We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Ranked #791 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we booked via an external company a VIP room (with queen sized bed )for 3 nights in this hotel.
When we viewed our room it was pretty small (even for london standards) and the bed was 1.40 meters wide wich is really small , (smaller than a standard 2 person bed).
We decided to go to the reception with this information and als we would like another room that was not next to the elevator shaft ....... the lady at the reception rolled with her eyes and gave us another room , but told us , they dont have bigger rooms and all the beds are the same size .... ?

when we asked what the difference was between our VIP room and a standard room , they told us .... nothing much , only some extra toilet products etc ...... they didnt give us information about breakfast or anything else , so poor service.

also the sound insulation of the hotel is really bad , we can hear our neighbours talking , or flushing the toilet makes a lot of noise .
the airco in our room didnt work .
the windows are designed so the can NOT be opened .... why? no idea .

I can only find 1 positive point , and that is the specious and pretty new bathroom .

I had high hopes when I booked this hotel , but overal a dissapointing experience .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvatteroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us, the feedback is important for us to make improvements and identify any training needs.

We do not have Queen Size beds in any of our rooms and we have contacted the third party website that you may have booked with to update this information, unfortunately it was not something we were aware of. The size of our rooms are comparable to most city hotels and they are designed with fixtures and fittings to a very high standard. None of the windows in the hotel open, this decision was taken due to previous issues so all rooms are fully air conditioned.

The VIP rooms have additional toiletries, chocolates, complimentary bottled water and VIP passes to the Ballanytyne Gym and Spa.

We have not have any previous complaints about the insulation and unfortunately staying in a hotel does often mean you can hear other guests in the hotel. We will investigate your comments further.

We aim to provide only the best service to all of our customers. I am sorry on this occasion you felt let down by the service you received and I would like to offer my sincere apologies. I will address this with the team.

We thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Maitrise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 991 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

beautiful hotel...everything perfect from start to finish.the girls in the bar ania and virgina were brillant,so chatty and made us feel very welcome..rooms were fantastic..could not fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaf676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you so very much for writing us such a kind review! I am really pleased that the team made you feel welcome, I believe our people are at the heart of what we do and what makes us a unique in our industry and a great place to stay!

We would love to welcome you back again so please call our Front Desk team direct and they will give you our best available rate.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in March for 4 nights. It is a lovely hotel with nice decor. The bedrooms are small but then we are in London where I suspect most rooms would be smallish. The staff were all very helpful and the reception staff were always very cheery and a good source of local knowledge. Our shower room was a bit on the small side too with no where to put our toiletries perhaps if they coud fit a shelf in there. My Daughter's room seemed the same size but was better positioned and the shower room had a shelf in there! All in all we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and Kilburn tube station was only a couple of minutes away . There were a couple of nice cafe's and Restaurants close to the Hotel too which was a bonus .

Room Tip: We had room 110 this one had the bed positioned right by the ensuit and my husband kept knocking his...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking some time to write us a review. Feedback in our industry is very important for us to be able to manage our customer's expectations.

The hotel is an ideal location for exploring London , with fantastic transport links on our doorstep which you discovered. Our rooms are comparative in size with most city hotels and we place extra emphasis on making our customers as comfortable as possible by investing in luxury items such as orthopedic mattresses.

We would love to be able to welcome you back again, please call our team direct as we like to reward return stay customers with a better rate.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with our baby son. We'd asked for a baby bed in the room but there wasn't any when we arrived, luckily the helpful staff immediately arranged a baby bed. The room was nice enough, a bit warm and small, but we slept well enough. Breakfast was very nice and the breakfast staff very warm and friendly. The cook would always come and talk to our son, very funny. We liked the area a lot too, we walked to regent park a few times through the Maida Vale neighborhood, very nice! All in all a hotel we would certainly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlieparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us this very kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location central and convenient for exploring London.

We appreciate our customers taking the time to share their experiences with us so we can make improvements where we need to.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely hotel. Clean and comfortable. Stayed 3 days. Shower was best I've used in a hotel! Air con didn't work first night but as soon as we told reception it was fixed! Breakfast very nice. Upgraded to cooked one day and was lovely. 2 mins from Kilburn tube station on Bakerloo line so easy access everywhere. No window in my roon on 1st floor but not a problem at all.....just checked weather when went for breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonScotlanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a kind review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the hotel's facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got back after a 3 night stay for our Wedding Anniversary and found the hotel to be absolutely fine. the location was superb just a 2 minute walk to Kilburn Park tube which connected straight into nearly all the major attractions by Bakerloo line. Buses round corner too very 2 minutes connecting all over. The staff were good with us and the room had everything we needed (Room 312) a bit warm but better that than being cold! fresh towels, tea/coffee facilities, tv etc all ok. Booked room only so didn't eat here but loads of places to eat down Kilburn High Road if needed and Tesco express straight opposite for any needs. We enjoyed our stay and the manageress has told us to give her a call for a return deal if we are ever back down this way which was nice. so all in all a good hotel(prob 3* tho) with good connections to central London and good price - Thank you for a good stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxyterriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us this kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

me and my boyfriend came for our first weekend away, we found it useful that the tube station was so close and when we got there we got checked in quickly and was given directions to our room. it was a lovely room with everything we needed. after the first night we had fresh towels and the tea and coffee was re stocked for us. we had a lovely time until it came to checking out. we had left a £50 deposit when we arrived and when we went to get it back without a receipt (which we wernt given!!) the lady seemed to get very rude and very arsy towards me and in the end slammed down the £50 deposit and not a word was said... a 'thank you for staying here' would have been nice!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missbooax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we find feedback invaluable to our industry.

First and foremost my sincere apologies for the way in which a member of my team dealt with you. This is certainly unacceptable and I would really appreciate if you could drop me a line or two to let me know when you checked out so i can address this with the staff that processed your check out.
Staff are instructed that all cash deposits must be issued with a receipt which must be presented at check out to be refunded, this is to ensure we are obviously giving deposits back to the right guests.

I am glad you found the location ideal and that your room and hotel facilities were to your expectations.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
1.0 mi away
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#548 of 1,072 in London
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vauxhall Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#630 of 1,072 in London
668 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#560 of 1,072 in London
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maitrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maitrise Hotel

Address: 53 - 59 Kilburn High Road | Maida Vale, London NW6 5SB, England (Formerly The Quality Maitrise Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#395 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $103 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Maitrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel is a 4 star boutique hotel, located in London's fashionable Maida Vale. The hotel opened its doors in summer 2009 following extensive refurbishment of a locally listed Victorian fronted building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Maitrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maitrise Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing