We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another gret stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
Ranked #794 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another gret stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is our second visit to the Quality Maitrise and it won't be our last.
Comfortable room with air-con, although a little smaller than our last one the bathroom was bigger and considering how little time we spent in the room it was perfect.
Brilliant location to the underground and overground plus bus routes.
The staff were excellent again, friendly and recognised us from our previous stay and upgraded our breakfast which was a lovely touch.
Thanks again, we will see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie22983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing another great experience of yours at the quality maitrise hotel with the trip advisor community.

Your repeat buisness is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0208799 3850 or for the better rates aswell call the above no and we will beat all the websites.

Thank you again for taking the time out to share your expereince. We appreciate all your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Fawad and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    307
    192
    138
    153
See reviews for
126
424
62
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable bed, good shower, tv and free wifi even in your own room! Mini bar was empty but you can put your own drinks. Good breaksfast (you can choose between tea or coffee and eat salad and sweet food) and also nice staff. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with the trip advisor community.

Your buisness is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0208799 3850 or for the better rates aswell call the above no and we will beat all the websites.

Thank you again for taking the time out to share your expereince. We appreciate all your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Fawad and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very cheap for London - we paid £58 for the night including continental breakfast. Cheapest price was on their own website not on any third party booking sites. It is very conveniently located for both Kilburn High Road station for the Overground to Euston, and Kilburn Park for the Bakerloo line.

Check in took nearly 15 mins all in all - had to sign god knows how many bits of paper, give a copy of photo ID (!) and pay a cash security deposit.

When we were eventually checked in, we made our way to a dingy basement room with no windows. There were some very unsavoury stains on the floor and some of the bedding. The room is, as other reviews have said, quite small. There was also an adjoining door to the next room, which had been taken out of use by forcibly breaking off the handle leaving splinters of wood sticking out the door, and by stuffing toilet roll in the keyhole so people couldn't see through. The bedside light didn't work.

The next morning we were woken up at approximately 7:30 by a loud noise directly next to our room. We aren't quite sure what this was - I thought it may have been a pneumatic drill, or it may have been a normal drill, or a very noisy heating system. Either way there was no chance of any more sleep.

The continental breakfast was okay - there was cereal, toast, cold meats and some very small bitesized pastries, served in the restaurant next door.

The checkout process was much quicker than check in, luckily - once the member of staff managed to find where they'd put our £50 deposit. I'm not too sure what the purpose of the deposit was, as they didn't check the room or anything before giving it back to us... we could have trashed the place for all the reception staff knew. And they had a photocopy of my photo ID anyway if they wanted to chase us for any damage.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jd9UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My experience of the hotel is that everything was perfect. I am very pleased and would definitely stay here again.
First, it was close to the undergrunen (Kilburn Park Station) - And it took us 7 to 10 minutes to Oxford Circus
Secondly, it was incredibly neat and clean. They arranged our bed and changed the towels every day.
Thirdly, it was incredibly good breakfast with a large selection. You can also choose english breakfast (it costs if it is not included)
Fourth, the shower unimaginably good
Fifth, the rooms were incredibly dense, you did not hear those in the other rooms

I can understand why some find the room and the bed small, but I think this is a trifle when the room is meant for two.
The fact that several people say that they do not know that it must be paid 50 pound deposit when they arrive to the hotel is wrong. This will be told when booking. This was clear to me, and we got the money back when we left.

I would definitely stayed here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawad S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with the trip advisor community.

Your buisness is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0208799 3850 or for the better rates aswell call the above no and we will beat all the websites.

Thank you again for taking the time out to share your expereince. We appreciate all your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Fawad and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here as a couple on a short theatre break in June of 2013. We were a little surprised at the area having read previous reviews of it being very safe yet we seen people shouting at one another and groups of people standing around close to the hotel. Having said that the hotel itself was great, upon arrival we were very impressed at how nice it was for the money we spent. Our room was small but more than adequate. Our iPhone dock didn't work but was quickly replaced with another, there was also no iron in the room yet we were able to borrow one from reception so this was not a problem. The bar and restaurant were nicely presented and we had some lovely meals however the main drawback of our stay was when we ordered drinks and nibbles and paid on our room however one of the chefs followed us out of the hotel and very rudely accused us of walking out without paying, when we tried to explain the mixup it took for another member of staff to confirm what we were saying for him to apologise and leave us go. Other than this the Manager and receptionists were all more than helpful. The location is great with the Bakerloo line right around the corner and plenty of little shops to pick up any necessities. I think if we were to visit London again in the future we would consider another stay at the Quality Maitrise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanFairbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here as a couple on a Saturday night as we were attending a birthday party in central London but didn't want to pay central prices. We got a very good deal on LateRooms.com.

The hotel is on Kilburn High Road, which isn't the prettiest of streets but has a number of high street shops and cafes, as well as good transport links. It is round the corner from Kilburn Park tube (Bakerloo line) and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel- a night bus we got from Oxford Circus dropped us there- couldn't be easier after a night out!

The receptionists were very friendly and we checked in with no problems. One thing to point out is they do take a £50 deposit from you when you check in. If you pay by cash you get it back when you check out but if you pay by card they said it can take up to 10 days to refund into your account.

Our room was on the 3rd floor so we did have a window (!) as I have seen a few people complain about being in the basement. We had a comfortable double bed and the furnishings inside are very modern- flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, good air conditioning. The room was clean, and the bathroom had a great rain shower. We didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Overall I was very pleased with this hotel, it was a good base for a weekend in London without paying the extortionate central prices and the room was comfortable and modern. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu123594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel on Sunday evening we found the reception desk unmanned. We waited for around 5 minutes until the receptionist arrive and checked us in.

We were given a room on the third floor which was very nice but so so small. The bed was only a queen sized with very little space around the bed. Also the bed was uncomfortable with only one thin pillow each (no extras in the wardrobe as usually found).

The bathroom was nice but again very compact.

After the first night stay we went out and returned late afternoon to find the room had not been serviced, to which we thought ok we can reuse towels. After the second night stay we were just about to leave the room when housekeeping knocked, we said they we were just leaving but unfortunately she did not speak English and went away again leaving the room unserviced. By this point we needed new towels, replacement toilet roll and clean glasses.

Upon asking at reception they advised that we had missed housekeeping for that day and would have to wait until the following day!

So overall nice hotel but they do need to up their standards.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#495 of 1,088 in London
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#895 of 1,088 in London
942 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
Address: 53 - 59 Kilburn High Road | Maida Vale, London NW6 5SB, England (Formerly The Quality Maitrise Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#390 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel is a 4 star boutique hotel, located in London's fashionable Maida Vale. The hotel opened its doors in summer 2009 following extensive refurbishment of a locally listed Victorian fronted building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing