We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Mike's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike's Guesthouse
Ranked #253 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I would like to thank Antonio and Leo for the wonderful night they gave us. Everything (room, bath, Proseco, Breakfast, conversation,....) was PERFECT.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marbruja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

I stayed here for one night mid week with my husband and simply loved it! Such a perfect little find, so conveniently located right next to Kings Cross Station. Inside is a hidden gem of "eclecticness", an exciting mix of brutal roughness, delightful glamour and charming interiors! It was better than expected!!! Quirky yes, and such fun!!!
Room was perfect size for what we needed, bathroom was really smart (what an amazing shower)....they have used the limited space available to its maximum potential. There were also some with very sweet toiletries which smell amazing!.
Had a heavenly sleep, and awoke with what was quite simpley a fabulous breakfast. Sat outside on their terrace, the continental breakfast with top of the range, lots of choice, great coffee and juice, overall it was DELICIOUS!
We were able to park our car in the mews of the hotel which meant we could go for a leisurley stroll to the British Museum for an injection of culture before heading back to the South West!
The thing I loved most was its originality, its uniqueness and charming style. Hotel manager was so helpful, freindly without being too over the top. Excellent value for money!
I have not a bad word to say about Rough Luxe. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and can not wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Whilst the rooms are not huge they are very comfortably appopinted and the art on display is interesting. The real high point is the excellent service from the staff. Particular mention must be made of Leo and Antonio. Very polite, attentive and utterly charming.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_G_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We were staying just for a weekend break and it was a surprise venue for my partner. A fairly shocked look on her face as we arrived told me what she was thinking. Unique Boutique style hotel i suppose would be what you would call it.

The room was a little small but the fittings very individual and the bathroom was definitely luxury. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and a bottle of champagne by Hector. It really felt very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was a really nice continental stryle on terrace behind the hotel. For anyone wanting something convenient and a little different this is certainly a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lincolnramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: apparemment il y a une baignoire dans une des chambres, demandez celle-là
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiiiiiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 8번 룸에 매우 큰 욕조가 있습니다.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Choco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank Delphine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,077 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,077 in London
2,658 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#56 of 579 in London
227 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#34 of 579 in London
241 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#25 of 579 in London
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Guesthouse

Address: 1 Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England (Formerly Rough Luxe Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Hotel Class:4 star — Mike's Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mike's Guesthouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing