We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hovel and a rip-off!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hamiltons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hamiltons Hotel to your Saves list
Hamiltons Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   32 Sussex Gardens, London W21UL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #459 of 549 London B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hovel and a rip-off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

At £120 per night, I wasn't expecting miracles in London (especially not during the Wimbledon tennis open) but I most certainly did not expect what I got at the Hamiltons. My room was on the landing, at the top of the first flight of stairs and did not have a number (it was in fact marked private). The decor was tired and uninspiring and the whole room smelled of mould, of which ample traces were soon found in the shower room. I was woken up the first night by a strong smell of smoke which turned out to have originated from the night receptionist who chain-smoked at the main door. Breakfast was ok but don't expect to be offered an egg every morning as the kitchen staff can be too busy arguing to look after the punters.

The only redeeming aspect was that the reception staff were friendly which was on the whole a small consolation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedeowyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Perfect for our purposes--close to Paddington rail station and tube stops; friendly, accommodating staff; nice room with refrigerator, clean bathroom, good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychospud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz,CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We chose the Hamilton House on a busy weekend because it was one of very few hotels that had an available double room. We were warned that it was a small room and it was. We asked if we could get a larger room when one came available and the next day we scored a very large room for only 10 pounds more. They took care of moving our suitcases when it was ready so we could continue our sightseeing. The owner and his son were very friendly and helpful with recommendations of where to eat and directions to the Underground. The location, near Paddington Station is ideal for taking the Express train from and to Heathrow..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jthomas119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

the hotel is not new but it is OK not bad and the staff was very friendly
breakfast it was OK reception he is nice friendly person he always try to help any guest
i enjoyed with hamilton's hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#306 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#473 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#688 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Earls Court
0.1 mi away
Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel
#770 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Hotel

Address: 32 Sussex Gardens, London W21UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 549 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hamiltons Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamiltons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing