We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wheres jane?”

Yialousa Greek Taverna
Ranked #4,480 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Greek, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wheres jane?”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

the staff here were brill, we have a glueten free friend, but it mdidnt cause any problems, they were very helpful and the food was amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank laurafurniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    87
    36
    28
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dogfood! Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

That's the most horrible greek restaurant I've ever been to. And it's not even greek, the owners and chef are turkish! I got served bad quality probably frozen chicken and rise in a dish with melted cheese and some more unknown stuff thrown together. Honest to god it was like someone threw up on my dish! When I said to the chef it was disgusting and I couldn't eat he didn't do anything to change it. I'm still angry! Avoid at all costs. Food is like dog food! Horrible experience! I'm greek from alexandroupolis greece.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank georgiakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a taste of Greece on a cold London evening”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

staying over in London for a business meeting I fancied something for a change from the usual Indian or Chinese restaurants and came across Yialousa
a good starter of Greek sausage was followed by a beautifully cooked Rabbit Styfado special with Tiramisu as dessert, all washed down with Cypriot Keo beer - very enjoyable
the atmosphere was relaxed, the service good and the prices reasonable - what more could you ask for?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dai-derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant service, fabouls food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having been in London for a meeting I took the opportunity to catch up with a Friend for dinner and we stumbled across this place and we were very pleased we did. We opted for the Mezza which for £14.99 was incredible! The wide variety of different dips, Greek salad, mosaka, pork in red wine, lamb and chicken kebabs to name but a few of the dishes were all really well cooked and very tasty! There was a really nice atmosphere and If I hadn't been booked on a train I would of loved to stay and tried one of the deserts.

I would also like to mention a special thank you to Lesder (Owner/Manager) who found my mobile phone that I had dropped outside the restaurant (by which time I was back on the train to Liverpool!!!) and kept hold of the phone all week until my friend was able to pick it up for me! It's great to see there are still conscious people around!

Thank you Lesder, I will defiantly return to your restaurant next time in London and have recommended you to my colleagues!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne-Ilovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Early Evening Meal”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the second time we have eaten here. The service is really good. The Greek food is lovely. The wine is reasonably priced. Its a good meal if you are in London and want a taste of Greece or Cyprus. They even have Keo beer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yialousa Greek Taverna also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Yialousa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing