We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent upscale Restaurant from the sub-continent ”
Review of Kahani

Kahani
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
OR
Ranked #1,447 of 28,142 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $93
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Chef Peter Joseph has launched his first solo restaurant, Kahani in Chelsea. Located opposite the iconic Cadogan Hall, the 90-cover restaurant is inspired by Peter’s upbringing in Tamil Nadu, the southernmost state of India. Kahani, which translates to ‘story’ in Hindi, is centred around Peter’s philosophy of community eating to celebrate, bring people together, break boundaries and share tales.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

Second visit and as happy this time as the first visit.
Really excellent food, wonderful to share or have individual dishes. Some are variations on well known dishes, others are inventive and interesting. All delicious.
The scallops are fab, the kebabs also. Must try the Biryani too.
some dishes are deceptively spicy so worth checking with one of the many absolutely charming waiters.
If you like milder dishes, the butter chicken is to die for.
Wonderfully friendly staff and welcoming. Very helpful sommelier. I recommend something from the white wines of Alsace. They have a small but great selection and goes perfectly with the aromatic and spicy dishes.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank intl-food-critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahanimanager, Manager at Kahani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the positive feedback.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Came to London for Chelsea flower show. We found this excellent restaurant a couple of streets away from Sloane Square. Shared two starters - mixed samosas and an octopus and calamari dish. Then I had the most wonderful Biriani with prawns and my husband had a lamb shank curry. Superb food in an excellent setting and we enjoyed our evening very much. Great start to the back holiday weekend. Thanks to the courteous and efficient staff. Five star experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahanimanager, Manager at Kahani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much.

we hope to see when you return to London again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

Went this evening after a wonderful day at Chelsea Flower Show with a couple of friends and were very pleasantly surprised to find this ‘gem ‘ ! The food was excellent and presentation even better ! Very pleased with service from friendly staff and will definitely go again !

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rama60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahanimanager, Manager at Kahani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

great thank you for your feedback.

we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

Kahani is an incredible venue with amazing atmosphere, customer service, cocktails, food and interiors. For a relatively new restaurant, the service is impeccable and they have created something truly special. Chef Peter is exceptional and to be able to see him in the the kitchen, with his staff and interacting with everyone in the restaurant made it very special. We would definitely recommend Kahani!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theassistantroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahanimanager, Manager at Kahani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you again.


Kind regards
Julieth
Reservations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

This new high-end Indian restaurant sets new standards for pre-theatre bargains. The two or three course set menu has limited choice but is great value. The quality of the dishes is first class. Subtle use of spices brings out the best of the fresh ingredients. The service is excellent and nice ambiance. The peanut butter parfait is a beautiful dessert. Recommended

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank HBM_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahanimanager, Manager at Kahani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much.

we look forward to seeing you again.


Kind regards
Julieth
Reservations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahani also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Kahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing