We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz but Cheap,Cheerful & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
Ranked #344 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great hotel, location, staff and very affordable, staff friendly and helpful, rooms basic but warm and clean, continental style buffet breakfast, flat screen tv in room has more channels than I have seen in a long time.
Buses to Picadilly and city outside and some continue to Victoria station. In fact the No.38 to victoria station passes quite a few London sights, you will see the shard, Big Ben, Picadilly to name just a few,
Trains to city about 20/25 minute walk away, get your oyster card for traveling, ticket shop 30 yards to your left on leaving hotel, cash fares double the price of oyster card. Buses now 24 hour service. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of hotel and was quiet, ring hotel prior to arrival staff are excelent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks in feb was a bit dear for what you get but the rooms were ok good showers plenty hot water and powerfull, beds comfy memory foam mattress.Never had breakfast but seen it did not look great,we had 2 rooms and both were simmilar but i know the others differ greatly in quality we work in london a lot and had this hotel as a change. prob 2star at best

Room Tip: have a look first dont expect a lot then you will not be upset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Do not waste your money
I spent 2 nights here out of 4 then had to leave. The room was tiny not like the brochure there was a single very uncomfortable bed and a very poor service
This place has never heard of service with a smile. By the way if you have booked breakfast prepare yourself for the wonders of choice of bread which you toast yourself if the toaster has been put out, mouldy looking fruit and NO hot food. I have stayed in bed sits better than this
This is the first time I have ever had to put a bad review but if the cap fits!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyeslevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall stay was oke, but:
the beds weren't very good, they had a big dip in it;
we couldn't lock the room properly;
the bathroom didn't have a shower, we had to shower sitting in the bathtub;
the deskservicepersonel wasn't very polite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank J.a.t B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I really don't like writing bad reviews but I feel I have to warn others - please don't waste your money. This was (hand on heart) the worst hotel (if you can call it a hotel) I have ever stayed in. It was very expensive and definitely not value for money. The room was the smallest I had ever stayed in - a single bed up against the window, the curtains did not fit correct and as you lay in bed you could see the light from the window as curtains were not long enough or dark enough. The toliet when flushed made the most dreadful noise. The walls were so thin I could hear the person in the next room snoring. There was a bedside table but it was so small there was only just enough room for an alarm clock and glass of water and I had to move the bedside lamp to put water and clock on the table. No chair in the room - infact there was just no space at all. There was small TV on the wall and if put my hand out I could almost touch it from my bed.There was a tiny wardrobe.I also found a dirty shoe print on the bed sheet. Bed was very uncomfortable and there was some strange tapping noise all night long - not sure what that was. There was no telephone in the room and one morning I asked for an early moning call and received a bang on the door 20 mins after I had asked for call. The worst stay and 2 nights sleep I have ever had. Breakfast is included in the cost but that wasn't great and only had a choice of awful sliced white bread and basic cereal and no hot food although there was a toaster. I went out and paid for breakfast elsewhere. I don't know how this place gets away with calling itself a hotel, it is a house that has been partitioned off with stud walls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

You get what you pay for. The lift is a hoot! And well worth the money for that experience alone. It's basic but the location is amazing staff were helpful enough. Note if you don't like memory foam mattresses then maybe it's not your place. I'd stay again for value alone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anderson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This 1-night stay was booked at the last minute as it was walking distance to an Islington gig we'd attended. Its in an old corner building over a comtemporary asian restaurant, which also serves as reception / bar / breakfast room. The building also has the slowest lift you will ever encounter.

Decor is "slightly battered boutique style" throughout, our double room was 206 which was small with the window facing down the busy Essex Road. It was clean though and everything worked even if it looked a bit 2nd-hand. There were 2 problems with actually SLEEPING here though:-

1/ The floor of the room was visibly sloping, which was unsettling when lying in a bed sideways to the slope.
2/ Noise. The walls are thin enough to hear your neighbours talking, the plumbing uses those "macerator" pumps that sound like a tug boat starting up whenever you use ANYTHING in the bathroom, and the secondary double glazing doesn't work so you hear every bit of traffic on the road throughout the night.

We gave up trying to sleep as soon as breakfast was available (0700). That was a pretty thin "continental" affair that was just OK. All in all I wish I'd read the reviews BEFORE I'd booked and I won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel

Address: 366 Essex Road | Highbury, Islington, London N1 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $109 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL Hotel in London belongs to the Raj brand, known for hospitality and a warm welcome in popular family-run boutique hotels. The recently refurbished Hotel has 41 rooms decorated in a light Asian theme, which combine modern amenities with traditional design. All rooms are en-suite with modern bathrooms, canopied beds and sari style curtains. A continental breakfast is included in the rates and a cooked breakfast is available for a small charge. The complimentary breakfast includes croissants, tea/coffee, toast, a variety of cereals, jams, marmalade and fresh fruits. The Jays Restaurant in the hotel offers delicious dishes from Asian-style tapas and curry to pasta, to enjoy in the stylish premises or to take away. Coffee, teas and exotic liquors are also served at the restaurant. Once a month, there are Music & Dining Club evenings, where musical entertainment accompanies Asian cuisine. Islington is a popular area in London, where you will find many designer boutiques, pubs and international restaurants. The nearest tube station is Angel on the Victoria Line, which is only a 10 to 15 minutes walk away. The frequent running trains take you to central London in 5 minutes.The ideal location of TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL makes it a great accommodation for sightseeing, shopping and business trips to London. It is connected to both the City of London and the West End, so it is the perfect base for visits to the theatre, museums, galleries, historic buildings and everything else London has to offer. Tourist attractions near the hotel include the Emirates Stadium, where Arsenal Football Club has its home base. You will get to the stadium in about 10 minutes by foot. The Business Design Centre can be reached in 20 minutes and another short walk takes you to Islington's Estorick Collection, a forum for Italian Art. If you are looking for a place to relax in a typical London atmosphere, Highbury Fields near TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL is the ideal place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing