We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviced appartments are a hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #67 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serviced appartments are a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Especially in developend countries and big cities, hotel prices are super expensive for not much quality. I've stayed at a number of serviced appartments recently and find them far superior to hotels in that price range.
Aldgate is a great location, the appartments are a good size, beds comfy, towels good quality, nice sitting room and everything you need in the kitchen, including a few dishwasher tabs.
Can't really think of anything negative to say! If you are relatively independent, don't need a concierge or hotel restaurant/bar, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ondrah,

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback.
I am very pleased that you liked the comfort of the bed at the hotel and the size of the rooms. Many of our regular guests also comment on this so it is lovely to hear you felt the same.
I truly hope that you will return to us soon.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    154
    58
    20
    25
See reviews for
139
85
12
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The apartments are of a very high standard of quality especially the kitchen and appliances. I stayed for two weeks on March 2013 while on a long business trip. Local shops (Tesco 5 min walk) and many restaurants nearby as well as the very convenient Aldgate East Underground Station as well as the close proximity to the City make this property an excellent choice especially since price is comparable to an average Central London hotel room, The staff are very friendly and helpful. I recommend this property to anyone wishing to have more than a hotel room on their next stay in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for the positive feedback.
I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the views of your apartment and that we were able to transform a business trip into a memorable one.

I am also glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and that the team was friendly, I truly hope that you will return to us soon.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent location and very friendly staff. Apartment was amazing and views stunning! Made my business trip even more enjoyable! Only slight fault is the double bed really just two beds pushed together. This is my third time here and every time is better than the last!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in Marlin apartments whilst in London for business . Although area is not so inviting and the large amount of construction going on around the block presents a non too pleasant view from windows - the apartments are very secure with 24 hour reception manned by very helpful staff. Booked a studio apartment but upgraded on arrival to a one bedroom apartment which had all necessary facilities and a balcony. Apartment clean, spacious and well equipped - providing a much pleasanter stay than hotels I have used in the past. The block is very close to Aldgate East underground so getting to different parts of London is easy. A Tesco and other local shops closeby for supplies and free Wi-fi in apartment. Will definitely stay again if I have to work in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear gemmaloo,

Many thanks for your very kind comments about your stay with us.
I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness, and that you found our team so helpful.
I am delighted to hear that you were upgraded. We do aim to upgrade as many of our guests as possible to enhance their stay and make it truly memorable.
We look forward to seeing you here at the hotel again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Clean, modern, spacious, well-equipped ... thoroughly excellent.
Don't be put off by the location; it's not in the City, but it's so close ... and Aldgate or Aldgate East stations get you around easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear mn55,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at the hotel.
It is lovely to hear that you found our apartments spacious, and you appreciated our standard of cleanliness.
I truly hope that you will return to us soon.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a week here and can only praise these apartments.
Great view over London from my ninth floor room
Clean and spacious with much natural light and, unlike hotels, windows that actually open.
There is a lot of construction work in the area so the view might go soon.
The area is not the best in London depending on which direction you walk you could be disappointed and feel unsafe but if you head for tower bridge you should be fine. It's about 15 minutes walk.
Just one downside is the lack of acknowledgment from reception staff as you enter and leave. A friendly good day would not go amiss.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear SteveBMidlands_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness and that you liked the design and the size of our rooms as well as the view from your apartment.
Please accept my sincere apologies, on behalf of my staff. I am shocked that you did not receive a high level of service throughout your stay.

I do hope you will visit us again soon. I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith and ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean modern apartments, good alternative to cramped hotel room. 2 mins walk from aldgate east tube, so very easy to get around. 5-10 mins walk to spitalfields market.
Lots of places to eat, all within walking distance.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mand100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear RalucaNan,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness.
Upon arrival to our property, a pre-authorisation was taken from your card, which was held in case of any damages or incidentals that may have occurred during your stay.This was not an actual deposit, only an amount was frozen in your account and no money was debited. The hold should automatically be released by your bank in no more than 10 working days.

We look forward to seeing you here at the hotel again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Whitechapel
SHQ Apartments
SHQ Apartments
#92 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Property: Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Aldgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing