We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fun sightseeing trip”
Review of Thames Rockets

Thames Rockets
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.08*
and up
High-Speed Thames River RIB Cruise in London
Ranked #1 of 199 Outdoor Activities in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The original, fastest and most exhilarating sightseeing speedboats on the river Thames today. Thames Rockets set sail in 2006 offering these unique sightseeing adventures to the public for the very first time. More experience, more style and more returning passengers year on year. Slice through London at 30 knots as the Thames is eaten up by 630hp of engine power. Zoom under the capital’s famous bridges and marvel at London’s landmarks from your exclusive vantage point. Our award winning comedian tour guides ensure sparkling highbrow banter as you 'pull G' past the House of Parliament before holding on tight for an exhilarating trip to Canary Wharf and back mission accomplished on this exhilarating Thames speedboat trip. This experience departs hourly from the world famous "London Eye" Pier, 7 days a week, throughout the year. Perfect for birthday celebrations, unique dates, reunions, family outings, groups of friends, staff gatherings, hen & stag do's, corporate entertaining, team building, engagements, school outings and more.Suitable for all ages 1 to 101! Toddlers and grandma alike willl love this speedy experience. This ultimate sightseeing adventure is great whatever the weather, wet weather kit provided for all ages and sizes."Five star" rating from London's Timeout Magazine, awarded a "Gold Tourist Attraction" in first year of sailing.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun sightseeing trip”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Loved the thrill of the boat riding through the Docklands and then also the guided tour by Amy. Great that they provide you with decent waterproofs!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneQ132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,896
    310
    20
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Plains, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best day out in London!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My 8 year old son and I saw the RIB boats while we were touring Tower Bridge. It was an immediate reaction: "Mom! Can we do that?!". Now, fair warning, you'll want to buy your tickets well in advance if you are there on a weekend or during holiday periods. We went on a Sunday and attempted to buy tickets for that afternoon, but they were all sold out for the day. So we went home and booked online for later in the week. No problems. Didn't even need to print anything out. They simply cross your name off when you arrive and check in at the pier.

The tour was absolutely fantastic. First, you get a lovely look at London via the river with lots of great commentary and information. Best view of the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben in town! At this point, the boat is moving slowly and you are able to get lots of beautiful photos. Once you pass under Tower Bridge, the fun begins. Now the boat picks up speed and you go flying down the river, well out of any part of London that I'd ever seen, zooming along at amazing speeds and everybody is laughing, smiling, screaming, and having the time of their lives. My son just couldn't get enough. To see him smile like that was worth every penny. We will never forget our RIB voyage and will probably do it again on our next visit to London!

(One very minor side note: At the end of the tour, the guide did the usual "we're not allowed to ask for tips, but we're more than happy to accept them" spiel. I don't know when this became a thing, but when I've already shelled out £65 for one adult and one child, unless you really really really did something special for me, you're not getting a tip. You did your job today. You stood up front and provided witty commentary. You didn't even offer to snap a photo of me with my son wearing our life jackets and that would have been pretty cool. Might even have earned you that tip! Anyway, beware that they will ask for tips. That was the one and only less-than-awesome bit of the tour)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaSpringfield_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Well run, friendly and informative guild, BEST! and FASTEST! way to see London.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Awoke with a hang over, the guide "Jamie" was very informative and actually quite funny (as guides go ;). We blasted up the River Thames and all my cobwebs blown away. Had a brill time. Thanks a lot guys.

Alex R
Portsmouth

Helpful?
Thank Goldenteaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top job on the thames”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

great trip today, Tom was the driver, he has so much fun I cant believe he gets wages as well! Very entertaining and informative tour narrative from Mark, all in all a brilliant thing to do in London wherever your from! Keep up the good work.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“London RIB”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Really really good. fantastic guide, cross between Simon Pegg and Bill Bailey, very amusing - Jamie. I said i would mention the driver too but forgotten his name, but he was really cool. Maybe Paul. Very very fast for the first half and then an informative tour on way back. Well recommended.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thames Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing