We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meze marvellous !”

Yialousa Greek Taverna
Ranked #4,641 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Meze marvellous !”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Found this lovely little restaurant right opposite the Royal National hotel where we were staying overnight. Our party of 7 all went for the meze - which was a wonderful selection of different dishes. Was great value - as we had numerous bottles of wine (think it worked out at roughly 1 bottle per person), lager & soft drinks - and was roughly £25 per person.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thejackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    87
    36
    27
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A terrible example of Greek food”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I ate here last year whilst staying in the area on business. We attempted to eat at local/non-chain restaurants during our 5 day stay in London and this was close to my hotel. The food was poor. I went for the moussaka thinking that a Greek restaurant should be able to create a good one every time - it was terrible and just thrown together with whatever ingredients they could put their hands on.

The interior was very scruffy and the waiting staff were not overly polite. At a table nearby, a man was having to have serious words with the manager as things had been added to his bill which he hadn't had, so we were careful to scrutinise our bill.

I would not recommend this to anyone staying in the Russell Square area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not special”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

had a very average meal here. nothing appalling but nothing i would recommend either. service was adequate but a bit disinterested. wouldnt go back

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, no table cloths, bright lighting, but nice food in generous portions.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This conveniently placed greek cafe is staffed by friendly, attentive people. The food is served in generous portions and is good quality. Presentation is sometimes poor, but if you are looking for a plateful of tasty food at a reasonable price you should not be disapoointed. The meze (£30 for 2) is especially good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnanChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yammas!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant only because it was opposite the hotel we were staying in and we were too tired to go further afield!
We were given a lovely welcome and we got the ball rolling by ordering an even lovelier bottle of Syrah!
We ordered greek sausage, grilled halloumi and broccoli soup. I didn't try the soup but apparently it was good and had a little kick. The sausage and halloumi were fine.
For main we had rabbit stifado, moussaka and lamb kleftikos. The stifado was very flavoursome, as was the lamb which melted in the mouth. I didn't try the moussaka but it was polished off and pronounced tasty! The portions were large and were served with beautifully cooked vegetables.
None of us could manage dessert but we did have coffee which was very good.
We left smiling!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yialousa Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Yialousa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing