We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #68 of 842 Specialty Lodging in London
Uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I needed a two be apartment to enable my husband and I to attend a function while mother in law babysat the two children. What I hoped for was a clean apartment with a good view (I did request a balcony view with views for my five year old.) The apartment was brilliant. As requested we had apartment 27 on the 12th floor, west tower with lounge/ balcony views stretching from the O2 right round to the Shard and Tower Bridge. From the bedrooms we could even see the Gerkin. My five year old so was thrilled with the views. It also helped that the DVD actually worked, which is a nice touch especially when you have children to enetertain.
Obviously as we were in London there was street noise, sirens etc but this was not hideous and perfectly reasonable given where we were located.
The apartment itself was spotless. The kitchen was well equipped despite the microwave not having a turntable in it, this did not stop it being useable. The litchen had everything that you could need. With a Tesco's Express really near it was easy to get what we needed for dinner for the children and mother in law and breakfast for us all the next morning.
My mother in law opted for the sofa bed in the lounge, which had the most amazingly comfortable mattress, quality not at all thin and useless. The cot that we requested was perfectly useable, mattress a bit stained, but it was a cot. We simply doubled up the bottom sheet and it was perfectly fine. The towels were clean and planty of them and the luixury toiletries a really nice touch. We all slept really well.
The area is which the apartments are is currently being re-developed but they are about 10 minutes walk from Tower Hill or really close to Aldgate East and Aldgate tube stations. A few posters here have commented that its not a great area, perhaps true but the apartments are very secure and the area is improving. This was our first time at any Marlin Apartments but we will definitely be using the apartments again. They are cost effective and a really nice base in the city, either short or long term.
My final comment is that after leaving the apartment, but mother in law found that she had left a ruby and diamond ring in the apartment. I quickly called the apartments while my husband headed back to find said ring. The lady at reception could not have been moire helpful. She located the ring and called me back to say that she had it, my husband was able to pick the ring up very quickly but the receptionist did offer to send the ring to us. This thoughfulness and honesty really just added to the whole excellent experience. I would recommend these apartments, the great staff really added to the whole experience. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeiryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    167
    63
    22
    28
See reviews for
150
88
13
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
240 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a great find, and as I have tried serviced apartments before but not had good success this came as a great surprise. I was going to book at The Stratford location but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to go a little more expensive and stay at the Aldgate location.
Staff were great , friendly and helpful. The apartment, one bedroom was clean with great furniture and appliances. Washing machine, dishwasher, oven and everything you need. Good bed and bathroom and free wireless internet.
Its in the city but easy to get to anywhere you need in the centre of London and I would always stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a city facing rooms, views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank go2mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I've stayed here twice the first in February this year. Managed to get a good weekend deal for a 1 bedroom apartment. As usual apartments were clean and tidy, well maintained. Wifi connection was decent, not the fastest though.

The kitchen is relatively big in size which is a plus point if one intends to cook, comes complete with all utensils. Has a microwave and fridge. Bed and pillows are comfortable. The shower has a good amount of force. Bath products are from L'Occitane which was a nice touch. Living area consists of a couch, coffee table and dining table for 4. Very cosy.

Only qualm is the location. Though the closest tube, Aldgate East is in Zone 1, it is on the Hammersmith line which tends to have disruptions on the weekends which automatically adds to the travel time to the more central areas.

Other than that I'd highly recommend this place, way better than most hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VD7833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The appartments were nice,the staff were helpful and friendly.Having a Kitchen was excellent as I didn't have to eat out every night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear G0905,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I have passed on your encouraging comments to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marlin in the near future.

Kind regards,
Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

these apartments are just fantastic. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the 2 bed penthouses and it was wonderful. they are clean, spacious and superbly appointed! didn't want to go home!

Room Tip: the pentouses are fab - from 95 you cab see the Gherkin, the Shard, one end of Tower Bridge and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Haybo,

I enjoyed reading your five star review. I am so proud of my team for making you feel welcomed and comfortable at all times. Thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations.

We all look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Ive stayed with Marlin four times now in London and I love them. We use them as a base for work and they are ideal. They are really like a home from home place in the middle of the city. They are pricey but worth any extra over travellodge crap. Try them you def won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrickson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Fredrickson2

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. I am thrilled to see that the staffs were able to make you feel at home.

We look forward to continuing to offer you top quality service.

Please contact our reservations team for your next visit as the best available rates can be obtain by booking direct.

Kind regards,
Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayling island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Lovely apartment for a weekend break in London. Looked nearly furnished to a very high standard, bed comfortable, sitting room area and fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. To be honest not a great part of London to go out in of an evening. But we felt safe and secure in the apartment and not far from underground and buse routes. Within walking distance of Tower Hill region and St Katherines dock. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: "Ask for a room with a balcony and views toward tower"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Barbara C,

Thank you so much you wonderful feedback, I was thrilled to read your 5 star review. I have passed you comments on to the team in City Towers and they are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to Marlin in the near future.

Kind regards,
Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Whitechapel
SHQ Apartments
SHQ Apartments
#87 of 842 in London
38 reviews
Whitechapel
Leman Locke
Leman Locke
#5 of 842 in London
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Property: Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 842 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Aldgate London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing