We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
Ranked #342 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The price of the room was high for what was offered. Although the staff were friendly enough, the room my husband and I shared was a great disappointment. There is no way that this room should have been classed as a double. Apart from a small double bed, there was certainly not enough room to call it a double.The small wardrobe was placed at the corner end of the bed so that trying to get through the small gap was just about impossible. Climbing over the bed was the easier option. Only one side of the bed had a bedside cabinet, the other side nothing at all, not even a small table. There was no room to swing a cat. Absolutely ridiculous calling it a double room. Not even enough room to store our two suitcasesThe pull up window greeted us with a cigarette stubs, rubbish and filth which lay on wide shelf outside of the window. There were coffee/tea facilities. Unfortunately although there was a container full of packets of sugar, there was no milk at all, nieither powdered or fresh. The continental breakfast, lacked variety. Lots of pots of jam and honey, but nothing for the savoury taste. A spread cheese, marmite etc would have been welcomed. It would have been good if the toaster had worked both sides. All in all, a very expensive and poor room which was booked in desperation. Our daughter and her friend who were with us, were put in a basement room which they weren't happy with either.On the way to the hotel in a taxi, we were told by the taxi driver to rethink, lose our depostit and he would take us somewhere better for the same price. Maybe we should have listened to him.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Leona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we went to see The Stone Roses in Finsbury Park. Great location as bus stop outside the hotel and only took about 10 minutes to get to the concert. Room was quite small but very clean with tv and tea/coffee stuff. Hot shower in the morning and a nice comfy bed. Curtains too thin so woke quite early in the morning. Breakfast croissants and coffee, etc - adequate but coffee not very good. Staff are lovely and welcoming and very helpful. Would stay again. Love the quirky indian feel to the rooms!

Room Tip: From reading other reviews - dont stay in the basement - we had a room on the second floor - 102 or...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blodwin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I paid £90 for a double room which in London terms is absolute bargain basement for an en-suite room. The decor has a quirky Indian theme which makes it stand out from from the run of mill budget hotels and I like that. As other reviewers have remarked, the staff really are really lovely.
The room was nice with tea making facilities and a wall mounted TV. The storage was adequate. The room was generally clean but there was a large amount of dust in the radiator. However, the bathroom and the beds and bedding were absolutely immaculate which to me are the acid tests of cleanliness.
The free breakfast was well thought out with a huge urn of coffee on tap and tea on request. There was Corn Flakes and Alpen, some fruit (bananas and apples), yoghurts, white and wholemeal bread and croissants. What I thought was interesting at breakfast was there was some Americans business types entranced by the free wifi on their laptops and taking the odd sip from their bottomless coffee. When the value obsessed Yanks are coming you know you are on to a good deal! So in summary, while the prices at this hotel remain so competitive at this hotel and the staff so friendly it is a must visit hotel for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. To make the TV work press the ATV/DTV button on the remote to switch to...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for one night in room 108. We had paid £100 for the room. This room is above the "restaurant" and was quite noisy when we returned to the room after a concert at the Emirates Stadium. This continued till about 1 am. The room also had a street light outside it and as the curtains are very thin and too short for the windows the light shone through. The bed was comfy and The room was very tidy. During the night the water pipes were very noisy. All in all the room served it's purpose and we managed a few hours sleep. It is within walking distance of the pubs, places to eat, tubes and the Emirates Stadium

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazz0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. Only paid £21 per person. Room clean and beds comfortable. In a nice location which felt safe, a ten-fifteen minute walk to Angel tube station. The curstins were too short for the window which meant light did come in in the morning, which would be my only monor complaint. Room comes with a tv and wifi, and breakfast in the morning the usual cereals, fruit, croissants, crumpets and coffee. Would stay again. If visiting the emirates stadium is about a twenty minute walk or £7 taxi ride

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niknak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lovely little bed and breakfast. Very friendly staff and a nice comfortable bed. Very pleasant location. Continental breakfast was basic and simple but perfectly adequate. For a hotel on a budget every need was catered for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

For £60 per room per night we weren't expecting much and that's exactly what we got! The restaurant looked nice so we chose to eat there but what was on the menu didn't seem to be what was on offer - the Tandoori Chicken was supposed to be served on a bed of saffron rice, but we were told the rice was extra, so why it was described as that I don't know.

Waiting time for food was 40 minutes apparently. This was fine with us as we were happy to relax over drinks, but after we'd been waiting an hour we were getting a bit anxious. A visit to the kitchen found no cooking going on but ten minutes later a load of takeaway bags arrived containing around 50% of what we ordered, plus a load of stuff we didn't! When the bill came we'd been charged for everything so we asked to speak to the manager and he let us off 50% of the food price and gave us a free nightcap.

We were all on different floors and I think myself and my friend got off lightly being on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel, because the rest of our party complained of noise from traffic (1st floor front) and noise from above (basement room). Other than that the rooms were clean but tiny, the bathrooms were functional and breakfast was adequate.

I doubt I'd stay here again but it was cheaper than a Travellodge at least!

Room Tip: 2nd floor at the back of the hotel is probably your best bet!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsOnline, Manager at Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Abbie, thank you for your feedback on your stay.

When ordering in our restaurant guests are always informed that the Tandoori Chicken meal will take longer than usual as it requires longer preparation time. We also advise all guests that due to space restrictions our kitchen is not on-site.
In this instance we did apologise to the guests and offer them a discount on their food bill and complimentary nightcap.

We are always happy to receive feedback and continue to work hard to resolve all issues and exceed all guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
#901 of 1,072 in London
205 reviews
Pasha Hotel
#894 of 1,072 in London
266 reviews
Earls Court
Beaver Hotel
Beaver Hotel
#708 of 1,072 in London
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic House Hotel
#815 of 1,072 in London
338 reviews
Queens Hotel
#662 of 1,072 in London
218 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#25 of 563 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel

Address: 366 Essex Road | Highbury, Islington, London N1 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $116 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL Hotel in London belongs to the Raj brand, known for hospitality and a warm welcome in popular family-run boutique hotels. The recently refurbished Hotel has 41 rooms decorated in a light Asian theme, which combine modern amenities with traditional design. All rooms are en-suite with modern bathrooms, canopied beds and sari style curtains. A continental breakfast is included in the rates and a cooked breakfast is available for a small charge. The complimentary breakfast includes croissants, tea/coffee, toast, a variety of cereals, jams, marmalade and fresh fruits. The Jays Restaurant in the hotel offers delicious dishes from Asian-style tapas and curry to pasta, to enjoy in the stylish premises or to take away. Coffee, teas and exotic liquors are also served at the restaurant. Once a month, there are Music & Dining Club evenings, where musical entertainment accompanies Asian cuisine. Islington is a popular area in London, where you will find many designer boutiques, pubs and international restaurants. The nearest tube station is Angel on the Victoria Line, which is only a 10 to 15 minutes walk away. The frequent running trains take you to central London in 5 minutes.The ideal location of TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL makes it a great accommodation for sightseeing, shopping and business trips to London. It is connected to both the City of London and the West End, so it is the perfect base for visits to the theatre, museums, galleries, historic buildings and everything else London has to offer. Tourist attractions near the hotel include the Emirates Stadium, where Arsenal Football Club has its home base. You will get to the stadium in about 10 minutes by foot. The Business Design Centre can be reached in 20 minutes and another short walk takes you to Islington's Estorick Collection, a forum for Italian Art. If you are looking for a place to relax in a typical London atmosphere, Highbury Fields near TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL is the ideal place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing