existent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nzenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Karen G,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to hear that my staff successfully helped direct you to our building, and would mention that maps of all Marlin locations can be found on our website.

With regard to our special rate promotions, in line with most accommodation providers we sometimes offer discounted rates for off-peak times in some of our buildings valid for certain apartment types. We apologise for any confusion caused but the rates you may have seen advertised during your stay were not for our particular building. Should you wish to take advantage of these deals for a future visit to London, please visit our website where our best rates can be found or if you do see one of our advertisements, please be assured that it will always clearly show which building is offering the particular rates and for which dates to guide you when making a booking.

I wasn’t aware of your request to meet me during your stay but would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back and ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. Should you plan a return visit to London in the future please contact me directly and I would be happy to assist you.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Marlin Aldgate apartments in June 2013 and enjoyed it. We stayed in a two room apartment. It was clean and very well appointed. We had no problem cooking a couple of our own meals there. Also, to our surprise we had a washer/dryer combination which came in handy. The apartment is only a five minute walk from the tube which came in very handy touring London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Steve O,

I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your experience at our apartments. Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

We are indeed very privileged to have such wonderful location, and that we are only a few minutes’ walk from the most important sites of London.


Hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Marlin Apartments in July 2013 for 11 nights, on holiday from New Zealand. As a mature couple we were impressed with the large apartment with modern amenities. We were given an apartment on the 13th floor, which gave us some great views of London, including the Shard and Tower Bridge. Although the area is somewhat "intrepid" it has a couple of local Tesco Supermarkets within easy walking distance, and the Aldgate East tube station is about ten minutes walk - BEWARE - it has the tendency to be closed for maintenance each weekend! This can be circumvented by a good twenty minute plus walk through St. Katherine's Docks to Tower Hill Station. As mentioned, we were really impressed with the apartment, and the WiFi connection for our IPad worked well. For some reason, even though we were on the 13th floor, we still had a lot of traffic and people noise at night. The security was good with a swipe card to get in the front door, and we could get rid of our rubbish into a waste taker in the basement. All in all, a good place to stay, and very easy to use public transport via the tube (buy an Oyster Card).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickyb0y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Dickyb0y1,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to London and the Marlin Apartments Aldgate. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, the view from your apartment, our location and that you found our Wi-Fi connection impressive.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I booked this location because it had good reviews on trip advisor, now left wondering what people were thinking when they wrote them. Maybe their apartments were far superior to the many I was put into.

Upon arrival to this property the check in process was quite efficient - however it was strange that the photocopied an ID and Credit Card. I let the uneasy feeling go until we made it to the room. Every surface in the apartment was dirty, stain, or just tired looking - this was consistent among the several different apartments we were taken to after complaining about the first one. Several apartments later the problems were the same - seems a consistent issue around the property - BAD CLEANING/ POOR MAINTENANCE.

While the appearance of the apartments is nice - good size apartment with a full kitchen and even a washing machine - it was such a disappointment to see the lack of care taken in maintaining it. A breakdown of what I experienced:
Sofas are broken down/really worn
Carpets are stained beyond belief
Food still under the coffee table and sofa
Windows not cleaned
Toilet Paper left on balcony (Yes, it even looked used)
Bed had stains and hairs in it - I'm guess from the last guest
Floors un-swept with quite a large amount of dust in corners
Curtains marked up - some of which looked like dried blood (eww)
Lots of marks on walls which could be easily removed if someone actually tried

To make things worse - there are several construction sites around the property which are quite noisy and they start work early. Windows that do open should be shut as soon as it starts. Looks as if it will be going on for quite a while!

The staff onsite are incompetent/ just don't care and apparently all decisions are referred to a manager who is not present. It is a real shame to be honest. As a seasoned traveler who stays in serviced apartments often, this was a disappointment and quite appalling as to how the situation was handled by staff. I would not recommend this place to anyone - unless you don't care about sleeping or living in other people’s filth!! The decision was made to check out of this property and into a hotel for our week in London.

Please be aware when booking this property – I would avoid if at all possible!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear JennFlorida,

I am disappointed to hear that your experience at Marlin Aldgate did not live up to your expectations having read our positive reviews on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you found our check-in procedure efficient; please be assured that Marlin takes data protection compliance very seriously. It surprises me, however, that the apartments you saw during your stay at Marlin Aldgate were not to our usual high standard, and I sincerely apologise for this. We pride ourselves on providing a premium product and service so I will personally ensure that all members of housekeeping are being trained to our best standards.

Construction workers are legally obligated to cease work during unsocial hours, but I do apologise if you were inconvenienced by any noise. Unfortunately due to the busy nature of the hospitality industry, speaking with management straight away is not always possible; however I would always personally ensure that I speak with any disappointed guests as soon as possible.

I hope that you will allow us the chance to provide you with the true Marlin experience during a future stay in London.

Kind regards,

Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#145 of 1,071 in London
710 reviews
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
SHQ Apartments
SHQ Apartments
#86 of 895 in London
44 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Whitechapel
Leman Locke
Leman Locke
#7 of 895 in London
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 895 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $140 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Aldgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing