We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous accomodation at Fantastic prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #83 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Booked this pretty much at last minute and was very pleasantly surprised. Easy location to find, check in very easy and what a surprise the accomodation was - at last pictures on a booking site that actually reflect the standard of the apartments!

Would recommend this to any traveller who is visiting London no matter what the occasion.

Very easy access to the tube giving brilliant access to anywhere you might want to visit in town!

Will very definately use Marlin again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsHornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear CheekyChops14,


Many thanks for your very kind comments about your recent stay and your recommendation.
We do look forward to welcome you again in our central properties like Queen Street near St. Paul’s Cathedral or Empire Square just a few minutes from London Bridge.

Please contact our reservation team for your next visit as the best available rates can be obtain by booking direct.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 521 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in this lovely apartment on 12th Floor when we were in London for a family wedding. Very well appointed, with bathroom fittings to a high standard, immaculately clean, comfortable beds. Temperature was very comfortable, neither too hot nor too cold. It was perfect for our needs and well located for the evening wedding party. Wonderful views. There is a lot of building work going on but that did not affect us. The apartments are situated in a very historic area of London and there are fascinating walks around the City and Smithfield Market. Easy tube connections from Aldgate East as long as the station is open. Good bus connections. The bed are very comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped for this type of apartment. It was very nice after a very long day getting up slowly in the morning and having breakfast in the apartment. The staff were very efficient and helpful, both in person and on the telephone. Highly recommended and much better than staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for the view and facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liberdade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear liberdade1,

Thank you very much for your kind review about our apartments. I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness, that you found our team so helpful, and the apartment of such an excellent quality. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our central location.

I truly hope that you will return to us soon. I would welcome the chance to look after your booking personally and ensure you have another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Quick and easy check in and out.
Pleasant and friendly staff.
Apartment was well presented clean and warm on arrival. Spacious comfortable living area and clean bedroom and bathroom.
There is a lot of building work going on close but thr double glazing dampens this down to a low hum.
3 minutes walk from Aldgate East tube station.
5 minutes from Brick Lane. Greasy spoon opposite for a breakfast in the morning.
Overall for the business traveller I highly recommend above a hotel purely for the bigger accommodation and homely feel.

For families with small children I think the balcony could be dangerous on the higher floors but as long as you are aware of this before you stay.
I'd recommend this and will be staying again in the future. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Mickferris,

Thank you very much for your kind review about our apartments. I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness, that you found our team so pleasant, friendly and efficient and the apartment of such an excellent quality.
Should you choose to travel to London again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact our Reservation Team for the best rates.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The four of us wanted to take a trip to London before christmas to experience the atmosphere and the shopping. Since we were four to travel we decided not to book hotel rooms and instead try the Marlin Apartments in Aldgate. We had no great expectations before coming to London since a couple of us were familiar with the relatively low standard when it came to hotel rooms.
Since our plane left early from Norway the room was not ready when we arrived at Aldgate, but the female staff gave us a warm welcome and offered to hold on to our luggage while we went out for shopping and so fort. The reception area is clean and modern and the staff is very helpful.
When we returned to Aldgate our apartment was ready and the check-in-procedure was quite effective. Our low expectations was totally out of order when we opened the door to the apartment! The apartment was clean and spacious. We stayed at the 9th floor and the view was great! We even had a balcony. The apartment had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and both of them were very much up to standards. Clean sheets,comfy beds,both a hot tub and shower in the bathrooms and a good supply of hot water.
The kitchen was great!Fully equipped, we only had to buy food =) The livingroom was also great,flatscreen TV with lots of channels,dvd-player,a very comfy chair and a couch. The wi-fi is also good, the free version lets you surf for normal websites (facebook,news and so on) whilst you can pay to get a faster line. We were very impressed with the apartment, no regrets at all!
The location of the apartmentcomplex is ok. By subway you need about 20-25 minutes from Victoria station and to the Marlin. 15 minutes by subway to Covent Garden where most of our shopping took place. The area has mostly asian cousine when it comes to resturants, but a short walk or a few minutes by subway and you have a much larger variety of resturants and so on.
The Marlin Apartments in Aldgate deserves a visit by you! It's a great alternative to expensive and small hotel rooms. I will absolutely come back for another visit!

Room Tip: The complex is facing a quite busy road and for sleep quality I would recommend that you ask for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OysteinBalstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear OysteinBalstad,

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful weekend with your friends and that you enjoyed being together for Christmas Shopping in London.

Thank you very much indeed for your nice comments about your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our Concierge Team was able to assist you. It is delightful to read your comments and be reassured that our effort to provide a home away from home for our guests has been recognised, and that you were impressed about our clean and spacious apartments, with balcony and amazing views.

We hope to have the pleasure of being your host again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

These apartments were excellent. A delightful welcome was given by the two female staff on duty when we arrived. We stayed one night with friends. Apartment was spacious and had everything we needed. We had a very good deal which was booked a few months in advance. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Heaney,

Many thanks indeed for your feedback and the very generous comments. I have passed your wonderful comments to the Concierge Team and I am also very pleased you were able to take advantage of one of the many special rates that we regularly offer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to inform us of your experience and your very positive feedback. I am at your disposal should you wish to contact me and we very much hope to welcome you back to the Marlin Apartments Aldgate again.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just back from a weekend in London. Stayed at Marlin Apartments, Aldgate.The Apartments are spacious, clean and very reasonable priced. Fully fitted kitchen, dishwasher,washing machine,etc Big Television, Free WiFi, and not to far away from anywhere, Aldgate East tube station nearby, and buses to the centre of London on the doorstep. Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alister1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Alister 1959,

Thank you for your good feedback and for taking the time to share with other members about your stay in Marlin Apartments Aldgate.

I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness and the apartment of such an excellent quality. We do have more central properties like Queen Street near St. Paul’s Cathedral or Empire Square just a few minutes from London Bridge and Brough Market.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having stayed at another Marlin apartment before (at Empire Square) I decided to book in at Marlin Aldgate as the location near to Liverpool Street suited me for this particular trip and I'd had a good experience with Marlin previously. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and very good value. Having a small apartment rather than just a hotel room is a huge bonus, especially if you're staying for more than 1 night. I preferred the location of the Empire Square apartments - closer to the Tube station and in a nicer area with a very convenient Tesco Express right next door and it's also closer to more lively parts of town. We'll definitely continue to use Marlin apartments for future trips into London but would probably stay at Empire Square over Aldgate simply for the local area.
Marlin have quite a few locations to choose from so I'd definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear malude,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to London and the Marlin Apartments Aldgate. I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness, the apartment of such an excellent quality and value.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with Marlin, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Remember the best rates can be obtained by booking direct with our reservations team.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Marlin Waterloo
#10 of 929 in London
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $131 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Aldgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing